We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"utterly charming"”
Review of Coruisk House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elgol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coruisk House
Ranked #1 of 2 Elgol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

what could be better? ...to be warmly greeted, shown to a cheerful room with a lovely view and then seated for a delicious gourmet dinner. It all felt like you were being made part of a family with a great chef and delightful hostess. Aside from that, the location in Elgol is spectacular. We'd go back in a mini-second: same accommodations, same area, and with luck - same weather (amazingly good)

Room Tip: the floors in this old building are a bit slanted (purposely so -- ask Claire), as was therefore the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettinahoerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 146 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this amazing place, where everything smells good.
Clare and Iain are the most welcoming people we met in Scotland, caring, sweet and of very good advice. Ask Clare about the weather on Skye and trust her when she tells you when to go on a boat trip ! She also has plenty of ideas for walking in the area and more far away.
The food was amazing, cooked with fresh products, home-made bread.
The design is uncluttered, the bed couldn't be more comfortable. Coruisk House is a very quiet place, you don't hear the road (few cars) and the 2 rooms being separated by the stairs, the soundproofing is great.
I would definitely recommend this place !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happylifeepesses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in the ensuite room in the oldest part of the house. Our room was comfortable, had a four poster and traditional furnishings / decor. The bathroom was a little tired and the ligjting wasnt great, but the owners will be first to admit they still have work to do. There is also a guests lounge with nice soft furnishings and a wood burning stove.

The hosts Claire and Iain were very friendly and informative. Breakfasts were very nice.

This is really a restaurant with rooms and I cannot recommend the food and service highly enough - superb sea food, fish and great desserts (lime cold soufflé!!!).

This is a good location if you plan to explore the southern ridge of the Cullin Hills. Beware it is a 14 mile single track road to get you back to the main road if you want to visit other parts of Skye, however the views on this drive are gorgeous.

Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrZapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed there with my wife for two days in early September 2013. Elgol is away from it all (the last fourteen miles to get there are amazing, cell phone reception is almost non-existant, but there is WI-FI, if you must) and the Coruisk House in a retreat from the world. Great food (I cannot say enough about the locally-sourced offerings), great rooms, and an easy, relaxed, atmosphere. As others have mentioned, photography here is out of this world - -the Isle of Skye may be the most beautiful place in the world. Clare and Ian are perfect hosts, and we will stay here again the next time we are back in Scotland.

Ray W.

Room Tip: Stay for two days - -perfect to explore all of Isle of Skye. Four-poster bedroom had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

When we told friends we were going to Scotland, we were frequently warned about the bad food. Nothing could have been further from the truth, particularly at Coruisk House in Elgol on Skye. My husband enjoyed freshly caught seafood for dinner every day, and they very graciously accommodated my dietary restrictions by creating a new vegetarian dish for me every night. Wonderful hosts, lovely B&B, and a breathtaking location in Elgol, at the foot of the Cuilin Hills near the seashore.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Coruisk House, while expensive, is certainly worth it. Clare is a knowledgeable hostess and went out of her way to accommodate (with a variable dinner time) my photography affliction. The fourteen miles of bad road was, for me (again, the photographer) fourteen miles of great road. And Elgol is a photographer's paradise.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnutGeorgiaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Staying at Coruisk House was one of the highlights of our summer holiday in Skye and the Western Isles. Fantastic setting, beautiful rooms and really wonderful food. Iain and Clare were incredibly welcoming and our stay was great value, which was pretty hard to say about the other places we stayed. We had expected to be impressed at the Three Chimneys and Scarista House, but we'd return to Coruisk House before either of those!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCM1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgol
11.5 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
9.9 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
18.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.2 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
406 reviews
11.3 mi away
Duisdale House Hotel
11.7 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#1 of 2 in Sleat
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coruisk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coruisk House

Address: Elgol, Elgol IV49 9BL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Elgol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elgol
Price Range: $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coruisk House is the Restaurant with Rooms in Elgol. It is situated in the tiny but stunning fishing village of Elgol, two miles from the harbour. Elgol harbour overlooks Loch Scavaig towards the most spectacular view on the Isle of Skye - towards the Cuillin Ridge. Boat trips are available from Elgol Harbour between March to October for visits to Loch Coruisk and the islands of Soay, Rum and Canna (Iain and Clare will book the boat trips for their guests). Outside of these months, and weather dependent, boat trips are available by prior arrangement but guests should enquire well in advance of their visit. The area is renowned for spectacular scenery and is beloved of photographers and artists. There are many amazingly scenic walks that can be made from the house or just a short drive away. There are two rooms for guests at Coruisk House, each with views over towards the Sleat peninsula. Each room has a king size bed (one is a four poster), en-suite shower room and tea and coffee making facilities. The rooms are tastefully furnished, the beds have soft pillows and duck down duvets and the towels are fluffy! There is a cosy residents lounge with wood-burning stove and comfortable sofas to enjoy afternoon tea or a dram from a selection of fine single malts available. There is a television in the lounge. The restaurant (also with an open fire) serves lunch and dinner by prior reservation (24 hours advance reservation) from March until October using local produce (with a focus on seafood and highland game, although catering to specific dietary requirements with prior notice). Fresh shellfish is available having been landed daily (weather permitting) by the fishermen who leave Elgol Harbour early every morning throughout the year. Iain prepares delicious food with close attention to detail and will cater to guests specific requests if at all possible. Clare makes fresh bread daily for guests to enjoy. Afternoon tea is also available for all residents of Coruisk House. Iain and Clare greet all their guests with a warm welcome and make sure that their stay is relaxing and enjoyable in a truly stunning location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coruisk House Hotel Elgol
Coruisk House Elgol, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing