We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden View Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Rolleston B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Was in Christchurch for one night with my 7 year old daughter, We are not big city people and used Trip Advisor to search for accomodation. Really happy to have found the Garden View B&B. Wonderful Hosts and brilliant Breakfast and wonderful pillows. My daughter now wants me to buy some goose,duck down pillows. A great big thank you and we will be back

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 67 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our family accidentally came across Garden View late one evening with a tired 6 month old baby and an exhausted impatient 5 year old daughter! We could not have received a better reception. Both John and Beth are extremely welcoming and immediately made you feel comfortable. Beth went above and beyond of what I'd expect from a good B&B and it was such a treat to stay with them. John shared some very interesting stories with us, which added a very warm, personal touch to our stay. The standard of accommodation varies so much in NZ especially when you're on a road trip for 3 weeks that it was refreshing to find such a high standard. I would recommend this place to everyone and I'll definitely be back when on business in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalv H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

6 of us stayed at Garden View for our last night of a New Zealand holiday. What a treat! For a short time we all felt like family members. Beth and John are wonderful hosts and nothing was too much trouble. They are a fund of knowledge about their lovely country and the home is filled with music and the garden with flowers. A definite destination for our next trip to the South island.
UK and Ozz travellers

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardHill1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have stayed at Beth & John's Garden View B&B on three occasions, and we've always enjoyed our stay and time with them. The B&B is well appointed and the rooms are spacious. Beth & John are great hosts, willing to share stories and provide information about not just the area but all of NZ. It's home away from home for us and we'll return again in the new future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B_in_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Beth and John made my stay here just like staying with family. Nothing was too much trouble. From the hosts getting up early to cook a breakfast when I had an early start, to John teaching me one of his recipes using fresh produce grown in his garden. I cannot recommend highly enough and will gladly return next time I am on business in Christchurch. Thanks for a relaxing welcoming stay.

Room Tip: A good 30 mins from the city center so not right in the midst of it all but very relaxing and close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

It was lovely to arrive to such welcoming hosts and the gardens were beautiful. I should have wrote my review sooner...the beds were comfortable, the room tastefully decorated and the whole experience positive. I will recommend to anyone not wanting to stay right in Christchurch. It is easy to find and very relaxing.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Mom never took such good care of me. Don't get me wrong, I love Mom but Beth and John were the most gracious, curtious and heart warming host you could ever ask for. From the cook to order breakfasts to the second to none hospitality I looked forward to returning each day during my week stay. You will never want to leave ... Thanks John and Beth. I feel like I have new life-long friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClydeHeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rolleston
5.8 mi away
Lincoln Motel
Lincoln Motel
#1 of 1 in Lincoln
93 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rolleston Highway Motel
Rolleston Highway Motel
#2 of 5 in Rolleston
24 reviews
1.9 mi away
Number Six Homestay
Number Six Homestay
#1 of 1 in Rolleston
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Delamare Manor
#3 of 5 in Rolleston
4 reviews
0.5 mi away
StoneHill Bed & Breakfast
StoneHill Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 5 in Rolleston
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Bed and Breakfast

Address: 133 Lowes Road, Rolleston 7614, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Rolleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rolleston
Price Range: $97 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden View Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA Spirit of Hospitality B&B Award finalist. Located just 10 minutes south of Christchurch and 20 minutes from Christchurch International Airport. Three guest rooms (one with en-suite), nearby restaurants, shopping centre and new Aquatic Centre. Garden View features free Broadband/WiFi access, buffet breakfast, off-street parking and award-winning gardens (1½ acres) uniquely landscaped in New Zealand native plants, roses, fruit-trees. Convenient, quiet and comfortable stopover as you arrive for your South Island tour and before you leave to return home. Well suited for business visits, wedding groups, honeymooners, family reunions, travellers and outdoor adventures including the Tranz-Alpine Train (2 mins) away), skiing, swimming, trekking, golfing, camping, hunting, fishing as well as many renowned wineries. Perfect too, for your romantic getaway or relaxing holiday. Rural environment convenient to Christchurch and Canterbury attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Garden View Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing