We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We echo the comment from last week”
Review of Rowan Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elgol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rowan Cottage B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Elgol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wirksworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We echo the comment from last week”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Genuinely friendly welcome by Christine and Jim, nice comfortable and spacious room, and lovely evening meals and breakfasts (cooked separately for us two, as one of us is a veggie). Let them know in advance that you'd like evening meals: you won't find better value in Elgol, or nearby. Idyllic views over the sea and the distant peninsula of Skye.

Our only regret is that we only had time for two nights this time; but we can't wait to go back for our third visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
57
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Excellent base for this part of Skye. Christine and Jim are great people and make you very welcome. The food is very good. Its quiet, nice and remote, and the boat trips from Elgol are superb. Meals are around a large dining table so you get to talk to the other guests. The view across Loch Slapin when you walk from the cottage is superb. The view across to the Cullins approaching Elgol and again from the road to Glasnakille, when the cloud is not down, is spectacular.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Be prepared to drive in a single, winding and at times mountainous lane for about 45 mins from Broadford and you will arrive in Glasnakille for the most serene stay ever. My family spent 4 days in Skye and the warm hospitality from Christine and Jim are amongst one of the memorable things that we miss most from the paradise island. I dare say they are the best hosts I have ever met to date and we can never stop raving about the perfect breakfasts (Mum: It's the best that we had during our entire time in the UK. Truly.) thoughtfully prepared by them every morning, which sets our day right and usually lasts us till dinnertime :)

It is surprising (or maybe not!) that the cleanliness and amenities provided in the cosy rooms and bath are of 5* standards, given that it isn't even situated near town. Not to mention the amazing home-made shortbread (baked by none other than Jim) that were left in our rooms daily, like a warm welcome home for us.

Overall, it exceeded all expectations and we have not regret the long and adventurous venture into the Glasnakille area since. Having lived in a bustling city my entire life, Isle of Skye in Scotland is a beautiful place beyond words and Rowan Cottage remains one of the very reasons for us to return again.

Room Tip: The twin-room with ensuite on the first floor have a higher headroom and is recommended for taller a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wowww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The village of Elgol feels as though it is at the end of the earth and Rowan Cottage is even further. It's a couple of miles along a narrow winding road past the village but the location is glorious once you get there, especially in fine weather. Initially, we were a little dismayed at the room - quite small with very steep coombed ceilings. My husband kept banging us head on the ceiling but we spent more of our time in the guest lounge and dining room so that didn't really matter in the end. There are two rooms in the main house but Christine, very thoughtfully, does not let out the other bedroom when her guests are a couple as there is only one bathroom on that floor. Christine and Jim are a lovely couple and we enjoyed spending time with them. Breakfast was plentiful and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claremont77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Tombouctou, Mali
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights. Jim and Christine are lovely people. They cook really well.The food is awesome. They are very flexible. The accomodation is great. Very clean and comfy.The beds very comfortable. Great surroundings. Nice and quiet with highland cows and deer around. We will be
back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alastair F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

In a quiet corner of Skye within walking distance of Elgol and the fantastic Sun sets lies Rowan Cottage, where you are assured a warm welcome and hospitality to beat all, Christine and Jim, who is guaranteed to cheer you up even if you think no one can.

Lovely costal walks from the front door, and the whole of the Cullin should you wish to test yourself against the UK's best mountain environment.

You can if you so wish just sit and enjoy the cottage, having as well as a great breakfast, a home cooked evening meal.

If you need advice re transport round the island, if you have no car Jim is ready to find out all you need to know.

Oh and there might be a special surprise for your last morning, but I' ll leave you guessing and to find out for yourself.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have stayed in quiet a few b b around the country.I can honestly say this was one of our best stays ever it really made our trip. Christine and Jim were the perfect entertaining host, Christine cooking was magical, unfussy, excellent value. Looked at some other b b and they were charging far too high a price for evening meals and in my opinion taking advantage that you were not near places to eat. If you are thinking of staying in Skye definitely look this one up we recommend the self catering lovely cosy place to stay and you can take your dog too.

Room Tip: the self catering as you still can have the breakfast next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolly197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgol
30.2 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
10.4 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
9.3 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
28.0 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
9.2 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowan Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowan Cottage B&B

Property: Rowan Cottage B&B
Address: 9 Glasnakille, Elgol IV49 9BQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Elgol
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elgol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowan Cottage welcomes the intrepid traveller and provides modest, comfortable and quiet accommodation in the small crofting community of Glasnakille, two miles from Elgol. Perfectly placed for the Skye Trail and visits to Spar Cave, Prince Charlie's cave, and the remains of ancient forts and tombs. The cottage provides, twin, double and kingsized bedroom accommodation with private shower room and WC. There is a cosy guest lounge with TV and plenty of books. Enjoy a hearty Scottish breakfast looking over Loch Slapin and the mountains and islands beyond. Yummy baking, suppers and packed lunches are available for our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rowan Cottage Hotel Isle Of Skye
Rowan Cottage Bed And Breakfast
Rowan Cottage B&B Elgol, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing