We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely situation - very relaxing”
Review of Domaine de Bassibe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Domaine de Bassibe
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Segos
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We spent one night here and would have loved to stay longer. Monsieur and Madame are very welcoming and care about their clientele.
The rooms whilst attractive and comfortable, are fairly basic for a Relais Chateau hotel as are the bathrooms, but we enjoyed having a room in the Maison des Champs with immediate access from the garden so we could go straight to the pool and back without having to change.
Dinner, served outside was tasty with evidence of local delicacies and the service excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJ28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 44 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2011

We decided to stay en route to Amarante in Northern Portugal, Segos being half distance.

As we arrived, we were met by a flooded driveway and broken trees – and no electricity. Having observed the electrical storm as we travelled towards Segos, we were stunned at the havoc it had created. The worst storm in over 20 years!
Despite these problems, it has to be said that all the staff were rallying round to sort out the chaos and our visit was not in any way interrupted, electricity being quickly restored.
Our room, in the separate accommodation block, was of a good size but slightly old fashioned as indeed is much of the hotel. One might think that the time has come for refurbishment?

The grounds were delightful, despite the damage that the storm had caused. We did not have the time to test the swimming pool but it looked to be in a very tranquil setting, especially on decent sunny day.

Dining that evening in the hotel restaurant was enjoyable, the food and service being of a good standard. The only downside was that there were only a few other guests (the hotel is quite remote) is such a large dining room (converted barn) that there was zero atmosphere. With more guests, the atmosphere would be totally transformed.
Overall, a convenient stopover and adequate rather than exceptional stahdards – particularly when compared with many other Relais & Chateaux hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PROLLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

This is a delightful, welcoming hotel. We were greeted by the owner and a friendly porter took our luggage to our room before bringing up complimentary tea and homemade biscuits. We had booked a suite for ourselves and two children (aged 9 and 11) and this was in a peaceful house in the hotel grounds - the rooms were charming with views over nearby fields. The hotel has a pleasant outdoor swimming pool and pretty gardens. We enjoyed an aperitif under the trees (where we were joined by the hotel cat) before eating in the attractive and atmospheritc dining room. The food was very hearty and enjoyable – although not absolutely outstanding. This hotel is, I think, one of the cheaper Relais et Chateaux hotels and perhaps not fully characteristic of the group. It has an informal, family atmosphere – although it is still a very professionally run establishment - and the rooms, although elegant, were not opulent or luxurious. This is in no way a criticism – I thoroughly enjoyed our stopover here and very much wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CambridgeSarahBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2008

The Bassibe is a very pleasant and relaxing place set in a very quiet countryside location. Indeed I was surprised to come across a couple of wild boars passing through the grounds (as soon as they saw me, they shot off, so no danger).
My room was comfortable without being especially refined. The style is a sort of colonial.
The dining areas are more elegantly decorated. My evening meal was good, excellent quality, but quite a lot. Similarly the breakfast.
Friendly and helpful service, including from the owners themselves.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berdafina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

We stayed 3 nights at this lovely hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The weather being wonderful greatly helped, being able to take advantage of staying by the pool or an aperitif on the terasse.
The service was good, the owners always present. The hotel's rural location makes it a good place to relax.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ettemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2008

A wonderful place to unwind in this peaceful and remote corner of France, which, with some changes, could be perfect

Creeper-clad restored farm buildings surround a gravelled courtyard. An elderly labrador pads peacably by. On one side of the courtyard is a double row of plane trees under which you take dinner by candlight - a magical experience. If it rains dinner is served in a prettily converted barn.

A few steps away is a pool, one side shaded by magnificent oak trees, the other looking on to fields and woodlands. Waiters stop by regularly to make sure you have everything you need. Service everywhere in the Domaine is well-nigh faultless.

Rooms are in a separate building, approached through pleasant gardens. Our room was quiet, reasonably sized, comfortable and very well-cared for. The only negative was the bathroom, let down by cheap fittings that didn't match the high aspirations of the rest of the operation.

Food - breakfast, lunch, dinner - is universally magnificent, rich and savoury, with pure clear flavours that sing out. There is a good wine list concentrating on local wines - and a fine range of old Armagnacs. But (and it's quite a big but) the food is quite heavy: lots of cream, butter, goose-fat and so on. Delicious, but also slightly relentless. The evening menu is fixed price with limited choice (46 euros for 3 courses, although it's quite easy to spend more as lots of courses come with supplements attached) - and stays the same for the whole season. This is a problem: stay more than few nights and you are likely to find yourself eating the same dish again.

If I owned the Domaine de Bassibe (well, I can dream) here's what I would change:
:Upgrade the bathrooms
:Vary the menu more and offer some lighter choices
:Find a way to insulate the noise from the pool machinery

But everything else can stay just as it is.

This hotel is part of the upscale Relais et Chateaux group, so expect to pay accordingly. Our stay, including all meals, wine etc worked out at about 350 euros a night for the two of us.

Basic French is useful as not all staff have much English.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CL40180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomainedeBassibe, Propriétaire at Domaine de Bassibe, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Segos
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Minvielle
24.9 mi away
La Bastide
La Bastide
#1 of 13 in Barbotan-les-Thermes
484 reviews
22.4 mi away
La Villa Toscane
La Villa Toscane
#1 of 2 in Marciac
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Chateau Bellevue
Chateau Bellevue
#1 of 1 in Cazaubon
106 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Bassibe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Bassibe

Address: Chemin de Bassibe, 32400 Segos, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gers > Segos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Segos
Price Range: $165 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine de Bassibe 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Domaine de Bassibe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De Bassibe Segos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing