We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Family Meal”

Ticino Restaurant & Vespa Bar
Ranked #2 of 79 Restaurants in Bang Lamung
Price range: $3 - $27
Cuisines: Italian, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The lush garden atmosphere with individually designed dining areas surrounded by all sorts of tamed tropic fauna, various fountains and water games invite you to spend a memorable and peaceful evening in an unmatched environment. Be it a romantic dinner with your family or friends, the end of a business day or a private garden party; Ticino offers you an alternative with a difference.Dining alone is also never an issue as the VespaBar is an integrated meeting place at Ticino. Be it for a drink, an a la carte meal or a night cap – there’s always a reason to stop by the VespaBar and someone to talk to.The menu reflects sumptuous delicacies from the Canton of Ticino such as Coniglio (Rabbit) ragout with Polenta, Ossobuco (simmered veal shank), Boletus Mushroom or Saffron Risotti. And, naturally, it’s all cooked according to the original recipes with non-substituted ingredients. The Ticino restaurant proudly makes possibly Thailand’s thinnest and crispiest Pizze allowing countless combinations of toppings; homemade flat and filled pasta with fresh sauces and a range of “dolci” (desserts) round off any meal with a sweet touch.What may we cook for you tonight? While you have not booked a table yet we look forward to your visit now already!
Reviewed August 5, 2013

On Friday evening we visted TICINO for a family meal; Thai wife, 7 yo daughter anf myself.
Liked the excellent range of cuisine.
My wife chose a pasta dish which by all accounts tasted as good as it looked.
My daughter chose Salmon and "cleared the plate".
I chose a "Special" Pork Steak Valaisanne which was delicious to say the least and very well presented.
A pork steak valaisanne is a classic Swiss dish whereby the pork is cooked to perfection with tomato slices and real raclette from Valais; as it would be in Switzerland. It came served with the original Waldorf salad consisting of celeriac julienne, Granny Smith apple and walnuts. Absolutely Yummi !!

Overall the evening was a success ... the staff were pleasant, polite and efficient.

The management pairing of Peter and Khun Noi were charming and perfect hosts.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RobertWatsonMayEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, Owner at Ticino Restaurant & Vespa Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for the flowers; it is likewise an absolute pleasure to have guests like you around. Food is about passion and nothing else; regretfully it seems to be the longer the lesser lived.
We try to please our customers, guests and friends with passion and dedication. The kitchen- and the service staff appreciated your kind comments with thanks and looks forward to having you around soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 95 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

I've eaten here many times and always look forward to my next visit. It is, without doubt, the finest restaurant in East Pattaya, with top quality food and great service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chindit76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, Owner at Ticino Restaurant & Vespa Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

We thank you for your kind comments which we shall be sharing those with our staff. It is them who help us to achieve results and hence will be more than happy to learn, that their endeavours are appreciated. We're looking forward to your next visit and thank you again for this contribution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The restaurant has a very nice ambience in a romantic, quiet garden setting. The service was impeccable and the owner greets his guests with a pleasant conversation which made us feel right at home. It's quite far from town, so make sure your taxi driver knows the place or you have GPS navigation (hint: look for "Ticino restaurant" on Google maps, not only "Ticino").
We had cold cuts and Caprese salad for starters and a pizza and Osso Bucco for main course, all prepared very nicely and with good taste. However my wife really regretted that they did not offer her favorite: Beef Carpaccio.
My only true disappointment was the Tiramisu for desert: it was quite frankly the worst I ever had - anywhere. The Affogato however was excellent. Prices are a bit on the high end, but generally matching the quality offered.
In summary: personally I find it a bit too far to make the way out there on a regular basis when in Pattaya. But who knows: if they add Carpaccio to their menu in future... ;-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ingo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, Owner at Ticino Restaurant & Vespa Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions.

The "worst Tiramisu you ever had anywhere" was not a genuine Tiramisu to start with.
By - our - mistake you were served a Tiramisu for children, i.e. without alcohol. The genuine recipe includes Marsala wine which could be substituted with Amaretto or Kahlua. The kiddies version has no alcohol in it which does change the taste. Regretfully you mentioned your concern on the way out only which did not allow for replacement anymore - however the little bowl was almost empty though 8-).

The Beef Carpaccio is something which will be on our new menu to replace the Beef Tartare. We keep changing our menu for the sake of our esteemed regular residential customers to prevent culinary boredom. Apart from changing Specials we also revamp the à la carte offerings regularly.

The distance from Sukhumvit Road is six kilometres, our website features a comprehensive to-scale map as well as the GPS co-ordinates in all three formats.
Arguably we are a little out of town to present the luxury of 80 seats, spread over 1'600 square metres in individual cabanas amidst tamed fauna and water fountains as well as off road parking for 12 vehicles. The same very generous infrastructure in town would make pricing impossible.

Menu prices are based on product purchase; while life is cheaper here than in Europe, the prices for imported foods are definitely not. Latter being a fact we regret specially as Cheese, Flour (for Pasta and Pizze), Parma or Salami do not compete against local products yet are being slapped with high import duties.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great to get away from Pattaya. Secluded dining ares, it's like being in your own garden. Good food, helpful staff - great experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Troglodytae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, Owner at Ticino Restaurant & Vespa Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind words.

As we work in this restaurant nightly except Tuesdays we wanted to create a pleasant environment. The nice side effect for our guests is, that they enjoy a huge garden, water fountains and food being cooked with passion. Hope to see you soon again and thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

As a regular guest of Ticino I appreciate the never ending effort of delivering the best quality food and service to all of their customers. A very romantic environment combined with an outstanding service makes each visit a special event. Having a drink or two at the Vespa bar after an exquisit dining experience gives the evening the special touch of being extraordinary. All of my multiple guest that I ever introduced to Ticino and its excellent staff share the same opinion with me.
I will remain a regular and enjoy the big variety of food, the specials, and the well chosen selection of wines and other spirits.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDABLE!

Norbert

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Norbert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, Owner at Ticino Restaurant & Vespa Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your motivating lines which I gladly shall share with my staff to keep up the good work!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ticino Restaurant & Vespa Bar also viewed

Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 

Been to Ticino Restaurant & Vespa Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing