We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more above expectations paying such price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ban Raya Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Moscow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Much more above expectations paying such price”
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Rooms. The hotel positions itself as an eco-place and this is realy case in point. Very basic furnishing, but you anyway wouldn't spend a lot of time in your room, believe me. Room was clean. We had AC in our room that works from 8pm to 8am (superior room) but for higher grade rooms AC would work 24h. No AC in standard room. In the evening we discovered two small lizards in our room, but it is eco place, you need to be ready for that.
Swimming pool. THE BEST swiming pool I ever seen. Only swiming pool worth to go there :) Wouldn't describe it, you need to see it on your own.
Staff and our expirience. We had an acident there - during snorkelling wave through us to the sharp rock. My girlfriend seriously damaged her leg. First of all staff arranged and payed for all local medical service (there is only one doctor at Racha hotel there). Then owner of the hotel sent his boat to pick us and some employees up. Then they arranged taxi at Phuket and medical service at local hospital. And I didn't payed anything, hotel has insurance for all guests (not sure that it is common practice). So if you have acident (hope it wouldn't happen) at Ban Raya hotel you could be sure that staff will help you and do all their best.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mishasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    44
    21
    15
    10
See reviews for
20
52
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Hello.

I'm writing a review of this hotel for the 2nd time and there were some diferences between February 2009 and February 2010. My stay was in a deluxe room:

- MINUS

1) The breakfast is a small buffet (not menu) with low variety food
2) There is no media center on the rooms, anymore.
3) The SPA is a lot bigger, and so are the prices (800-1200 Bath) - Which I think it's very expensive relating to Bangkok or Phuket Prices
4) The restaurant had a Huge regression! It is not acceptable to wait for mode that 1 hour to be served - Sometinhg has to change
5) There was no "chef's choice" has before, which makes the dinners more expensive and promotes a slowers restaurant service. Has stated before there are other options in the island.

+PLUS
6) There is wireless internet for free on every room, at a better speed than before
7) It is peaceful and quiet as allways

Overall, I liked a lot the resort, although the restaurant issues has to be resolved - It is not acceptable the service presented during my stay

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Quinzico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We stayed during the Lunar New Year season and feel Ban Raya surpass the 5 star Racha for a number of reasons. The way the resort is landscaped and the huge expense of greenery gives the place a peaceful feel. It is truly serene, nice, quiet and wonderful to be sitting under the trees, near the pool, on the swing at sunrise point and more. It has a natural feel to it and although it was hot it is really windy.

The tractor transfer is not a big deal and it is quite good actually. Practical and fast. We stayed in a superior room and everything is clean and room service is available daily. Water, clean sheets and towels given promptly. The breakfast buffet is rather pathetic and we don't particularly look forward to it. This is the only resort in which we cannot find reason to give compliments regards the restaurant. To put it bluntly, the service and food sucks! We sat down one night for dinner and nobody even notice us for an entire 10 minutes. In fact the next table was looking at us curiously, wondering. So we left. It is not very crowded but there are 5 staff having an animated discussion on a bill that seem to go on forever.

Affordable food options can be found a 10-15 minutes away at Raya Father which in our opinion serves the best food on the island. The service is cordial and nice and the price is the best. Do bring a torch light if you are staying out late.

We had a massage at the Spa that is very popular but we canceled our second appointment because in my personal opinion, it is not up to my expectations, it is too light for me. Maybe good for someone who does no fitness.

Snorkeling is very good at the resort bay and reef. The best on the island although the corals are nothing to rave about. Plentiful fishes with at least some interesting hard corals. We went to Siam Bay where although it is not crowded, there is nothing to see. Then onto Pantok Bay where the Racha is and it is really busy with day trippers running all over. That is a major put off regards seeking peace on a vacation. Both Siam Bay & Pantok Bay charges 200B for loungers on the beach. Very commercialized. We were attacked by tiny jelly fish at both the 2 bays and that is a real put off. Puzzled how some people can managed to snorkel in those waters that day. We tried asking but nobody organizes snorkeling trips to the surrounding waters, considering they are very close to Raya Noi and Coral Island. The snorkeling trips are just around the island and that is it!

If you want to leave at your own time, you can go down to the Raya Minimart store at the Racha, the guy there can get you a longtail at the lowest price. Or you can get reception to help you get a group with similar intention. Prices varies but a speedboat is definitely more comfortable and faster.

All in all, a good comfortable stay although i won't say i will return again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank twofeathersSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2010

It is with mixed feelings that I write a good review for this place because I don't want anybody else to find out about this gem.

We stayed here during Christmas 2009 and it was the perfect getaway, away from the crowds in Phuket. Yes, the accommodations are simple but they were extremely clean and perfect considering we were rarely in the room. Before coming to this hotel, we stayed at a 5 star hotel up in Koh Lak, which was lovely but I must say that I actually preferred Ban Raya to the 5 star resort. This place is just magical and extremely relaxing.


They keep the estate extremely clean and well kept and the staff was always helpful and ready to accommodate our needs. You can either hang around the hotel at the private beach or the pool or you can take a short walk to three other wonderful beaches, only 5 minutes away. Our favorite beach was Siam beach. Although we were not staying at the hotel with kids, the staff was very friendly with all of the families staying there and it was a easy place to let kids run around.

When you arrive you take a tractor to the hotel. For some people this may not be so luxurious but we thought it was rather fun:) The only suggestion I might make is that if you are pregnant, you might want to take a longtail boat instead of the speedboat service to the island. The speedboat service was not so great and they ride was extremely bumpy. We took a longtail boat on our way back to Phuket and were much happier:)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windpane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Arrived Racha Yai Island after a 40 minute speedboat trip from Chalong Pier. We were met & transfered to the hotel about 5 minutes. We were checked in over a cool drink and escorted to our rooms. We had 2 adjoining Deluxe Aircon - 24 hour electricity. delightful bungalows with garden views. The grounds of the resort are large and spacious with a limited number of bungalows. The rooms were adequately furnished with TVs and cable The beds were large & comfortable. Bathrooms - shower toilet and washbasin were large & adequate. The location is stunning with its own small pebble beach with access to fabulous snorkelling or scuba dives. The resort has a wonderful pool its own dive shop, its own stable with Horses for beach and island trail rides. The Restaurants and bars seve a reasonable variety of Thai and International foods.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Racha Yai
12.0 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
38.5 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
13.3 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Racha
The Racha
#1 of 4 in Ko Racha Yai
1,132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rayaburi Resort (Racha Island)
0.4 mi away
Bungalow Raya Resort
Bungalow Raya Resort
#2 of 4 in Ko Racha Yai
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban Raya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Raya Resort & Spa

Property: Ban Raya Resort & Spa
Address: 7/26 Moo 3, Tumbol Rassada | Muang District, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Ko Racha Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ban Raya Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ban Raya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban Raya Hotel Rawai
Ban Raya Resort And Spa
Ban Raya Resort & Spa Ko Racha Yai, Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing