We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garden View Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Rolleston B&B and Inns
Chaska, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Home away from home!!!”
Reviewed September 3, 2010

You won't find a better B&B in all of New Zealand. John and Beth were the perfect hosts. The food was great. Everything was pristine. The best sleep we had. Anything you needed they would try and find it for you. We didn't want to leave. It was my husband and I and our 17 year old son. We were treated as if we were family. We all loved it and would go back and stay with them in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpegdorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
33
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

We stayed with John and Beth for a few days whilst we assisted our son to move to his new home in Rolleston.
We were treated quiet literally as good friends, if not family. The reception we recieved was warm, friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
We stayed in the Torlesse Suite and after long hard day of moving furniture around we would return to our 'little sanctuary' and recover. As a result we did not see as much of 'mine hosts' as we would have wished which was a great pity. On our last night we ate supper with our hosts and this was excellent. We would recommed all to try.
The room quality and cleanliness was excellent, as was the food supplied for breakfast/supper. Beth is a skilled cook, particularly in the baking and jam making stakes.
Both John and Beth are well travelled professionals and this showed and was to the advantage of their visitors. Their depths of knowledge of NZ and other matters was broad, extensive and readily made available.
We would recommend anyone to stay at this B and B. We will be returning when next in NZ.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acktrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieren
2 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2010

We stayed only one night, but felt at home and at ease from the very beginning. Best B&B we ever experienced. Joop and Ilse, Netherlands.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WatermanDieren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2009

Beautiful garden views from every room. Comfortable, well-appointed rooms, excellent food, and the hosts were warm, very interesting,helpful, and professional. Their extensive knowledge of the area & country in general were indispensable. Highly recommended. Thanks again John & Beth

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Probiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2009

It was only for a night that my wife and 5 children had the pleasure of staying with John and Beth. The meals were wonderful and plenty. The conversation and culture though was a highlight for all of us, making us feel so much at home and wishing we could have stayed longer to learn and experience more. Beth took the time to teach the children how to play a Carribean game called warri which is worth the learning. Much (if not all) of the fruit is grown onsite, with Beth making the Jams and preserves which are 2nd to none. John performed the majority of the cooking for the meals which was very good, practical and ideal for our family. No one went hungry. The corn fritters for breakfast were a hit. If you like meeting people and having a conversation, then I recommend staying with John & Beth.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBM-SJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

We had the very good fortune to spend a couple of nights at Beth's Garden View B&B as we ended our month[-long visit to New Zealand and it was a fitting conclusion to a wonderful trip.
Beth made us feel right at home (her husband, John, was absent, being occupied with driving their son's support vehicle on his across America bike ride to raise funds for MS) and was a most gracious hostess, providing us with recommendations of what to see and making sure we had a wonderful picnic lunch in a basket to sustain us on our outing. Our accommodations at Garden View were the best...almost like having your own private wing in their beautiful home.
Breakfasts were delightful and her dinners were superb (she will prepare dinners for guests if they wish for a very reasonable sum). The gardens were wonderful and really showcased John's knowledge of plants and his ability to make things grow.
If you are anywhere in the vicinity of Christchurch, you would be remiss is you don't book a room at Garden View. It was simply the best!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandyegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2009

I spent two nights there, was collected at Christchurch airport, and made welcome. The house is lovely, with spacious well set out grounds. Nothing was too much trouble to Beth. We had a small piano recital at breakfast at the request of two other guests, very nice! A handy location to that side of Christchurch.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rolleston hotels
0.8 mi away
Rolleston Highway Motel
Rolleston Highway Motel
#2 of 5 in Rolleston
20 reviews
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Delamare Manor
#3 of 5 in Rolleston
4 reviews
1.9 mi away
Number Six Homestay
Number Six Homestay
#1 of 1 in Rolleston
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
StoneHill Bed & Breakfast
StoneHill Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 5 in Rolleston
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Bed and Breakfast

Property: Garden View Bed and Breakfast
Address: 133 Lowes Road, Rolleston 7614, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Rolleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rolleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden View Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA Spirit of Hospitality B&B Award finalist. Located just 10 minutes south of Christchurch and 20 minutes from Christchurch International Airport. Three guest rooms (one with en-suite), nearby restaurants, shopping centre and new Aquatic Centre. Garden View features free Broadband/WiFi access, buffet breakfast, off-street parking and award-winning gardens (1½ acres) uniquely landscaped in New Zealand native plants, roses, fruit-trees. Convenient, quiet and comfortable stopover as you arrive for your South Island tour and before you leave to return home. Well suited for business visits, wedding groups, honeymooners, family reunions, travellers and outdoor adventures including the Tranz-Alpine Train (2 mins) away), skiing, swimming, trekking, golfing, camping, hunting, fishing as well as many renowned wineries. Perfect too, for your romantic getaway or relaxing holiday. Rural environment convenient to Christchurch and Canterbury attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Garden View Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing