We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When management make the difference” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Racha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Racha
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“When management make the difference”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

This island hotel enjoys a privileged location on one of the best beaches I've ever seen, the water is so clear you can see every particle of sand clearly. This is for me is the most significant attribute though the 5* hotel provides accommodations that live to the expectation and an MD (Mr. Devan) that gives it that personal touch you will remember.
We stayed in a double room suite villa with a pool, thinking that as with a friend couple we would both enjoy a great room and share the private pool and living area however our surprise was that there was a main room with pool access, views and all the perks and then there was a back room which was half the size and unimpressive. Putting this behind us very quickly we did enjoy the villa and other hotel installations, namely its larger pool and good food at its restaurants. Breakfast was just OK but a little disappointing in its offering for this type of hotel.
The beach is truly amazing with the whitest and finest sand I've seen in Thailand or possibly elsewhere and the water is pristine but this attracts a daily horde of island hoppers brought in by very loud boat operators that give the place a quite unattractive view for the hours (10-15) they invade it.
And the one feature I found a bit inconvenient is the limited choice of hotel transfers to Phuket pier specially considering one has to pay for them. I remember it was 3 in/out transfers a day which can leave you waiting at the pier accommodation on arrival or at the airport on departure for quite some time. In our case it was the former only as with the return, the MD sorted a solution out that worked just fine.
In summary, I do recommend this hotel for a few days stay specially if you are one to appreciate a beach and sea like nowhere before.
I went diving one day and the visibility was out of this world.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gullivertravels75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Gullivertravels75:

We would like to thank you for having chosen the Racha in your recent stay and for your valuable comments. I would like to offer our sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed. Through each comment we receive, both positive and negative, we are able to seek knowledge and growth to better serve our guests.

Hopefully we will be seeing you here again soon for more memorable holidays and with improvements made with your invaluable feedback.

Kind regards,

Devan Bhaskaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    200
    56
    34
    13
See reviews for
150
602
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We booked this hotel for honeymoon. Honestly this is a nice hotel. However we felt unsatisfied before I checked in. The receptor at the ferry office was so arrogant which gave us a bad impression. The service in the hotel was good. People there was hospitable.

Room Tip: Pay attention to the ferry time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LITeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear LITeng:

I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay here at The Racha.

Thank you for highlighting some of shortcomings; please do accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused. Through each comment we receive, both positive and negative, we are able to seek knowledge and growth to better serve our guests.

Hopefully we will be seeing you here again soon for more memorable holidays and with improvements made with your invaluable feedback.

Kind regards,

Devan Bhaskaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKG
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We just came back from The Racha, having gone there without reading tripadvisor first. So we went there having just looked at their website and thought "well that looks good!". And in all honesty it was great.

But you have to have been to a lot of other "beachside" Thailand resorts as a comparison to say its good.
The pros:
- getting to choose a room fragrance during check in at Chalongbay Pier
- having aircon + drinks + snacks at Chalongbay whilst waiting
- the beautiful rooms with the pool villas. Room 102 has an amazing view! Makes you never want to leave
- the manager and the staff are friendly and were all very helpful. E.g. where we felt there was sth missing or lacking they tried to make sure it was corrected or available asap. Some are slower than others and needed reminding of our orders. We couldn't decide if it was a language problem or disorganization.
- the gorgeous sea and the soft carpet of sand. We knew that it was going to open to public during the day as are most Thai beaches. So to experience the secluded beach it had to be either before 10am or after 15:30pm (when all the other tourists left). But we can understand why the tourists come. The water is just so clear and beautiful! Fishes were abundant! Perfect even for amateur snorkelers or non-swimmers (even shallow waters had LOADS of fish).
Apart from the sea there are 3 other pools for use which were all beautiful & clean.
- the food: poolside menu was so-so, the FireGrill was good (at a cost, but I would consider it standard price where I come from), the Sunset Bar with Thai food was decent Thai food. Of course if being stuck in the hotel was not your thing you could walk to other nearby places to eat really authentic-local thai food. But not as clean tho. So we didn't go on advice from our friend.

The cons
- jellyfish in the sea: probably better to put a little note reminding guests that the sea has jellyfish. I guess its obvious for people who dive regularly. But since I don't I was rather surprised. But it didn't leave a rash for long, so I just ignored mine. I assume some people would like to know in advance.
- the mozzies: I dont know if this is really a 'con' since mosquitos are in all 'secluded' resorts, but remember to bring a repellent! even though the hotel has a little bottle for use in all rooms
- the sunbrellas that are run by other locals: some of the beach tanning beds/ umbrellas are run by local thais who charge for its use. The Racha also has some on the beach that can be used for free by guests. But its not very clearly marked, probably better to have the sunbrellas more clearly marked.
- the flies at breakfast: some flies on the fruits at breakfast, good idea to get a cover for the fruits

All in all we had a wonderful stay and would definitely come back again to explore the other secluded beaches!

Room Tip: Room 102 (grand pool suite). Absolutely breathtaking view. No words can describe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnowflakesHkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear SnowflakesHkg:

I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay here at The Racha. The beauty of the island is unsurpassable and I am glad you have experienced the Thai hospitality.

Thank you for highlighting some of shortcomings; please do accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused. Through each comment we receive, both positive and negative, we are able to seek knowledge and growth to better serve our guests.

Hopefully we will be seeing you here again soon for more memorable holidays and with improvements made with your invaluable feedback.

Kind regards,

Devan Bhaskaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duesseldorf
Level Contributor
138 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

First of all: we knew before we arrived that the resort is located in front of a small public beach where day tourists hang around. What we didn't expect was that the complete bay is a parking ramp for more than 30 speedboots a day. Exceeding 600 tourists arrived and departured during the whole day. The noise was unpleasant but the sickeningly smell of exhaust gases was in the air the whole day on the beach and made it unpossible to relax and feel good. The air polution in Bangkok wasn't this bad. The resort itself is really nice. The reception was already done in Phuket Chalong before we went on the speedboot. The staff is kind and qualified. We had a Pool Deluxe Villa which was located directly at the beach. It was lovely in the morning before 10 AM and at sunset after 5PM. The resort is well maintained. The lawn is perfect and the surroundings are clean. The small island itself has several beaches which are lovely and quiet but rubbish-strewn. We had a SPA treatment which was very professional. The SPA is a beautiful place, but I cannot understand why they are using treatment rooms directly behind the street while others more far away are available. The street noise of motorbikes, cars and tractors was terrible. So much traffic on this small island.. but the transport of arriving and leaving tourists and staff and so on causes a steady noise annoyance. The 90 min treatment was technically fine but not relaxing.
Avoid a room nearby the small street it could be noisy. Only some rooms are facing the sea most of them are hidden on the island without seaview. We had 4 nice days but considering the upper price range I would not recommend the resort to friends who look for a quiet hideaway.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilsebein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear ilsebein:

We would like to thank you for having chosen the Racha in your recent stay and for your valuable comments. I would like to offer our sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed. The resort front beach is open to public, as are all beaches in Thailand, however we do have 3 other beaches around the island which are more secluded. Hopefully we will be seeing you here again soon for more memorable holidays and with improvements made with your invaluable feedback.

Kind regards,

Devan Bhaskaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have just spent 4 days in the resort with my partner at the end of October 2013. I could not believe my eyes... stunning beach, beautiful resort. The villas are impeccable, modern, classy, spacious... and my private pool??? OMG! just loved every single minute of my stay.
The team working there are so great, very pleasant, interested to make you feel comfortable.
Unforgettable experience...super relaxing!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gustavo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Check in at the Racha Lounge, whilst awaiting the ferry transfer. Liked the way each guest was asked to choose a fragrance for their bath accessorie.45 minute transfer by speed boat. Fairly bumpy at this time of the year. (sit nearest the middle to avoid the worst bumps.)

Wonderful arrival at the wobbly jetty - with quaint trailers to take the guests five minute ride to the hotel. Like the informal atmosphere and feeling that one is truly away from the mainland and the hustle and bustle of cars and traffic. The journey takes one through the island with small houses and a few fields and water buffalo cooling in the swamp.

Arrive and check in at the reception area with views to the most beautiful beach and glorious blue sea. Happy staff in smart khaki uniform with warm welcome. Bags taken to room and attentive staff accompany guests to rooms and show them how these work including your very own i-pod. Well run with efficient staff. Immaculate gardens and all the rooms have a clean, shiny feel - fresh décor in wood / white walls - tasteful and would be to all people's liking.

Activities: Plenty to do on the island - scuba diving, snorkelling, hiking - wonderful hike to top with fabulous views - beautiful beach (not private and so is shared with day trippers and islanders have sunbeds and umbrellas for hire - can be busy in the middle of the day, but by 3.30 pm reverts to being Racha guests.) Biking or quad biking around the island. Tennis and library.

Special Mention: The Lighthouse is perfect for up to 6 guests - set apart and further up the hill - good for a family (perhaps with nanny) or friends. Underwater music! .

Best features: Fantastic beach, great staff, well laid out, good for all clients - families, couples. Very happy to recommend our clients for The Racha.
Cons: Beach not private, but that is normal for Thailand beaches - so could be very busy during the high season from 11 am till 3.30 pm.. Large property with 80 rooms.

Room Tip: 2 bed pool suite... good for couple and child/children. Great view and well laid out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aggie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Me and my wife spent 4 days and 3 nights in this wonderful paradise during the 1st week of November 2013. We were so happy with the sight of turquoise colour sea water and was amazingly picture perfect. I should thank the Mr. Devan (General Manager) and his team like Tony for taking care of all our needs with immediate attention. Each and every people in the resort were so courteous and polite through out our stay. ATV, Snorkelling and Food was a wonderful experience in a relaxing atmosphere. From next time onwards, we are going to stay for not less than 1 week for sure. In fact we have decided to go there atleast once a year without fail. Best wishes to all.

Room Tip: With such a wonderful beach in front of you, who would want to use the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siva63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Racha Yai
37.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
25.9 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
25.9 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.1 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,738 reviews
19.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,036 reviews
29.8 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 94 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Racha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Racha

Property: The Racha
Address: 42/12-13 Moo 5 Rawai, Muang, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Ko Racha Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Racha 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 12 miles south of Phuket on Racha Yai island, The Racha is Thailand's premier deluxe island hideaway. Set on a pristine white-powdery beach and surrounded by the dazzling turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea, this five star resort features 70 stylish villas offering the ultimate in luxurious comfort, from private pool villas with underwater music, to a very unique 5-storey Lighthouse Pool Villa with an observation deck offering panoramic views around the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Racha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Racha Hotel Ko Racha Yai
Racha Hotel Yai Island
Racha Yai Island
Racha Phuket
The Racha Ko Racha Yai, Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing