We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A WALKING DISTANCE TO THE NIGHT LIFE AROUND”
Review of Sun City Pattaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun City Pattaya
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Bang Lamung
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Stayed at this hotel right from the time it was Baiyoke and then Erawan. Did not live here this year as the rates have shot up after the change of name to "Sun City" We have always been occupyong the deluxe adjoining rooms. Cleanliness and hygiene excellent. Staff very friendly. Rooms are quite cosy with an LCD TV and a safe. Breakfast is nothing to boast about but better than some of the other hotels of the same rack rate. A very convenient location. Walking distance to the famous Walking Street, Ripleys, and to a lot of restaurants yet a good location away from the noise. I wish they could reduce their rates for regular guests who stay here yearly.

Room Tip: A peaceful place to be in - close to the hustle and bustle yet far way from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank apintolobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 64 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2011

We were greeted with with two cards. One read as Swimming pool under renovation. Inconvenience regretted. Other, currently Hotel is undergoing renovation so please bear with us. And literally we had to bear with it. Renovation work used to start as early as 8am.

Check in process was smooth as we had our confirmed reservations. The front desk staff was straight faced. Due to flood in Thailand, we had to extend our stay in Pattaya. Even after informing the front desk that we are extending our stay in the morning, our wives were not allowed to enter the rooms in the evening, till the deposit amount was paid, though our luggages were lying inside the rooms and I called up to inform I will reach hotel in 30 min. We did not like the way the extension of our stay was handled by the front desk.

Reception lobby is clean and first impression is OK. If the elevator by chance stops in any of the inbetween floors where the renovation work is on you will be not impressed but as our rooms were in the completely renovated floor so the rooms are clean and spaciaous. The room upgrade of superior to luxury is required as none of their supperior rooms were ready.

The breakfast spread is OK. Nothing extraordinary. Neither bad.

Around the hotel facilities like tour operator, money exchange is available. But the exchange rate one gets here is slightly less. This hotel's location is such that you will get tuk tuk easily on your way towards the main market but on your way back need to walk 10 mins. Walking street is in walking distance.

Reco: Stay in this hotel only after the complete renovation work is over.

Room Tip: Whether hill view or bay view its not of much difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Happie_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

This hotel looked ok on their website, lobby looked ok , get in the elevator.... disgusting, looked like it hadnt been cleaned for 2 years.
The room is good size,decent view ,but very old, would be nice after a renovation.
The room was also very noisy, jackhammers and banging at 8 in the morning ,which is no good in this town,way too early. Also not guest friendly, 600 baht to bring guest back to room.
I ordered room service once, never again, the worst curry i have ever had, especially with the amount of Indians staying here .
Plenty of better places to stay in Pattaya .

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mattbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

this is very bad hotel hotel.... this was my 3rd visit to this hotel.. 2 times i enjoy very much but this time horrible ..... staff was good .. b/fast was ok.. but hotel room <> SHAME SHAME <> BED
WAS IN POOR CONDITION. TOWEL was look like a dusting cloth. they charges 600 baht for each guest. Renovation work going on all day.. The mechanic worked all day .. U CAN'T DO REST IN MORNING, NOON, EVNING..
NEVER GO THERE.. Otherwise you lose all your fun ...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rakeshJind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

i stayed in this hotel 4 two nights from 21 and 22 july ,the hotel and staff girls are very freindly ,but some mens in staff are always tip demanding hotel rooms and bathrooms are nice, only buffet breakfast is good ,food for lunch and dinner from cafe shop restaurant is bad ,i ordered them ,and they serve me not a fresh chicken ,its tooo sour to eat ,and most important thing is that this hotel is not a guest freindly hotel, they charge me 500 bhats for each guest each time in my room, if ur looking for a company 4 a night then i think it is not a good hotel 4 my freinds who r keen of enjoying with girls

Room Tip: standard room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kunwar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We checked in late after a long cab ride from Bangkok after booking on ASIA ROOMS (Won't do that again). Front Staff seemed very friendly, but confirmed that after me receiving an email confirmation from ASIA ROOMS they had not been notified of the booking and then charged us a premium rate for the two rooms we had already booked??

When we got to the rooms it was infested with cockroaches on the pillows and bed & fleas on the carpets which were filthy. We contacted the front desk who sent up the maintenance man to move us...the next room was WORSE and the third choice on opening the door had someone SLEEPING IN...? So we argued the toss and after much persuasion got a full refund and seeked another option at our cost....ASIA ROOMS and SUN CITY PATTAYA...Never again!!!

Room Tip: DONT STAY HERE....You have been warned...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ukworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzdavao, General Manager at Sun City Pattaya, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2011

Dear Reviewer, thank you for your time in expressing your concerns about your stay at our hotel, I am most shocked to suddenly find this review here, having not been personally informed of your concern. I would certainly appreciated the chance to rectify your concern.

It does concern me also as I personally care of the satisfaction of our guests and as you can see by our past reviewers, this is the first complaint we have had since our company took over the property. I will assure you that I will be running a full investigation into this matter to ensure that it does not happen again.

Finally, I would like to add, that in the defense of the hotel, we sadly cannot be liable for the any problems that may arise from booking with a 3rd party booking site. regretfully, this is not the first time and I am sure it will not be the last time. While we work closely with providers such as Asia Rooms, if they do not notify the hotel, there is no way we can make the booking, and again, had I have been informed, I would have certainly given you the rate promised by Asia Rooms.

Thank you again for taking the time at least to express your opinions, and on behalf of the entire staff of the Sun City Pattaya, I would like to extend to you our apology that your experience did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

It was my first stay in Sun City Pattaya (Erawan Hotel). Firstly, when arrived the hotel and found that front desk staffs are friendly, they're always smile and helpful, the room we stayed and amenities are cleaned, especially bathroom!

The atmosphere surrounding the hotel is quite and made us slept well all night long.

Kindly accept our suggestion to provide more European Foods for breakfast.

The hotel is on the curve of street, made us hard to see the hotel signage.

Finally, The Sun City Hotel will be our destination for the next trip to Pattaya.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunitra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzdavao, General Manager at Sun City Pattaya, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2011

Dear Reviewer, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to give us all here at the Sun City Hotel Pattaya some feed back about your stay with us. I am pleased that you found the room to your satisfaction and I will be sure to show our housekeepers your comments.

Your comments about the European breakfast has been taken down and seriously noted, we are currently looking at our menus including the breakfast buffet. so I hope that by the time you come to stay with us again, you will have exactly what you would like. We now have also new signage that can be seen, so again thank you for that comment it was useful to us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future....

From all of the staff... Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bang Lamung
0.1 mi away
Tara Court Hotel
Tara Court Hotel
#25 of 456 in Pattaya
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
FX Hotel Pattaya
FX Hotel Pattaya
#103 of 456 in Pattaya
34 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nova Platinum Hotel Pattaya
Nova Platinum Hotel Pattaya
#246 of 456 in Pattaya
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Beach View Hotel
Royal Beach View Hotel
#299 of 456 in Pattaya
61 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Viman Resort
Le Viman Resort
#4 of 456 in Pattaya
344 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Sun Xclusive Hotel
The Sun Xclusive Hotel
#232 of 456 in Pattaya
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun City Pattaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun City Pattaya

Address: 557 Moo 10 Pratamnuk Road, Bang Lamung 20150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Bang Lamung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Bang Lamung
Price Range: $38 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun City Pattaya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 floors with either a sea/bay view or garden view. 5 minute walking from the famous walking street and 10 minutes from Pattaya's beach road. Shopping and dining nearby. Onsite massage spa services available. Groups welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sun City Pattaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun City Pattaya Hotel Bang Lamung
Sun City Pattaya Thailand/Bang Lamung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing