We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NZ's best cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jester House cafe

Jester House cafe
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Tasman
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, International, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“NZ's best cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I'm travelling around the world with my partner since July 2012 and this is the most unique and charming cafe we've been to. Enchanted forest, giant chess table, a tiger... The staff is very friendly and professional and absolutely meticulous in the preparation of coffee (best moccaccino ever!). About the menu... we had the smoked fish, which was amazing: the perfect amount of fish, well presented and full of flavour. We also ordered some oven baked wedges with aioli, beautiful! We had the Plump Plum Pie for dessert and we loved it. Generous portion with cream for me and yoghourt for my partner. They also have a gluten and dairy free pie that looks very nice, perfect for my mother who is lactose intolerant. Before going back to hit the road we feeded the eels with the pieces of chicken that Jester House provides. Perfect activity for kids as well. We strongly recommend Jester House!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Enrique A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    69
    14
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful family dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Eleven of us went for lunch yesterday including 3 children 9,7,3.The food was beautiful with a great range to choose from.We sat a a long table outside where we could watch the kids play happily pretty much on their own.Feeding the eels was a great hit.For $2.00 we got 2 sticks and a little pottle of mince. The bigger girls had a ball.Beginng by feeding and squeeling as the eels slid up the bank to get more.Then as confidence grew they touched them gently. An altogether lovely day for us all

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Thank you for a lovely lunch. We stopped in for lunch on a sunny Monday two weeks ago. Thoroughly enjoyed my quinoa and smoked fish salad and my husband was delighted with his lamb burger including beetroot! Lovely setting and atmosphere. Thank you.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SLamb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Jester House is a great lunch stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great lunch stop when driving between Nelson and Motueka or parts north. You need to take the "old" highway that was there before the bypass was built a few years ago. It is more scenic and only adds 10 minutes to the drive at most.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank sfordjasiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapua, Nelson
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Country cafe with great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Jester House is a great funky cafe just outside Tasman village, in an ideal location with great garden and plenty of space for children to play too. The cafe interior is quite small but in winter has a great log fire - reserve a table near the fire for a warm, cosy lunch. the food is great - slightly pricy now - but well worth the money. Certainly to be recommended

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fiona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jester House cafe also viewed

Mapua, Nelson-Tasman Region
Mapua, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Mapua, Nelson-Tasman Region
Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Mapua, Nelson-Tasman Region
Upper Moutere, Mapua
 

Been to Jester House cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing