We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real dump”

Canterbury Tales Cafe & Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bang Lamung
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canterbury Tales Cafe & Guesthouse
Ranked #24 of 39 Bang Lamung B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I wouldnt stay again. The room was falling apart, housecleaning was sporadic and at odd times, breakfast wasnt good, ants, filthy balcony, and the list goes on.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank rob7425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Canterbury Tales Cafe & Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2010

A real gem, had good reviews on other forums so tried it for a week of a 3 week holiday, wish i had stayed whole time there, situated off Soi bukaow, very well placed for night life in the Lk metro area, steady 10 mins walk to beach or get a cheap bus 2 mins to beach,
numerous bars/restaurants/massage parlors nearby all great value, the area has a buzz about it, and is an area of increasing popularity,
excellent room (rooms) bedroom and lounge had tv and dvd, 4 poster bed!! good shower room, change of linens every 2nd day. Far better value than many a hotel in Pattaya where you may pay double for one simple room! Probably the best value for money in Pattaya, The owner Dave is immensely helpful and has a wealth of knowledge on any issue in Pattaya.
Even though its quite a busy area its relatively quiet and i had no problems sleeping
my only regret was not trying this place on my previous visits

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pook99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2010

Great cafe,Great bookshop,great concept.
Now the accompdation.This really is the guest house from hell.whoa truly minging.Drains back up,filthy rooms.very noisy.very smelly.Plastic covers on the matress.
Stay here if your a tramp.
Worst accomodation I've stayed in almost 2 decades in SE Asia!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Glahamuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

It was my first trip to Pattaya.I searched about Pattaya online before I arrived.So I knew a bit about this place.After long flight from US needed a good meal and sleep.This place has all.My room was decent with a lot of amenities included great air con.
Very friendly and helpfull staff,great breakfast at the restaurant with daily papers.
I really enjoyed with my stay here and recomend to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Habershamboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

I have been going to Pattaya for the last 10 years and stayed in numerous guest houses and hotels and Canterbury Tales is by far the best for quality and price, i stayed in room 6b which was newly furnished which had a balcony over looking the soi which was most enjoyable, it is set in a little soi with a good selection of bars/food shops and close to everything, good location. I ate daily at the cafe and enjoyed the food and the company of Dave the owner and his friends. A great place for a newbie or a veteran of pattaya because of the hosts knowledge/experience and friendlyness.

Stayed: June 2009
2  Thank welshwonderr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bang Lamung hotels
0.0 mi away
Bella Express Hotel
Bella Express Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bang Lamung
456 reviews
0.0 mi away
Unique Paradise Resort
Unique Paradise Resort
#14 of 21 in Bang Lamung
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
April Suites
April Suites
#1 of 39 in Bang Lamung
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
JP Villa Pattaya
JP Villa Pattaya
#12 of 21 in Bang Lamung
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aya Place
Aya Place
#9 of 39 in Bang Lamung
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serene Sands Health Resort
Serene Sands Health Resort
#5 of 21 in Bang Lamung
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Tales Cafe & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Tales Cafe & Guesthouse

Address: 338 / 111 Soi Chaiyapoon, Moo 9, Nongprue, Bang Lamung 20260, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Bang Lamung
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Bang Lamung
Price Range: $14 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget guesthouse, well equipped, weekly/monthly rates, en-suite rooms, free Wifi, in-room electronic safe, TV, DVD player with large free DVD library, A/C, fan, dining table/chairs, balcony, all day English breakfast & good main meals, huge bookshop with one of the best selections in Thailand, also book exchange - trade in your unwanted books. Keen golfer with experience of all the local golf courses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canterbury Tales Cafe & Guesthouse Thailand/Bang Lamung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing