We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
45
12
6
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
12
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor comfortable bed by accident rooms are large her husband bastide town american lady church wine square countryside toulouse region
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 66 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2017

We could rate this B&B anything from terrible to excellent, depending on what you expect & are looking for. For us it was (almost) perfect.

Let's start with the good points: the walled town of Puycelsi is lovely, small enough to walk all round & lovely views over the surrounding countryside. The 'Auberge' is also a fascinating building with massive walls, lovely arches & interesting rooms. The American lady whom runs it is also a delight, very friendly & accommodating & provides an excellent breakfast. Our room on the top floor was large, withn a comfortable bed, a good modern bathroom & surrounded by windows overlooking the town church.

The bad points: we were luck enough to be able to park right outside the hotel but there is only enough space for 1 car & a handicap space. Most visitors will need to park outside teh walled town (c.150m away) in non secured parking. Not ideal in the rain or if you are carrying a lot of valuable stuff in the car. Whlst the hotel itself is fascinating, it has clearly seen better days & the impression is one of 'past glories' rather than modern facilities. Whilst we had a good breakfast with fresh bread, croissants, home made jams & honey any kind of tea you fancy, the coffee wasn't so good & there is no evening meal facilities. So you need to pop down te street to one of the other restauarants for dinner. The one we were recommended to was at best mediocre. (See separate review of this). The other (quite big!) problem on a hot summers night is the church clock tower just outside our window with a bell which rings every hour & half hour throughout the night!! So beware if you're a light sleeper!

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the church bells!
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2017 via mobile

If you're looking for a quiet, beautiful village with stunning views and friendly locals, look no further! Close by is the village of Cordes sur Ciele, just as beautiful. Accommodation in Lancienne Auberge is comfortable and the beds are perfect! Two restaurants a minutes walk away offer anything you want! I'll be coming back here again!!

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2017

Stayed here in February and so the village was deserted. The village is a beautiful place to visit. I went there after seeing it on a BBC documentary. The auberge is easy to find as the village is tiny. Park in one of the public parking areas and walk round. The room was great and i was given a small but good breakfast. The lounge area of the old inn is stunning. The owner also gave out excellent tourist information. I went to Albi and Conques on her recommendation and discovered two brilliant places I otherwise would not have seen. Wifi in public areas of hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank UlstermaninNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2016

Set in a beautiful location in the French countryside, the village of Puycelsi is a dream. The rooms at L'Ancienne Auberge are very comfortable and spacious, and the meals are fantastic. The hospitality is first class!

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank andrewa918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2016

If you are travelling in the area you should stay here. The building is amazing and the hostess most welcoming. The building is several hundred years old and has been beautifully and superbly remodelled and restored into a modern oasis in a unique bastide village.

The rooms are large and comfortable with views over the adjacent square. Beds were excellent and comfortable. There is some amount of night time noise from the church bell tower close by, but not too bad.

Breakfast is excellent with fresh warm croissants, preserves and eggs if you require.

Wifi is free and fast

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews