We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous retreat in the Lot Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Domaine de Labarthe
Ranked #1 of 2 Espere B&B and Inns
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fabulous retreat in the Lot Valley”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We spent a few magical days at the Domaine de Labarthe, a stately country-home set in a park dotted with ancient trees and statues, and featuring a large swimming pool. The place, located about eight miles from Cahors in the Lot Valley, was elegant yet unfussy, and extremely comfortable. Our bedroom was large and high-ceilinged with two tall windows facing the park, and a well-appointed bathroom. I appreciated the small welcoming touches, such as the beautiful flower arrangement on the dresser, or the lovely soaps in the bathroom. In addition to our bedroom, we had access to a large living room dominated by a massive stone fireplace, and facing the park. My husband and I spent several hours there working on our computers or reading, feeling as if the house were our own. Our hosts, Laurence and Guillaume, were gracious and attentive, without ever being invasive. Every morning, they prepared a delicious surprise for breakfast: a homemade cake, fresh fruit or compote, or croissants just hot from the oven. They would offer useful suggestions for interesting activities (there is no dearth of ancient castles, prehistoric caves or beautiful countryside in the environs), and were always willing to reserve a table at a restaurant, or call ahead to arrange a visit to the nearest vineyard or truffiere. Thanks to Laurence and Guillaume’s generous hospitality, we felt at home at the Domaine of Labarthe, and wished we could have extended our stay. An outstanding experience. A place to come back to.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elisabethbenfey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
33
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Our family spent 5 fabulous days at Labarthe last June. It was the perfect place for a family vacation. While we relaxed by the pool and took in the surroundings, our children swam and ran around the expansive grounds, which include a walnut tree grove. The owners are warm, generous and helpful - providing information on what to see/do in nearby villages & recommending local delicacies. Our rooms were spacious and elegantly decorated - we felt quite at home.
It was our first time at Labarthe but not our last. We have already booked rooms for this July. It is truly an incredible place to stay!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcwashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Stayed here for three nights as two couples plus a baby, and we wished we'd booked for longer. The whole property is beautiful, wonderful for strolling around among the fruit trees or relaxing by (and in) the pool. The house is beautifully furnished and well-set up for the guests' privacy, and the hospitality is warm and friendly, nothing is a problem. Beautiful dinners provided on request, and and we loved the outdoor kitchen for doing our own cooking.

I hope we can return!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicnz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We had seen the photos and were utterly thrilled when we arrived. Really easy to get to and in such a beautiful setting.

We had kids and there was plenty of space for them to run around and enjoy - yet this would be equally as good for a romantic getaway!

Lovely little touches like an umbrella found on our doorstep one rainy morning. Fresh flowers throughout. All foods locally grown and of highest quality. We dined a great deal better here than in any restaurant during our stay!

This is a magical place that clearly chooses not to market itself too widely - and for good reason - I suspect it is easily filled by recommendation!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiManda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Espere
1.3 mi away
Chateau de Mercues
Chateau de Mercues
#1 of 1 in Mercues
318 reviews
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Divona Cahors
5.6 mi away
Hotel La Chartreuse
Hotel La Chartreuse
#4 of 13 in Cahors
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Le Clos Grand
Le Clos Grand
#1 of 1 in Pradines
124 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq
Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq
#1 of 2 in Tour-de-Faure
961 reviews
5.1 mi away
Brit Hotel Cahors - Le France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Labarthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Labarthe

Property: Domaine de Labarthe
Address: 1 rue des Granges | Cahors, 46090 Espere, Cahors, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Lot > Cahors > Espere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Espere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 10 minutes from the medieval town of CAHORS, 50 minutes from BRIVE airport, 45 minutes from SAINT CIRQ LAPOPIE, it is here, in the heart of the region known as QUERCY that DOMAINE DE LABARTHE has been welcoming guests for almost twenty five years.At the entrance to the village of Espere, this 18th century country seat, surrounded by Walnut trees, remains a family home. Over the years it has been restored in keeping with tradition and with loving respect to its ancient stone character. Thus today it is a residence of quality in a privileged setting.There are 5 bedrooms:3 on the ground floor with a southerly exposition and looking out on the main gardens and the swimming pool. They are very comfortable and the decoration has been carefully chosen, in season a bouquet of roses will be there to welcome you.In summer, a delicious breakfast is served on the terrace overlooking hundred-year-old olive tsree. There is also a summer kitchen and a barbecue at your disposal in the garden and you can choose to relax in the shade or take a dip in the saltwater swimming pool. The region around DOMAINE DE LABARTHE is a lively centre of activities based around its rivers, - LOT - CELE, pre-historic caves - PECH MERLE - PADIRAC , villages and history. It has much to offer food lovers, from local delicacies such as the rare black truffle to the renowned "MALBEC black wines" of CAHORS. A number of restaurants for all occasions are within easy reach of DOMAINE DE LABARTHE . Guest meals are also available on certain evenings by booking in advanced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Domaine de Labarthe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing