We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect place to relax and unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coral Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ko He
Reviewed April 3, 2010

My husband and I spent a month travelling around Thailand, we decided that we would like to spend a night on a quiet Island to relax before our journey home, after visiting Koh Phi Phi we wanted an Island that wouldn`t take as long to reach, so we opted for Coral Island, and chartered a speed boat to take us there. The journey took about 15 mis and cost £40.00 return for both of us, which we thought was really good value.We arrived early after a welcome drink we were taken to our beach front bungalow, yes if you looK closely you`ll notice they are a bit tired, but why look closely inside the room when the Island is so beautiful, the room was basic but bright and clean, the bathroom was fine and the shower was hot, it had a mini bar offering tea, coffee, soft drinks, and alcoholic drinks, all with reasonable rates, each room has two deckchairs which you can take onto the beach and there is also a little table and chairs just outside, at 16:00 you are served to your room a pot of coffee and some local desserts, a lovely touch. The beach is simply stunning, we snorkelled for hours and saw a huge array of fish, the sea is crystal clear. My husband had a thai massage while looking out over the beach, and at about £8.00 good value. We had lunch which was lovely and for the two of us cost about £15.00 including a few drinks, we opted for the buffet for dinner, it was ok considering it only cost about £5.00 per person, although lunch off the main menu was much tastier, but you don`t have to opt for the buffet. Its difficult to complain when the setting is so perfect, and the cocktails are fab! The breakfast again was buffet and not of the highest quality, but the service was great. The staff were all friendly and we were really pleased that there was quick internet connection. There is also a swimming pool set back from the beach front. This is a place to relax in beautiful surroundings, after a manic time spent travelling around it was just what we wanted, its a perfect place to read, snorkel and unwind, although I don`t think its ideal for young teenagers as there may not be enough to entertain them, and maybe a week would be long enough of pure relaxation.
This its certainly a really romantic place to visit, perfect for couples and people on honeymoon.
Although we only stayed one night we stayed until late in the day before returning to Phuket as we had an early flight the following morning, if we had stayed earlier in our trip we would have extended our stay by a few nights.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sggj4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Coral Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 310 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2010

We've stayed 3 nights in Coral Island Resort, in a beachfront bungalow during a 3 weeks stay in Thailand.

To give some perspective to my review and to be fair to the resort, our trip was made of 2 weeks in the north (mostly in cheap guesthouses) and a last week in the south to enjoy the beach and relax. As my wife really wanted to enjoy a beachfront bungalow and as our budget wasn't very extensible, we picked Coral Island Resort from the good reviews on TripAdvisor. We paid 2500 bht per night using a last minute website.

In a nutshell, we felt like hostages of the resort on behalf on the location and the beach. Everything seem to be made to take money from you, they won't care about anything as you're hostage of their resort. Going to Phuket is expensive, and you quickly understand why they don't have interest to bring you there.

I was SO happy to leave.

The good
- Easy snorkeling : you have fishes at your feet and you don't even have to know how to swim to enjoy snorkeling. Ideal spot for beginners, but shouldn't last given the traffic and the pollution on the island.
- Frontbeach : you really are frontbeach, hear the waves from the bungalow, can check the ocean at any hour.
- Maid service : everyday room cleaning and new towels (including beach towels).
- Rooms : big rooms, large bed (could be better).

The bad
- Pool : you just have to look at the showers to understand it hasn't been maintained for ages. It can also be easily overcrowded (especially at low tide).
- Salted water (shower, pool, actually everywhere...) : I understand why they can't deliver unsalted water, but it should be very clearly announced. I can't imagine a longer stay in these conditions, and feel sorry for people staying for weeks. You know understand why they change your bed everyday...you're full of salt and it would probably be very uncomfortable to sleep twice in it.
- Boats full of tourists everyday : every morning you'll see and loudly hear dozens of speedboats full of tourists spending the day on the island. The resort is used as basecamp for them, where they'll have lunch.
- Aircon : not efficient at all, even sometimes not better than a standard fan... I planned to work as my wife was enjoying the see, I could hardly do as it was too hot.
- Internet : very low speed internet, don't count on it if you need to do some business or prepare your next stay in Thailand. My very own cellular connection was way faster.
- Dining area : we had this guy using a keyboard with pre-programmed rythms at every meal. A total nightmare, ruining the moment. He just shouldn't be allowed to sing nor play music in public.
- Forget the beach on low tide (only in late afternoon) : starting at 4pm, the low tide will make the beach unusable for swimming or snorkeling. Not bad just a warning.

The ugly
- Food : OMFG ! I still can't figure out how you can decently serve and have people pay for this food. AND YOU HAVE NO ALTERNATIVE. Every meal time, we were in pain to have such disguting food at a VERY HIGH PRICE (a total scam imho). We ate in the street, in good restaurants, in poor ones, but this can't be described as terrible as it is. My wife ended sick (for the first time of our trip). We even ended up not showing up for lunch... Food is often cold (they don't seem to care as they could easily make this better). You better get early to eat, as *good* things (like spring rolls...the worst we've eaten in our life) will be taken by assault. I even couldn't enjoy bacon at breakfast once, 9am was too late to show up this day. It's a shame to the country standards and food tradition.
- Clean ? The resort is oldish and dirty, and as people throw garbages all around and nobody cleans them, it just continues and is worst everyday. I felt part of a gigantic nature aggression, and we couldn't prevent from gathering plastic bottles and other garbages from the beach, and not just for our personal convenience...
- Smell : you'll regularly have a strong sewer smell at different places of the resort.
- Minibar : overpriced, 50 bht (excluding service and taxes) for a coke...and once again, it's the only place where you can get one.

A last warning if you plan on not having a beachfront bungalow : you'll have the back of other bungalows right in front of your terrace, and hear the loud (and inefficient) aircon fan all the time. Forget about your terrace.

Globally, we had no major issue during our stay, but i was shocked most of the time by the general ambiance, making it worst than a serious issue. I'm sad for people staying here 2 weeks at the mercy of these guys...they seem happy with what they have, but many won't see anything else than the resort and the airport. I'm not giving lessons on what "real thailand" is or isn't, this is a just a scam to make money out of families looking for dream holidays. Postcard is ok, reality isn't.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank c0mmm0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

fully recommend to all...i guess not many people know about this hidden place,not many agents will tell you about it but believe me its a gem in the sea...a "must vist & stay island" if ur going to thailand!!staff is great the silence is very relaxing...rooms are very clean n well maintained..i forgot my bag at the resort and went to phuket...its was delivered to me at my doorstep in my hotel in phuket!!with just one call!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dashtt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

This was an excelent trip, it was afordable and the staff was increadible. The accomidations were not the most luxurious, but if you like places that are off the beaten path, then you will love the Coral Island Resort!

Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Krista L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

I stayed at Coral Island Resort with my family (wife and two boys aged 5 and 7) last month. Pick-up service in Kata and speed boat transfer w/o problems. Short walk from the beach to the resort, your feet get a little wet but don't worry about bags etc. We rented a beach front bungalow only 2 meters from the white beach. Nice and clean room, but A/C a little hard to adjust to right level. Minibar with decent prices. No TV. WiFi free, but only works in lobby area and very slow. Clean beach with lots of shells, pieces of coral etc to collect. Good snorkling (clown fish, hard/soft coral, morays etc). Pool clean and nice, but few pool chairs. Restaurant with nice beach view and good prices esp considering that no other real restaurant is available on the island. Small excursions available, like a fishing trip (800 Bath/boat) that we did with good result. Diving is also available and ok esp for those who just got their O/W license or if you want to get your certificate, since diving here requires little skill. Good if you want to tune up before you do dive day trips or a liveaboard, but don't expect visibility more than 10-15 m.

All in all a beautiful island and a nice/friendly resort that we recommend to anyone who wants to get away from the busy life in Phuket and get 3-4 days of total relaxation. A longer stay is not recommended because you run out of things to do, unless you are happy with just the beach, a book and a beer...

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 9, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 7, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko He
4.5 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
12.6 mi away
Tri Trang Beach Resort
Tri Trang Beach Resort
#88 of 328 in Patong
402 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
The Racha
The Racha
#1 of 4 in Ko Racha Yai
1,141 reviews
3.4 mi away
Baan Mai Cottages
Baan Mai Cottages
#35 of 43 in Rawai
86 reviews
9.4 mi away
Rayaburi Resort (Racha Island)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Island Resort

Address: Coral Island, Phuket, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Ko He
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ko He
Price Range: $41 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Island Resort situated 9 km. off the south east coast of Phuket, the island is surrounded by colorful reefs, hence the name Coral Island. Only 15 min. by speedboat from Phuket there is total seclusion in this lovely resort. We have shuttle boat every day from Chalong Pier to Resort and from Resort to Chalong Pier according schedule 3 times per day. For resort customer, accommodation rates include boat transfer on arrival and departure date. There are a total 64 rooms. The rooms are available with four types:- Superior rooms- Deluxe rooms- Beachfront Deluxe rooms- Family roomsAll rooms have air conditioning system, digital safe box, mini bar, coffee table and chairs, hot and cold water, bathroom amenities. Beachfront rooms offers absolutely sea view. Service and Facilities:- Outdoor swimming pool with kid pool- Satellite televisions at lobby- Free Internet access service available in lobby area. - Laundry service- Thai traditional massage and SPA- Shuttle boat service (based on hotels schedule)- Speedboat service- Transfer service- Currency exchange- Tour desk- Russian guest service representative (based on hotels schedule)Dining:- Breakfast is served daily from 07.00 am to 10.00 am- Beach bar- Restaurant serving international food, Italian food, Thai food and fresh seafoodIt is great for family, honeymooner, bird watcher and nature lover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Coral Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Island Hotel Rawai
Coral Island Resort Ko He, Thailand - Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing