We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth staying two nights”
Review of Coruisk House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elgol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coruisk House
Ranked #1 of 2 Elgol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth staying two nights”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Spent two nights in June here with friends, after a friendly welcome and a cup of tea we were shown to our very lovely rooms (loved the four poster) and large bathroom. We ate in the restaurant both nights, there was enough on the menu to have a good choice both nights and loved the salted caramel ice cream it was to die for.
Thank you Clare and Ian for a wonderful couple of day's.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smudgebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare W, Owner at Coruisk House, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for this lovely review and we really enjoyed your visit. We hope you will all come and see us again one day. With our very best regards
Clare and Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    17
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
97
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staines
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I am a little tardy in submitting my review, but that does not reflect on my enthusiasm for this delightful restaurant with rooms, we stayed here on our first night on Skye and the welcome could not have been warmer, we were welcomed with a much needed cup of tea and a sit down in a lovely lounge, after a short stroll on the headland and a look at the cuillins we returned to be shown to our simple but lovely room, very, very comfortable bed.
Dinner was brilliant Ian served us squat lobster tails which we had never eaten, now I'm addicted after one taste, Clare makes her own bread and I hold her entirely responsible for the extra kilos I gained on the trip, it was irresistible, breakfast was very good, home made granola, fresh fruits, full Scottish, my only regret was that we could only book one night, take my advice, book early! And stay more than one night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelvineStaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Coruisk House, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Kelvine - thank you so much for this really lovely review and I am so glad you felt welcome here. It would be wonderful to have the opportunity to welcome you to Coruisk House again. With our very best wishes Clare and Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

It was a pleasure to stay at Coruisk House! We'll be back on a more leisurely schedule next time! The room was lovely, the bed SO comfy, the linen gorgeous, and little touches to make it warm and cosy. Clare's hospitality did extend to a few too many table covers the evening we stayed, so the service for our meal was slow. We didn't make it to the whiskey selection although I am sure it was there if we had asked. The food was indeed delicious!

The house is a few minutes drive down to Elgol harbour, so we were unfortunately rushed in the morning to meet the first boat trip which was our prime reason to visit that area of Skye. Make sure you have time to relax and enjoy what Iain and Claire are offering at Coruisk House.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMBGitw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Coruisk House, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and we do hope we will see you both again very soon. With our very best wishes Clare and Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The Coruisk House B&B is more of a restaurant with rooms than a traditional B&B. I would strongly recommend anyone staying there to eat at the restaurant - the food is superb based on local ingredients. I had the vension and my wife had the seafood.
Elgol is at the end of the road - literally. It is not often visited except for those taking the boat into Coruisk.
The food at the Coruisk is another good reason to drive here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare W, Owner at Coruisk House, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Ian Thank you so much for your review and the recommendation in particular for the restaurant. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your meal with us. You have set out exactly what we are trying to achieve in terms of being a restaurant with rooms rather than simply a B&B. We really hope you will visit us again in the not too distant future. With our very best regards Clare and Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The formula at Coruisk House works a charm! Everything from the décor to the atmosphere has a relaxed but tasteful simplicity about it.

The bedrooms have a rustic uncluttered charm but at the same time the best of bed linens and towels have been used. And the locally handmade Skye soaps add a scent-sational touch!

The food on both nights we dined was wonderful, striking a balance between excellent home cooking and a touch of the bistro! And always delicious! Ingredients are of the highest quality with plenty of fresh seafood options as one might anticipate in such a magnificent island location and each day there is also a different home baked bread to tantalise the taste buds. All in all a relaxed dining experience to look forward to after a day on the hills or out at sea in our case!

Clare is the most gracious and welcoming host and we look forward to returning when opportunity allows.

Thank you both for providing a most delightful base for our sojourn!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hills_of_heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare W, Owner at Coruisk House, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review (beautifully composed if I may say!) We so enjoyed meeting you both and we are so glad that you enjoyed dining and staying with us. I do hope we will see you again soon. With our very best wishes Clare and Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We have stayed at Coruisk House a number of times over the years, with the previous owners and were a little concerned when we heard it had changed hands - but these concerns were completely misplaced! While the new owners Ian and Clare have a completely different approach to the whole business, there was no less of a welcome than before!
Coruisk House itself is about a mile from the end of the road at Elgol Pier and is one of the first places you come to when you drive down to Elgol from Broadford on the Isle of Skye. It only has a couple of rooms so you need to book well in advance - but there are other B&B's around, if they are already full and the restaurant is well worth a visit on its own anyway!
The rooms are simply lovely, with the very best of bedlinens and towels, hairdryers, tea and coffee. The electric shower was great, although hot water from the tap was a bit slow first thing in the morning!
The whole place was that quiet, you could actually hear the quiet, if you know what I mean!
Dinner was just great! Not a huge menu selection, but more tan enoough and what was cooked, was second to none! The soup was delicious and my wife really enjoyed a bowl full of squat lobsters for starters. For a main course, se choose the venison which was coooked to perfection and just how she liked it, while I chose th fish pie, which was simply brilliant - hot, tasty and lotts of fish!
For dessert, well, Millie's White Chocolate Cheesecake and ice cream, was simply to die for!
With coffee to conclude, it was truly a very enjoyable and delicious dinner, served by Clare (Ian does the cooking) and we thoroughly enjoyed it all!
Breakfast was also just as you would have liked it!
There was cereal and fruit, yoghurt and porridge on offer to start with. You could basically have whatever you wanted cooked, as long as they had it - and they seemed to have a lot - and it all came piping hot, at just the right time. There was no sense of rushing you, just take your time and enjoy it all!
The previous owners had the whole restaurant, inside and out, completely festooned with 'stuff', from football mementoes to fishing nets and plastic lobsters! Now the place has a minimalist look almost to the extreme - and somewhere in between would be better! Something tasteful to adorn and break-up the bare walls might be nice and I am sure that in time these two very enterprising young people, will find whatever that might be!
The only thing I would mention, was that although our visit was in May, the air was cold (there were actually snow showers the following morning) and the house was really cold, both in the restaurant and the bedroom.
But we will go back again and would like to wish Clare and Ian every success in making a go of it, they are certainly off to a great start and long may that continue!

Room Tip: Book early as there are basically only two rooms! Coruisk House is indeed as it advertises itself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tankerman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare W, Owner at Coruisk House, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Alan

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we do hope you both come and stay with us again. The resident cuckoo is also just recovering from being covered in snow in May!! We note your comments with regard to the cold and we are going to ensure it doesn't happen again! We think you will notice a few more pictures on the wall when you visit us again. Coruisk House is a work in progress and we have lots of plans. The interior decoration will change and develop - and more pictures is on the agenda! With our very best wishes. Clare and Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I ate here and my two friends stayed here one beautiful evening at the end of March. What an amazing place! The first thing to say is what an exceptionally warm and friendly welcome from the owners Clare and Iain. The service was excellent and they looked after us so well! Thank you so much! I’ve not felt this relaxed in a restaurant for a long time. And then when it came to the food it was absolutely fabulous! For example, the roast butternut squash and rosemary soup was to die for and the salted caramel ice cream dessert was just sublime! I totally agree with the reviewer of 5th April (please read their review) and although I didn’t stay at Courisk House, I know my two friends who did thought it was fantastic! Like the reviewer of 5th April I also totally disagree with the reviewer of 2nd April. I can’t recommend Courisk House highly enough! The 2nd of April reviewer says “It's a pleasant area” – I think that is a bit of an understatement – on a good day the view from Elgol is arguably the best view in the British Isles! Oh, and by the way, I cycled to Elgol, so it is possible to do it without a car! :-)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidF444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare W, Owner at Coruisk House, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Hello David! Thank you for the review. It was lovely to meet you and we are really glad you enjoyed Coruisk House. We really hope you and your friends will be back in Elgol very soon. With our very best wishes Clare and Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgol
11.5 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
18.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,039 reviews
9.9 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Duisdale House Hotel
11.7 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#1 of 2 in Sleat
835 reviews
14.2 mi away
Raasay House
Raasay House
#1 of 3 in Isle of Raasay
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coruisk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coruisk House

Property: Coruisk House
Address: Elgol, Elgol IV49 9BL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Elgol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elgol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coruisk House is the Restaurant with Rooms in Elgol. It is situated in the tiny but stunning fishing village of Elgol, two miles from the harbour. Elgol harbour overlooks Loch Scavaig towards the most spectacular view on the Isle of Skye - towards the Cuillin Ridge. Boat trips are available from Elgol Harbour between March to October for visits to Loch Coruisk and the islands of Soay, Rum and Canna (Iain and Clare will book the boat trips for their guests). Outside of these months, and weather dependent, boat trips are available by prior arrangement but guests should enquire well in advance of their visit. The area is renowned for spectacular scenery and is beloved of photographers and artists. There are many amazingly scenic walks that can be made from the house or just a short drive away. There are two rooms for guests at Coruisk House, each with views over towards the Sleat peninsula. Each room has a king size bed (one is a four poster), en-suite shower room and tea and coffee making facilities. The rooms are tastefully furnished, the beds have soft pillows and duck down duvets and the towels are fluffy! There is a cosy residents lounge with wood-burning stove and comfortable sofas to enjoy afternoon tea or a dram from a selection of fine single malts available. There is a television in the lounge. The restaurant (also with an open fire) serves lunch and dinner by prior reservation (24 hours advance reservation) from March until October using local produce (with a focus on seafood and highland game, although catering to specific dietary requirements with prior notice). Fresh shellfish is available having been landed daily (weather permitting) by the fishermen who leave Elgol Harbour early every morning throughout the year. Iain prepares delicious food with close attention to detail and will cater to guests specific requests if at all possible. Clare makes fresh bread daily for guests to enjoy. Afternoon tea is also available for all residents of Coruisk House. Iain and Clare greet all their guests with a warm welcome and make sure that their stay is relaxing and enjoyable in a truly stunning location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coruisk House Hotel Elgol
Coruisk House Elgol, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing