We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel - Tony makes the hotel run”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Racha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Racha
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful Hotel - Tony makes the hotel run”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Beautiful place in an idealic setting for sure. To get to the stuff people will want to read - 2 main issues:

1) Service - very few of the staff speak passable English. Tony was the glue holding the resort together - and he was truely amazing and somehow seems to be able to build a personal connection with many of the guests. Without him - the service side of the hotel would collapse.

2) Chinese day tours - from 11am - 2:30/3ish - the beach is flooded with random tour groups of chinese. It kind of defeats the purpose of driving for an hour and taking a 45 minute speedboat since you will still get flooded with tourists on your quiet island holiday. Worse in my view is it also means a bunch of old beaten-up old umbrellas and beach chairs are constantly piled up on the beach - which cheapens the entire feel of the beach. If it was my resort - I'd try to consider something to combat these guys bringing tours over.. or at least flood the beach with high-end chairs/umbrellas and let people use them for free (ie cut down the tour group's margins?). At least that way you can preserve the beauty of the beach a bit? Not a fun issue to have for the hotel - feel sorry for them on this issue as I'm not sure it will be possible for them to correct.

Everything else at the hotel was just lovely - and my girlfriend and I really enjoyed our time there. The room was beautiful (stayed at the Grand Pool Suite) and we would just retreat to our room while the chinese attacked the beach. They also organized a great birthday dinner for me (again - thanks to Tony) where they went above and beyond by organizing it on the roof so we could have some privacy, brought the band up to play for us, and even released a sky lantern for my birthday wish - a very beauiful experience.

Perhaps I should say this again just to be clear - Tony is the man over there - and completely saved the experience for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMUS_Style
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear SMUS_Style,

It is a great pleasure for my team and me to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for sharing your genuine and thorough feedback. We appreciate your kind words about Tony who performs his duty as a good Food & Beverage Manager. With his well performance, he will definitely support his department and team in providing the best possible service to our guests and to strive for even higher goals.

Regarding your comment about the day trippers, bay and beach in front of the resort are public areas and are used by other boats and tourists from 10am – 3pm. Unfortunately, in Thailand, all beaches are by law public so there is really not much we can do to prevent them from visiting the island. Rest assured we try our best to provide privacy and the highest level of comfort to our guests. We have several exclusive areas within our property for our guests to relax such as our 2 infinity pools and another pool in the back garden. Moreover, there are other secluded bays on the island for our guests to enjoy and our staff at the Sports Centre are happy to assist with maps and directions.

It has been our joy to serve you and we look forward to your next visit to The Racha.

Kind regards,

Gerard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    200
    58
    34
    13
See reviews for
155
605
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent three nights staying in The Racha. Excellent staying that I will definitely recommend to everyone. Love somebody?Then just take her to there. You will have all your romantic dreams come true. All the staff are very helpful and thoughtful, they do care your feeling. We try the Spa on the first day and really satisfied.P.s we had experienced even every spa in any resort we stayed, but here is one of the best.
Just one tiny little disappoint is we booked the spa on the second day again, but the lady didn't do as good as the first day. Wish they should always keep the same service.
Anyway, we love staying there and we come again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Huang20130909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Huang20130909,

We were delighted to hear you had an “excellent” stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and we have noted your comment regarding the spa.

It has been our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to seeing you at The Racha soon.

Kind regards,

Gerard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went to The Racha hotel in Thailand last May for our honeymoon. Though it is expensive yet it is worth every penny. We stayed at a junior pool suite. Very clean and modern villa. Great indoor pool. Great view, great service. Staff extremely friendly. Could not ask for more.
The only drawback was the transfer from Chalong bay to Racha since it was a small boat and it was very uncomfortable

Room Tip: The junior pool suite is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Roger K,

It is a great pleasure for my team and me to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Thank you for sharing your genuine feedback. We appreciate your kind words about our property, service and staff and we have noted your comment regarding the boat transfer from Chalong to Racha.

It has been our joy to serve you and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Gerard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Value place with high-quality beach and clean ocean - 45min speed boat from Phuket Island. The resort is in a bay with private beach and well designed villas, nice place to relax, particularly at night when you walk along the beach or sleep on hammock.

A lot choices for entertainment. Snorkeling is quite nice in the bay. They even provide tennis rackets and balls for free.

Price is fair and quite attractive in rainy season which didn't actually rain when we were their. Better value for money than those fancy resorts in Bali like Bulgari / Klapa as the beach is at least as good.

The only thing i'm not feeling well is the food, maybe just because I typically don't like Thai food as a whole, therefore no much choice there...

Room Tip: Room 102 is the best one with sunset view at seafront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Mike B,

Thank you for your kind words and feedback. It is certainly wonderful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. It was my pleasure to share your positive experience with our entire team.

It has been our privilege to serve you and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Gerard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed for our honeymoon in the Augest and we all think we will come back to The Racha again , the great views amazing food and kind people in Racha let me feel impressive. we lost our wallet during our stay, but the staff of Racha help me a lot and finally we found the guy who stolen my wallet!!!

Room Tip: the bath rooms seams to simple ,not so much e
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azraelyld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear azraelyld,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us. It is great to know that you had an amazing stay with us and were pleased with our service and hospitality. Taking good care of our guests is our top priority and making our guests happy is our absolute joy.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Racha again soon.

Kind regards,

Gerard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed for our honeymoon in the middle of August 2013 and it was absolutely amazing. We did nothing the whole time except take advantage of the hotels many restaurants and swim in our private pool. We also took advantage of the beautiful day spa.

My only two complaints is that the bed was very hard! I think for the price you pay that the mattresses need to be a lot softer and comfortable. Also, the villa we stayed in (213) had very bad drainage in the shower in the bathroom so much so that you had to turn the shower off for 5 minutes to allow all the dirty water to drain away entirely.

All that aside though, we will most definitely be back due to the beautiful resort itself and the spectacular beaches. Particular thanks to Gerard and Tony for being so accommodating and going above and beyond!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marieclairevuko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear marieclairevuko,

Thank you so much for the review of your visit here at The Racha. We are thrilled that you have described us as a “beautiful resort”. We always aim to exceed expectations and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We have made a note of your comment regarding the bed and the drainage and will make every effort to improve.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back with warm hospitality for your next visit.

Kind regards,

Gerard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a top class place. I wouldn't call it a hotel, its more like a luxurious resort. The staff are calm, sweet and typically Thai - i.e. friendly and humble. The furnishings are decadently neutral, miminal and classy. Extremely spacious with each accomodation private. I've absolutely loved staying here and cannot wait to go back. The staff remember who you are and its a classy place without all the hype or snootiness sometimes prevalent at resorts of this level. They've got a great restaurant where they fire up the coals for the bbq and there are other lovely restaurants on the island to enjoy dining too. There was a live band who were playing requests all night long - and very entertaining. Great location, the beach is absolutely fantastic (just the perfect temperature!), I often relaxed in the various hammocks with the best views! Its a perfect island with lots of variety - tennis, quad biking in the forest mountains, cycling, dining out, there are bars who keep flicking to the music taste dependant on where you are from, lovely massages, fantastic snorkelling around the island! Supermarkets for essentials, washing gets done, loads of places to rent, we went fishing for the day and caught a tuna fish - wow exciting! Plus went on a longboat to go snorkelling in a lovely area. Great to be out in the ocean - the water is so refreshing and its simply a wonderful place to relax, unwind and dream...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twinkletoes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear twinkletoes13,

Thank you very much for leaving us an amazing review.

Taking good care of our guests is our top priority and making our guests happy is our absolute joy. We greatly appreciate your very kind comments and will share these words of encouragement with our staff.

It has been our privilege to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Racha again soon.

Kind regards,

Gerard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Racha Yai
38.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
26.4 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
846 reviews
26.4 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,771 reviews
20.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
5,154 reviews
30.3 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 95 in Thalang District
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Racha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Racha

Property: The Racha
Address: 42/12-13 Moo 5 Rawai, Muang, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Ko Racha Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Racha 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 12 miles south of Phuket on Racha Yai island, The Racha is Thailand's premier deluxe island hideaway. Set on a pristine white-powdery beach and surrounded by the dazzling turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea, this five star resort features 70 stylish villas offering the ultimate in luxurious comfort, from private pool villas with underwater music, to a very unique 5-storey Lighthouse Pool Villa with an observation deck offering panoramic views around the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Racha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Racha Hotel Ko Racha Yai
Racha Hotel Yai Island
Racha Yai Island
Racha Phuket
The Racha Ko Racha Yai, Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing