We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING PARADISE AWAY FROM HOME”
Review of The Racha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Racha
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Certificate of Excellence
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING PARADISE AWAY FROM HOME”
Reviewed December 16, 2010

It was our first time staying at THE RACHA. We have tried many high end resorts in Phuket and I would dare to say that The Racha is the most magnificent till date.
Service was impeccable and the rooms were simply marvelous. I was especially impressed with the check in as most of the ones i encountered in Thailand were pretty slow but this time round, everything was a breeze which was a good start to our stay. Nice beaches and delicious food and of course the breafast line offered so many varieties that we had to skip our lunch. My wife and I also had a wonderful massage that was done professionally and the warmth of the resort's staff were exceptionally wonderful. Language was never a barrier and our guess was that they were pretty well trained. Wonderful place to spend a holiday and we will defintely be back next year. KUDOS to the staff and management of THE RACHA!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkRoyale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    207
    59
    35
    13
See reviews for
168
625
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

This was our third visit to the racha. We love this place for the hotel architecture with the nice villas, the gorgeous beaches with snorkeling and fishes and the tranquil setting on this remote island. When arriving with boat in the bay, it is just magical. The place has the wow factor. BUT: the hotel lives from the wow factor with wow prices but quality declined over the years.
It starts with the reservation. E-Mails are not responded. Only when something was wrong with my credit card, they immediately did answer to tell me, that my reservation is not garanteed anymore. When we checked in at the pier, the lemongrass flavour you can choose for your bath amenities run out and we waited for the boat transfer one hour even there were not other guests for the boat.
The pool towels were so worn out , there were holes in it (keep the room prices in mind!). We visited the new club del mar which looks very nice on the website pictures. In reality, it has a small pool with the same worn out towels, loud music. The place lacks the certain vibe as f.ex. has twinpalms on phuket. The spa treatment was disappointing again (as at the last years). No improvement here again. Food is ok, but not a great experience in all of there restaurants. Breakfast buffet is strongly orientated to their asian guests, but ok also for western people.
As for the staff, we felt comfortable and give them a good rating for their kindness. The construction site up the hill didn't bother us, no noise at all. But if you have a deluxe villa on the back side close to the second pool, you might hear the noise. So ask for a villa close to the beach. We had this time a grand deluxe villa, Nr. 210. The view was good, close to the beach but a bit elevated with more privacy than those very close to the beach. The fist time we had the grand pool suite which is a real treat (but now very expensive), last time we booked the new junior pool suite which is nice but not worth the money comparing to the grand deluxe villa.
Right now, I would not go again to the racha until they have improved. It is a pitty because the hotel architecture and the island beaches and scenery are wonderful. My advice is to go to the island on a day trip (and visit all of island beaches!).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luxuryvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
Dear "Membertrip":

We are sincerely sorry and apologize for not having met your expectations during your recent return stay with us. Such lapses in service standards are not acceptable to us.

We have taken note of all the points you mentioned and have taken steps to address these with the respective department heads concerned.

Thank you for your valued feedback. We will do our utmost to improve. Please do not hesitate to contact me at gm@theracha.com if there is anything I may assist you with. I sincerely hope to welcome you back to The Racha again and assure you of my team's dedication to serving our guests to the best of our abilities.


Kind Regards,
Gerard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

Complete waste of money. The boat ride can make anyone sick. Thorough waste of a holiday.

Horrible staff, they are polite, but dumb and useless. Pool was dirty too.

On email, they promise you something, when you reach there you realise how stupid the place is. We finally shifted to another resort after spending 1200 US Dollars on ONE NIGHT!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NKM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, December 3, 2010
Dear NKM11:

We are very sorry to hear of your disappointing stay with us in July of this year and sincerely apologize for not having met your expectations.

Training of our staff is a top priority for us and we will ensure our staff strive to do their best in always serving our valued guests with the Gold Service Standards in mind.

Thank you for your valued feedback. It is our aim and hope to continually improve our service standards. Please do not hesitate to contact me at gm@theracha.com if I may be of any assistance.


Kind Regards,
Gerard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

It's so lovely to get out of Patong's busy life to go to this relaxing and beautiful island. It has everything! Snorkeling, diving, great food, great cocktails, great service! It is so attentive to details, like how would you like your pillow to be and they have 5 options of pillows that you can chose from to have a good night sleep. The rain shower outdoors, the infinity pool on the amazing view, the colorful and magnificent sunset. It is definitely the perfect getaway from our busy lifes where you go to Pamper yourself on the beach and in the Anumba Spa.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachaMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

The Racha was an exceptional hotel/resort. I always do a lot of research before choosing and decided to come here over all other hotels in phuket (OK I did stay at one other on the phuket island). the service was great - not intrusive but aklways friendly.

things I loved - the design, the service (always friendly, never intrusive/hovering), the bar & its amazing view, the bay (the photos on the website are not photoshopped!), the mood lighting at night, the outdoor shower, the spa was exceptional, not being trapped by resort snack prices (there are stalls selling snacks, gelato and drinks near the beach) and lastly but very importantly the genuine value for money

the only downers - whilst still very acceptable the dinner could be better, day trippers on the beach, it ranied too much while I was there!

Overall I loved it and would definately recommend to others

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We just got back from an amazing honeymoon here, we spent four days at the Racha after a week in Phuket, and we only wish we had stayed at the Racha longer. The 35 minute speedboat to the island 'almost' put me off initially, but it was smooth sailing all the way, and the checkin was all done at the Racha lounge in Chalong Pier before you even board the boat. Free wifi, tea, and drinks means the wait is a pleasant one. The littlest things make the world of difference, at checkin my wife was asked which fragrance she wanted the room to smell of, and on arrival we were greeted with cold hand towels, and welcome drinks.

We stayed in a deluxe villa, and the room was fabulous. The courtesy iPod was a nice touch, and we loved the outdoor Rain shower. Super bathroom, large room, and balcony.. The beach was the best we've seen in Phuket, white powdery sand, and pristine turquoise blue water.. Really something off a postcard...

The annual staff party was on while we were there, which meant the weekly seafood BBQ was canceled, but the staff more than made up for this by inviting all guests to the party which was very entertaining. We read a few reviews on here before the trip, so we tried Pad Thai restaurant down the road which was very good, the restaurant on the beach off the resort was also nice, great Pineapple rice, and better value cocktails...

Cocktails at the Lobby bar are perfect for sunset, try the Lemongrass Martini, and the beach really feels isolated as few day trippers turn up in the day.. Our only gripe was the 'free canapes' every evening were rationed like it was WWII, one per person each night (and even then only with the first drink ordered) seemed stingy, the event certainly does not merit being listed in the daily itinerary left in the room..

We tried the ATV (quad bike) sunset tour which was great as it was just myself,wife and the guide buzzing across the Island.. whereas the next day eight people went on the tour, so its worth keeping an eye on the chalk board in the dive hut to see how many people are going if you want a one on one tour...

If you like snorkeling, it is great on the beach at the Racha, snorkeling gear is free, and the snorkeling is even better on the other side of the Island at Lae Lae Beach. Ask the hotel dive hut for a map, we went off on our own based on their directions, (its only a ten minute walk across the island), but if you prefer to be driven around, plenty of guests opted for the snorkeling tour, although you have to pay for this... you basically get a lift on a bus from beach to beach...

If you choose to walk, cover up on the walk over, we were bothered by biting (horse flies?) on the way there, so a towel goes along way at keeping them at bay. Also large Komodo like lizards roam the Island, so keep your eyes peeled! as they apparently bite, although they seemed more scared of us when we did encounter them and scurried away...

The Restaurants on the resort we did try are superb, we ate at the sunset beach side restaurant, and the one beside the infinity pool. Breakfast is excellent with all sorts of delicacies like sushi, pastries, fruit, and an exceptional number of fruit juices..

We also decided to splurge on our last night and enjoyed a romantic candle lit meal for two on the star deck (the roof of the library), this was great, although a little windy that evening.. Its also possible to have a romantic dinner on the beach at special request, a few people did while we there... so there really is something for everyone...

All in all, a great holiday, and we are definitely coming back soon!

Note: Its alsoworth noting, we had two days of picture perfect beach, and a cleanup by the Racha staff is made this even better each morning, (guests can also volunteer)...

but after a strong storm on the second night of our stay, the beach was pretty much littered with rubbish, the daily cleanup did little to improve the situation, and everything from plastic bags, to driftwood,shards of glass and rotting fish graced the sands much to the delight of the local lizards who feasted on the fish.

This really ruined the vista and the swimming, so i really think our impression could have been vastly different had we arrived two days later. As luck would have it we did see it how it should be, but its a shame there's so much litter that gets washed in after storms...If you are planning a visit, perhaps its worth keeping an eye on the weather, although thats easier said than done as most people book well in advance...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rashdashio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We have been to The Racha a few times. Similar to most couples in previous reviews, we enjoyed the picture perfect surroundings of the resort, the comfort of the large rooms, the outdoor shower, the plasma/LCD TV, the Bose systems, the ipod music, the aromatic scents in the room, and of course, the 3 swimming pools with piped in underwater music. But beyond these "luxuries" that attracted us to visit the resort a second time, it really is the people and service that make this resort a magical place and that makes us return for a third and fourth time. The ease of checking in, the sincere assurance of boatman, the refreshing cold towels upon arrival, the occasional treats of cold fruits at the swimming pool, and the attentiveness of the staff in the resort, are what makes our every visit a truely relaxing one. Kudos to the management.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joycengpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Racha Yai
38.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
26.4 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
905 reviews
13.8 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.4 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
26.6 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#3 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,874 reviews
20.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 327 in Patong
5,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Racha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Racha

Property: The Racha
Address: 42/12-13 Moo 5 Rawai, Muang, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Ko Racha Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Racha 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 12 miles south of Phuket on Racha Yai island, The Racha is Thailand's premier deluxe island hideaway. Set on a pristine white-powdery beach and surrounded by the dazzling turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea, this five star resort features 70 stylish villas offering the ultimate in luxurious comfort, from private pool villas with underwater music, to a very unique 5-storey Lighthouse Pool Villa with an observation deck offering panoramic views around the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Racha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Racha Hotel Ko Racha Yai
Racha Hotel Yai Island
Racha Yai Island
Racha Phuket
The Racha Ko Racha Yai, Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing