We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Rowan Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elgol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rowan Cottage B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Elgol B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed at the Rowan Cottage for the first time this month and it was excellent, made to feel right at home by Christine and Jim. Its just a pity I joined weightwatchers a couple of weeks before and could not sample the full Scottish Breakfast but I had to watch a nice italian couple tuck into theirs and rave about it!

I went to Skye on a photography weekend and the Rowan is superbly located for Elgol, my main reason for the visit.

If I go back I would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Rowan Cottage B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 110 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

very nice small bed & breakfast 2 miles further from Elgol. One can only book via email or phone, there is no instant booking. Christine & David were very welcoming, although we arrived quite late (in Skye terms). Great view on Loch Slapin from the window of your room!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smorgoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

It wasn't my first stay at Rowan Cottage. Arriving and stay in Rowan Cottage was like coming home for Christmas. Christine and Jim give a very warm Welcome. In the morning you start with a beautiful view over Loch Slapin and when its misty you can at least watch the birds.
Jim make the best Porridge I ever had, it is so creamy. Also the homemade bread is phantastic.

Rowan Cottage is at the nearly end of road. A perfect place to get lost and calm down. Just enjoy the view over Loch Slapin sitting in the garden or on a cold and wet day in the cosy lounge and have a chat with your friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten_KH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Christine and Jim made us feel very welcome, provided lovely breakfasts and evening meals, and did everything necessary to make our stay a real treat. The room was very comfortable and the location was quiet and peaceful, just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsJH_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Christine and Jim are the perfect hosts : they cook very well, the house is very nice, they always give good advice about walks in the isle of Skye. We really appreciated to chatter with us after dinner. Rowan cottage is the best place for discovering the Cuillins Hills.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Jim and Christine were wonderful hosts, and cook a great breakfast in the morning. The room was comfortable, and the location was peaceful. The cottage is a bit off the beaten path, but the views are worth every moment! This is also a great location to do some hiking from.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milwaukeechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I have travelled a lot in my life and I could say that the Rowan cottage is the best place I have ever seen: superb position, very quiet, clean and comfortable.
Christine and Jim are simply amazing and they are wonderful chefs as well!
They are very accommodating and seem to want to make your trip the best it can be. The breakfast and the dinner were amazing!!! The food is so fresh and was by far the best breakfast we had on our 1 week holiday.
This part of Skye is stunning, the lovely nature surrounding is everywhere and Elgol (the little village near the Rowan Cottage) is simply beautiful!
We miss them… even Socks, their wonderful dog!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FabMagoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgol
10.4 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
8.8 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
10.3 mi away
Duisdale House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#1 of 2 in Sleat
857 reviews
10.8 mi away
Sligachan Hotel
Sligachan Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sligachan
488 reviews
9.8 mi away
Off the Hill B&B
Off the Hill B&B
#1 of 4 in Sleat
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowan Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowan Cottage B&B

Address: 9 Glasnakille, Elgol IV49 9BQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Elgol
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elgol
Price Range: $49 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowan Cottage welcomes the intrepid traveller and provides modest, comfortable and quiet accommodation in the small crofting community of Glasnakille, two miles from Elgol. Perfectly placed for the Skye Trail and visits to Spar Cave, Prince Charlie's cave, and the remains of ancient forts and tombs. The cottage provides, twin, double and kingsized bedroom accommodation with private shower room and WC. There is a cosy guest lounge with TV and plenty of books. Enjoy a hearty Scottish breakfast looking over Loch Slapin and the mountains and islands beyond. Yummy baking, suppers and packed lunches are available for our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rowan Cottage Bed And Breakfast
Rowan Cottage Hotel Isle Of Skye
Rowan Cottage B&B Elgol, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing