We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Stay”
Review of The Racha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Racha
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We're so lucky that have been arranged on the first row of the villas which is just on the beach. So we can just lay on bed overlookin the beach and Andaman sea. The sea is colorfuly depends on the whether. It became the beautiful crystal green when in big sunny day. But the waves are very strong which could become little bit dangerours when going too far. It's for our wedding anniversary so they have taken the heart-style bed decoration which is so sweat. And for the meal inside the hotel, I recommend the Sunset Restaraunt, the BBQ are in very fair rate and in big size. The breakfast have more choices and since most of the guests coming from China, so much more Chinese style meals provded.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    202
    58
    34
    13
See reviews for
156
608
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I spent 2 nights in the racha resort, and I spent 3 days that I can never forget.
The resort architecture is amazing, people are very friendly, site seeing is awesome, the place is very clean, beautiful and relaxing but it is expensive as well.

Room Tip: - I recommend NOT to book the honeymooners package because you will not get any benefit from the act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mohelsheikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Racha is a very nice hotel and I had a very good holiday with my family during the 2 days in Racha. The beach is one of the best beach I have ever been with white sand and blue water. And the view outside the hotel is very beautiful too. The only regret is earlier October is still rain season and not suitable for swimming and have only a few chances to do snokeling.

Room Tip: If possible, I will try the room with pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyYan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have never contributed to a review but the experience I had with my wife on our last vacation to The Racha was astounding and I have decided to reward the staff and management with this review.
We were at The Racha for our wedding anniversary in September on recommendation by a friend our ours. The service we experienced did not disappoint the moment we were met at the welcome lounge at Chalong. Big smiles everywhere and they tended to our needs with fresh towels and refreshments and snacks while we await to board our boat to paradise island.
Upon arrival at the island, the check in was smooth and to our surprise we were upgraded compliments of the GM. He even came to our villa and checked if all was good. Never experienced such personal touch by the hotel management before.
The villas were well maintained and the service staff were always around when we needed their attention unlike some other hotels. We just enjoyed the personal touch that was showered upon us by both the staff and the GM.
Its really a great place to chill and just let your mind wonder with the serenity. Don't worry about the food as its also well prepared. Buffet breakfast consists of a vast variety of food.
We are actually looking forward to be back in January to celebrate my wife's birthday.
The only regret was that we only stayed for 3 nights and would have continued on if not for our job commitments.

Kudos to the GM Gerard Tan and to his well managed staff and we are sure you guys will continue to maintain the high standards of service that was showered upon us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tham82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 6 nights with the racha, the staffs are very friendly and the service was good. We got a big room, bright and clean. The only thing is the wifi in the hotel is not good because the signal comes from Phuket, you can't get the wifi connection and get emails in on the island. But who need to work during the holiday on such a beautiful island? The food in the restaurants are terrific. We definitely will come back again!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kexin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Just returned from 2 nights here and I could have enjoyed at least another 3 nights. The island is really beautiful and the beaches are just as good as what I have seen in the Seychelles. Yes the main beach is a local beach and can get overcrowded, however there are other beaches you can escape to or 3 swimming pools in the resort, plus the locals are not there all day! The hotel itself is really lovely and rooms are of top quality.

The food is ok and there is a good variety of choice on offer to cater for all types, I personally enjoyed the BBQ. however if you do want more local food there are approx. 3 local restaurants nearby.

There are lots of activities on offer here so if your quite active, its perfect!

I would definitely recommend staying here. Also in remarks to the day trippers and locals on the beach, you get that pretty much everywhere in Thailand so not any fault of Racha's.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaicie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear kaicie25,

Thank you for your kind words and feedback! We are extremely pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay at The Racha. We truly appreciate your wonderful comments about our property and service and will share these great words of encouragement with our team.

It has been our joy and privilege to serve you and we look forward to being of service to you again when you next return to The Racha.

Kind regards,

Gerard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel property is very beautiful with a modern-Mediterranean look. Everything bleach-white. The Deluxe villa was very comfortable and well appointed.

Food was pretty good for a resort, especially considering that they have to bring everything in by small boat from the mainland since this is such a small island. The special Thai buffet/Bar-B-Q on Saturday nigh had really excellent Thai food and cute thai dance performances.

Staff seemed a little undertrained and less than happy compared to the other 5-stars we stayed at in Thailand. This is possibly because they have to live on the island in a separate staff barracks near the hotel...so I am sure this makes it hard to attract the top staff. Not bad, just not the quality of some other top resorts.

Our BIGGEST PROBLEM was not within the hotels control and has been mentioned here a lot. It's the day trip boats full of mostly Chinese tourists who literally take over the island between 11:00AM and 3:00PM everyday...the snorkel spots are full of big boats with a bunch of people who can't swim floating around in orange life jackets. The beach in front of the hotel is covered with umbrellas set up by the local muslim families to serve the orange lifejacket crowds with their boogie boards and cameras. If you can just look past this (take a siesta or a leisurely lunch at this time) then the bay in front of the hotel was simply awesome...powder white sand, turquoise water...and in September when we were there some fun waves to play in...not really clean enough for surfing...but good boogie boarding and body surfing. The sunsets are quiet and beautiful. But the beach is small, so you will be sharing it.

The Racha has a floating dock that was set up to receive the transport boat and also all of their delivery boats...when we were there it was on the opposite side of the island, but I hear and see from the pictures that in high season it is in the bay right in front of the hotel. This would have been a real eye-sore in this beautiful bay. As it was in September and there were waves in the bay, there were no boats in our view...making it much more serene and picturesque.

Two standout staff members were Bandid - the assistant manager...he was very good in helping us arrange some complicated travel to the island and giving us nice personal attention, and Tony the food service manager was a great conversationalist and very helpful. He is from the Philippines so speaks perfect english with a great warm and welcoming personality. Most of the other guests were Chinese which I understand is typical for this time of year at the resorts near Puket.

The staff at the dive center was very nice as well...Dove two simple dives with them off a small boat around the island.

Room Tip: The standard "Deluxe Villa" was more than enough. We had room 314 which had a nice view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alec L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Alec L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

It is certainly wonderful to know that you were pleased with our beautiful location, food, facilities, and that you were well taken care of by our staff. However, it is indeed disappointing that your general experience with us was affected by the issues concerning the public beach in front of our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this caused you. Unfortunately, there is not much we can do to prevent day tourists from visiting such a lovely island as all beaches in Thailand are by law public.

Again, thank you for your honest review. It has been our pleasure to serve you. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Gerard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Racha Yai
38.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
26.4 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
26.4 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
20.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,355 reviews
39.0 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Racha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Racha

Property: The Racha
Address: 42/12-13 Moo 5 Rawai, Muang, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Ko Racha Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Racha 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 12 miles south of Phuket on Racha Yai island, The Racha is Thailand's premier deluxe island hideaway. Set on a pristine white-powdery beach and surrounded by the dazzling turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea, this five star resort features 70 stylish villas offering the ultimate in luxurious comfort, from private pool villas with underwater music, to a very unique 5-storey Lighthouse Pool Villa with an observation deck offering panoramic views around the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Racha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Racha Hotel Ko Racha Yai
Racha Hotel Yai Island
Racha Yai Island
Racha Phuket
The Racha Ko Racha Yai, Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing