We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Anniversary in the Sky”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pretty River Valley Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Nottawa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We booked an "Up, up and away" Package at the Pretty River Valley Country Inn for our 24th Anniversary. The package which contained 2 nights accommodation with a hot breakfast and an "Air 44" helicopter ride to the Georgian Hills Winery for a Cheese tray and wine tasting was pretty much the perfect romantic weekend getaway we were looking for.
Our attention was concentrated on the Helicopter ride as we figured the view of the lake and the Blue Mountain Ski Hills would be spectacular. Little did we know there was much more waiting for us for an unforgettable experience.
We drove from Kitchener on a snowy afternoon and very poor driving conditions guided by our "trusty" GPS; the stress of the slippery drive was gradually slowed down with the enchanting view of the snow copped threes in the lovely country roads well illuminated by a shiny moon.
All pretty wonderful until we realized our "trusty" GPS had taken us off the road and into a trail and as soon as we realized it our car decided to slip down the ditch. With very little information about were we were, we decided to give Paul (The Pretty River C. Inn Owner) a call to see if he would be able to locate us and help us. It turns we were about 5min. away so shortly after our call he showed up with his son and hauled us out of the snow and guided us to the place.
I took no more than 5 min. in our room (The Loft) for the stress to melt down, they had left a bottle of champagne with two cups on the small table in front of the wood burning chimney which was all ready to go, all we had to do was light a match and relax with the sound of the fire and the view of the snowy hills through the balcony doors next to the TV. The location of the Jacuzzi across from the bed was so inviting we had to make that our next stop. All set for a good night sleep on a very comfortable bed.
The next day as we reached into the mini fridge for some water, we noticed a very nice home made "Happy Anniversary" cake. What a nice touch!
We headed down to the dining room for our well anticipated hot breakfast and we were not disappointed, we met with the other guests and had a chance to get to know some very nice people, then we headed out to our first ever snow shoeing adventure, we had read about some nice things to see at the facility but being not the most cold weather friendly people we figure that was going to last around 10-15min. To our surprise once we went past the Reindeer and horses, we automatically got hypnotized by the breath taking view of the snowy trees as we walked up the hill, the sound of a very nearby water stream with tiny little falls was so relaxing and the view was just spectacular, it was about two hours later at the top of the hill contemplating the valley that we realized we had lost our cold weather fobia and had actually learn to like and enjoy the white stuff. For the last two hrs. we had actually forgot about our up and coming helicopter ride and our concentration was completely aimed to enjoy the scenery.

Our helicopter ride was booked for 3:30 and we made it back to our room around 2PM so we decided to skip lunch as we were not going to make it to town and back in time, that was when we learned how delicious the anniversary cake was.We decided to relax and watch a DVD movie (They are available in the common area) while we waited for the big moment.
At around 3:30 we walked to the common area to met our guide that took us to the side of the building where they have the helipad right next to the building where you can find the outdoor hot tub and the salt water pool. Watching the helicopter land was a spectacle but watching it take off with us inside was a great experience. It took about 15min to land at Georgian Hills Winery where we had a very delightful wine and cheese tray tasting, the frozen grape wine was delicious. In our way back the pilot took us on a scenery tour around the Ski Hills with some breath taking views of the lake before landing back at the hotel. We were very lucky the weather cooperated as our entire trip took place during a nice clear sky sunny break between a morning and afternoon snow fall. As we took off from the Winery we could see the black cloud coming towards us, an ugly picture that we found fascinating.
We had allowed Paul to select a good local restaurant for a romantic dinner to celebrate, he made a reservation for us at Chez Michele in Creemore, the food and service were exceptional and the atmosphere was definatly the set for a wonderful anniversary celebration.
Our last night was enjoyed again in front of the fire and it didn't take long before we felt tiered after a very exciting day.
After a hearty and delicious hot breakfast we headed home the next day with our expectations completely blown to the Sky!!!!

Thanks to Paul and the Staff at the Pretty River Valley Country Inn, this is a weekend that will live in our memories for a very long time, probably to be replaced only by our next adventure there as we are sure to be coming back.

Room Tip: All rooms have a fire place, the standard rooms are next to the salt water pool which is only open i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller_365_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 326 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Pretty River on two seperate occasions and have had a wonderful experience every time! Our first getaway was back in October 2012. The Inn was exactly what we were looking for - quite, serene atmosphere, friendly staff ,and cozy home feeling. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and the rooms are kept very clean and tidy. We we had booked the Spa Getaway, includes passes to the Scandinavian spa which is a 10-15 min drive, as well some hiking in the Blue Mountain area. The Inn even provided their own robes and water bottles, which is an extra cost at the Spa! The staff were informative in providing the best hiking trails, caves, and lookout points to visit.

Our second getaway was just after the New Year in January 2013. We were welcomed with the pretty sights of Pretty River during the Winter. We had a chance to make it out to Blue Mountain for some snowboarding and relaxed in the Inns hot tub at the end of the night. Once again our expectations did not fall short.

There is lots to do and see at Pretty River, whethere you are outdoorsey and want to hike around or getaway to relax at the Inn. We would like to visit the Inn at every season and experience what the great outdoors have to offer! Going back for the third time!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ECee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I visited the Inn for a nice winter getaway back in December 2011. We had a wonderful experience, with a nice room, friendly staff and delicious food. We're ready for another winter getaway this year, so we are heading back to the Inn for round two... and I'm sure we'll continue to keep coming back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scuba-emu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed at the pretty River Valley Country Inn at the Ben Nevis Croft last year and my expectations were completely blown out of the water. The breakfast was very delicious and it was awesome to see the on site. The room was beautiful and everything was taken care of. The staff were very helpful in telling us local attractions and even went the further step of drawing it out on a map and even giving super easy turn by turn directions if unsure. Will be definitely staying there again in the near future and explore the other rooms they have to offer. The atmosphere was stunning. Theres plenty of dvd's to borrow and even a board game or two to mingle with other people staying at the inn. The price is very affordable. All my needs were well taken very seriously and they were taken care of with the up most respect. I would recommend this place for anyone. Either it be a couple who wants to get away for a day or two to a wedding night to even a little getting away for that busy business man that needs to unwind. As the title says, it is simply unforgettable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

For a New Year's Eve getaway, we went as a group of 6, and for 3 of us it was our first B&B experience. We all loved it! This place is charming, inviting, and relaxing. We did have to drive through snow-covered hills to reach it, and did have issues heading up the driveway, but there is a small lot at the gate, so not a big deal - and they will help you with your luggage.

Breakfast is delicious, many choices and the two mornings we stayed we were offered different foods, which was nice. We relaxed in the hot tub, borrowed snowshoes to walk the grounds - visiting the reindeer, horses, and seeing a bit of the river. It was so lovely!

Staff is quick to assist you in any way, and friendly. Rooms are lovely, fireplaces add a beautiful touch, and the fires are ready to go - just need to be lit! As we arrived as 3 couples, we were given our own wing in the main inn, next to the dining room.

We're all planning to return, probably in the fall, as a group again.

If you go - bring your camera!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We spent our wedding night at the Pretty River Valley Country Inn and we had an incredible time. The staff was amazing and accommodating, the food was great and the scenery was beautiful. I will gladly vouch for this place! It was an incredible way to start off our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Levi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Iknow that when I go to the PRVCI, my wants and needs will be wonderfully attended to.
The beds are excellent; the rooms are lovely each with their own style and furnishings.
The staff are always warm and they are clearly happy to work there
.
The Pretty River Valley and the escarpment are a spectacular place to hike and rest.The rivers and mini waterfalls are so lovely. Linda [co-owner], has several times driven us up to high hikes after guiding our car to the end of the hike. It means that we can pace the hikes to our energy in the moment, to the weather and ground conditions.

We loved walking the trail that they are making for riding. Linda intoduced me to Natural riding, an approach to learning to ride that is much gentler and more grounded than the trainings that I tried in my 40's. I felt safer walking and mounting the horse that I ever have; I felt that I could actually learn to communicate and bond with a horse should I continue.

I hiked several times in a light drizzle,[that kind of a weekend] had a great time, and loved relaxing and warming up in the out door hot tub.

We are known and our visits have a personal quality. yah! We will return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeleine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottawa
6.5 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
6.9 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#6 of 8 in Blue Mountains
395 reviews
7.3 mi away
Mariner Motor Hotel
Mariner Motor Hotel
#8 of 11 in Collingwood
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
7.5 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
7.4 mi away
Living Water Resort
Living Water Resort
#2 of 11 in Collingwood
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pretty River Valley Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pretty River Valley Country Inn

Address: | 529742 Osprey-The Blue Mountains Tline, Nottawa, Ontario L0M 1P0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Clearview Township > Nottawa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Nottawa
Price Range: $109 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pretty River Valley Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn, one of Ontario's Finest Inns, Spas & Hotels is perched on 125 acres on the Niagara Escarpment (UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve) overlooking 3,050 acres of Provincial Park, 15 minutes to Collingwood and the Blue Mountains, minutes away from skiing, hiking, biking and Scandinave Spa. All 11 accommodations have wood burning fireplaces, full bathrooms, fridges, Queen or King Tempur-Pedic sleep systems and many have double Jacuzis (not in bathrooms). Hot tubs, salt water swimming pool( and exercise room await! The inn is home to reindeer, horses, chickens, guinea fowl, bees and Angus & Mac (official canine greeters). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Pretty River Valley Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pretty River Valley Country Hotel Ontario
Country Inn Collingwood
Collingwood Country Inn
Pretty River Valley Country Inn Ontario/Nottawa, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing