We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Example of what Ontario's Finest Inns should aim to be!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pretty River Valley Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Nottawa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Example of what Ontario's Finest Inns should aim to be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed at this Inn on a long weekend in July as an impromptu getaway. It was quaint, yet full of country charm. The scenery is relaxing yet enticing to the senses. The owners are caring, interested, informative and accommodating. Breakfast is included in the rate and it is like fine dining family style; delicious and great range. I found it was the little touches that really make the Inn 'cozy special'. They have unexpected chic décor, small inclusions that make all the difference and create ambiance. I cannot wait to get back to this Inn. It is what every Inn that gains the title of Ontario's Finest Inns should aim to become and sustain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    40
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
32
201
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We do an annual cycling trip with roughly 15 guys. We've been to Colorado, Lake Placid and North Carolina and this year to Southern Ontario. We stayed a night at the Pretty River Valley Inn... it was exceptional. A very welcoming group that even went to town to get us a cake for a birthday celebration and gluten free bread for some with dietary sensitivities. Very very friendly. They were incredibly accommodating and the rooms were perfect.

The facilities are nice and clean with a pool and hot-tub to loosen up the muscles after a long ride.

On that point, the out and back that we did from the Inn was superb. It was one of the best rides I've done. Starting the ride with the Scenic Caves hill is tough, but once you're up there, the riding is world class.

I highly recommend this Inn for your next cycling trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Region, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We spent one day/evening at Pretty River Valley Country Inn, for our anniversary, in August, and the staff and owners were friendly, interested in their guests, helpful with directions for hiking trails nearby, restaurants, etc. The room we had was spacious, nicely decorated, had a very comfortable bed, clean bathroom, overall quiet. We got a great sleep. Affordable. Perfect. We'll definitely be back, and highly recommend it. The breakfast was excellent. Walk around the property and visit the animals they have. We picked this B&B because of the location, close to Scenic Caves, where we did the Eco tour, at Blue Mountain, which was also great. We were impressed. Thanks for the wonderful stay, which made for our best anniversary so far.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I chose this inn as a place to stay outside of the hustle and bustle of Blue Mountain. From the moment we arrived until it was time to depart we enjoyed ourselves. My daughter and I roamed the premises and thoroughly appreciated the animals on site. In the morning we had a delicious breakfast of fresh fruit and french crepes and were then treated to a lesson in Natural Horsemanship by Linda before our Icelandic Horse Trekking. Jamie was a fabulous guide and we had a fantastic ride on the property. Having had limited horseback riding experience and not having been on a horse in over 30 years I was slightly nervous, however there was no need, I felt very comfortable and safe. Later that day we got out to the Scandinave Spa and managed to spend 8 hours enjoying the facilities there. Both my daughter and I loved the feel of the inn, the hospitality of Linda and Paul and staff, the beautiful surrounding scenery and will go back in a heartbeat if the opportunity presents itself. If you want a stay outside of the usual cookie cutter style rooms of hotel chains, then this is the place for you. Absolutely charming.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Binirob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have just enjoyed another stay at the Pretty River Inn and were again pleasantly surprised at the warmth and great service provided by both Linda,Paul and the entire staff. This has been consistant for all three of our visits.
The setting is very peaceful and our Zen is fully replenished.
At times it feels like we had the place to ourselves, the view from the pool will make you want to extend your stay.

Room Tip: We have enjoyed the Crofts as they are closest to the pool and outdoor hot tub. The crofts also hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Pretty river valley country inn has it all - Exquisite setting with a country flare, horses , reindeer, outdoor swimming pool and hot tub added feature rooms and all the amenities of the Collingwood area. We always have a memorable stay here and I would personally recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 3 nights at this gravel road B & B and found it deficient in most aspects. We upgraded ourselves to a suite thinking it would be a nice treat but not so. The bathroom was extremely small. The shower head was short resulting in having to stoop to wash your hair, with poor pressure and leaky door that was improperly fixed with duck-tape, consequently water leaked all over the floor. The bathroom was not vented adequately resulting in black mold covering the ceiling above the shower. Poor water pressure in the toilet necessitated having to double flush. Very dim lighting in the main room, old dirty carpet that was pieced together in small sections with all the seams showing and a damp mildew smell throughout. The main door had an ill-fitting key making it difficult to open. It had an old fashion locking system that had to be dis-engaged to exit and somewhat of a fire hazard. We used the jet tub every day but no-one cleaned it, so we had to do it ourselves. The breakfast was outstanding but we had to fight off several pesky flies every morning. An overall disappointment, especially with the high prices charged.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escarpment, Owner at Pretty River Valley Country Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your observations regarding the Inn. Why guests wait until their departure to take pen to hand is something I cannot fathom. We most certainly would have been happy to discuss and attempt to rectify any issues that you had over the three days you were present. We did listen patiently while you complained about your high cost of golfing and other non Inn related issues. Your comment regarding the shower head indicates to us that as you are at least six foot six tall, you need a forum to vent occasionally....... What better way than Trip Advisor!

There is 600 yards of hard packed gravel road from the paved road to navigate to get to the Inn. That is a correct fact! Your comment regarding upgrading yourself to a Suite as it would be a nice treat is very misleading. When you booked three Studios for you and your friends you persistently negotiated a complimentary upgrade for yourself thus paying the same as your friends in the Studios.
We will institute a guest survey immediately as we appreciate guests feedback, comments and observations. The carpeting in the Highland Suite will be replaced as sparks from the fireplace have caused burn marks in the fibre which do in fact make it look dirty. The new flooring should help regarding any musky odour due to overflow from the Tub to the floor that sometimes ensues when couples have had a party in the Jacuzzi. In winter the heat dries the carpet out but summer is a more difficult time to get it dry. The bathroom issues (other than size) have been attended to with exception to the height of the shower head. The lock has never been an issue before but we understand that there are locking systems that are easier for seniors to work with and will investigate them when replacement locks are necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottawa
6.5 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
6.9 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#4 of 8 in Blue Mountains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
6.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
7.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Collingwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
7.4 mi away
Living Water Resort
Living Water Resort
#2 of 11 in Collingwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pretty River Valley Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pretty River Valley Country Inn

Property: Pretty River Valley Country Inn
Address: | 529742 Osprey-The Blue Mountains Tline, Nottawa, Ontario L0M 1P0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Clearview Township > Nottawa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Nottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pretty River Valley Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn, one of Ontario's Finest Inns, Spas & Hotels is perched on 125 acres on the Niagara Escarpment (UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve) overlooking 3,050 acres of Provincial Park, 15 minutes to Collingwood and the Blue Mountains, minutes away from skiing, hiking, biking and Scandinave Spa. All 11 accommodations have wood burning fireplaces, full bathrooms, fridges, Queen or King Tempur-Pedic sleep systems and many have double Jacuzis (not in bathrooms). Hot tubs, salt water swimming pool( and exercise room await! The inn is home to reindeer, horses, chickens, guinea fowl, bees and Angus & Mac (official canine greeters). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Pretty River Valley Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pretty River Valley Country Hotel Ontario
Country Inn Collingwood
Collingwood Country Inn
Pretty River Valley Country Inn Ontario/Nottawa, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing