We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll Be Back For Sure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Racha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Racha
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Singapore
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“We'll Be Back For Sure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2008

We were supposed to have been in a Superior Villa but were upgraded to the Lighhouse due to overbooking albeit we shared the Lighthouse with another family. They took the ground floor while we took the next 3 floors (YES its that BIG).

The view is simply great and the ambience truly truly resort with gentle breezes and the sound of the surf (not roaring though). The cicadas did give us some discomfort but for some reason they have a time of the day to make their calls and they all switch off almost in unison. Not a probelm at all given the gorgeous airconditioning in our room.

The bathroom was spectacular. His and hers sinks, his and hers showers in the same stall! And the topper - the jet spa in the bathroom. Took our collective breaths away (among other things).

The food at the various restaurants were good especially the Thai food (forgot the name of the restaurant) and we could order from the outlet next door (owned by the locals) and pay 2 prices! What a surprise and what an endorsement of the owners to share their prosperity with the locals. Nice touch.

The water was an azure blue and from a high elevation it was aquamarine. Clear and smooth. Great for snorkelling albeit I did not scuba dive. However the ATV tours were simply great fun but do be careful if you are a first timer. Just don't over throttle and don't panic!

There is a spa which is simply gorgeos and gave us both a sense of great relaxation.

Our only regret? We should have stayed longer. The weather was simply great while we were there but I get the sense that even if it poured cats and dogs I would have loved it too simply because of its great ambience and serenity.

Highly recommended for couples. Kids who are late teens would definitely love it too if their parents paid for their trip. Haha.

  • Liked — Comfort and privacy; Pools have no cholrine. They use expensive ozone.
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CiviCSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    200
    58
    34
    13
See reviews for
155
605
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zug
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2008

5 years ago we were spoiled with a great stay at a hotel in Phuket called "Pawaburi" which sadly doesn't seem to exist any more. In a way it was a bit difficult to find something better than what seemed perfect. Eventually we ended up dividing our stays among the Racha, Le Meridian (Khao Lak) and JW Marriott. While the other two were also superb, I have to say the Racha is my favorite. It is perhaps the cloeset you can get to match the beatuy of the Similan Islands while not sacrifying the comforts of modern accommadation. My spririts are uplifted immediately as the amazing color of the sea and the fine white beaches come into view. The hotel and its surroundings are so beatiful, serene and and the "whiteness" has such an amazing cleansing effect, that I find it really hard to remember the daily hectics I am used to ! I liked the Garden pool best as it is quiet and very picturesque from all angels ! The Room deco, somewhat minimalism in style is actually perfect for such hot country as I start to appreciate. Little touches like the curvy table legs and flower arrnagement make the room truly elegant. Snorneling is great around all sides of the islands and the beach is perfect for swimming. Diving was also great and the services from the resort diving center better than any we experienced. Also the special Thai Buffet was the best comparing to what the other two five start hotels offered. Truly manificant hotel for relaxation and enjoyment.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Arther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2008

Stayed in the Racha in februari 2007 on a trip where we stayed in a few other SLH resorts.
Have to say that the Racha was the place with the least character. Yes it is a lovely place, rooms are great and pool at the front is beautiful. Beach is great but a shame that all the daytrippers stay at the racha beach which sort of ruins the experience. Food was okay, breakfast buffet was great but lunch and dinner could and should have been better.
But our biggest problem with the Racha was that it is, just as the pictures show, a bit too clinical for us. If you like that style you will love it, but we prefer places that have more character like zeavola or oberoi hotels.
Overall it is a good resort, don't get me wrong, but just not the kind we like.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gijsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2008

Stayed at the Racha in for our honeymoon for 4 nights before travelling to Chaing Rai and then Bangkok, but wished we'd spent the whole time at this piece of heaven...

After a flight delay and traffic through Phuket, our driver called ahead to ask the boat to wait for us at the peir that takes you to the island. This was done without question and we were swiftly whisked through our check-in at the mainland office and taken directly to the waiting speed boat for transfer to the island.

A glorious hour-long trip on a well-maintained modern speed boat brought us to small island haven. Though it looked a little dodgy from the outset, once taken by open-air coach to across the island we came across the beautiful Racha resort... The view of the ocean was uninterupted emerald green.

The service was outstanding, the villas immaculate and very private. We chose a villa with private plunge pool (which was actually quite big) which also had an outdoor shower which you could prance around naked if you wanted without risk of being watched but other guests.

After being taken to our villa by motorised buggy (though only a short walk) we were greeted with rose petals on the bed and in the large spa bath and a beautiful CD (which you can take with you when you leave) playing (I consequently listened to this CD during the labour of our first baby last year!!!). The airconditioning was on so the room was a delight after the heat of the day.

The food in both restaurants was superb and breakfast amazing. My husband spent some time at the gym which he said was good (the view was the best part as it overlooks the beach) and the spa treatments were heaven.

We snorkelled at a different beach everyday and each day the underwater life got better.

I cannot rate the Racha highly enough for a relaxing holiday. Will definately return

  • Liked — beautiful views, fantastic villa, great food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank birdySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2008

Stayed at The Racha for 8 nights in a superior villa no 312. They really are wonderful, very minimalistic with ambient lighting and pristine clean. The bed is very firm but dead comfy, there are 2 showers, one in and one out in a mini private garden (brilliant to use when you return from the beach). Minibar is a little expensive so we took a litre of whisky and just used the mixers. We also brought our favourite cd's to play and sat out on the setee at the front which was well screened.
The beach is very busy with boat trips from 11 to 4 so everyday we walked to Siam Bay about 10 mins away. It is a stunning beach with only a handful of people on it, swimming is good and there are a couple of places that do good thai food and beer chang (green curry at the 2 storey beach hut is the best).
The staff at The Racha are so lovely, big smiles and very attentive. It winds me up when other reviews complain about their lack of English or slight naivity, this is Thailand that's what makes it special! Breakfasts are good, loads of fruit and yoghurt, almond croissants, omelettes and HOT tea. We ate at all three restaurants and found the food tasty and beautifully presented (try the mignon at the fire grill). There is also a good place to eat next to resort built on stilts over the sea they do thai, chinese and western dishes.
The Racha is the ideal place for a getaway from it all holiday (there are absolutely no shops here!) If you want you can explore the island and go to some of the cheaper bars and restaurants but then you always have the luxury of that wonderful air conditioned room to return to!

  • Liked — the villa and gardens
  • Disliked — busy beach,but see the alternatives
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casperfreidrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2008

Of the 3 excellent hotels that we stayed in Thailand, this was our favourite.

We were picked up by the Racha Mercedes which we pre-booked and were greeted with chilled water and a cool flannel in the back seat. Oh, the luxury. The driver was very friendly and he gave us a brief tour of Phuket as we drove through the island.

We then took a 30 minute speedboat trip from Chalong Bay, which was a little bumpy so you do need your sea legs.

The hotel was stunning. Each small white building housed an individual room. The rooms were white and minimalistically stylish. Great space and very well laid out. We were upgraded on our first night and had our own private plunge pool.

The restaurants were all good, as were the pools and the beach.

They also provide free mountain bikes so you can explore the island, and free snorkels so you can look at the fish in the sea. They hire out quad bikes and they have a very good spa. So there are plenty of things to do other than sun bathe and eat.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2008

We're just back from a wonderful 3 nights stay at the Racha. It was the best holiday we had since long. The Beach was great (even if some rocks made it difficult to swim at low tide) with turquoise waters and white powder sand. The pools were fantastic (the Main one offering a great view over the bay and the Garden one with its jungle atmosphere). Rooms are superb. The whole complex is very spatious and sometimes gives you the pleasant feeling of being alone on earth.
The only drawback: food is a bit pricey with regard to its quality.

  • Liked — The overall peaceful atmosphere of the resort and its outstanding design
  • Disliked — Diner
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Matthieu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Racha Yai
38.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
26.4 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
26.4 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
20.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,167 reviews
39.0 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Racha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Racha

Property: The Racha
Address: 42/12-13 Moo 5 Rawai, Muang, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Ko Racha Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Racha 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 12 miles south of Phuket on Racha Yai island, The Racha is Thailand's premier deluxe island hideaway. Set on a pristine white-powdery beach and surrounded by the dazzling turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea, this five star resort features 70 stylish villas offering the ultimate in luxurious comfort, from private pool villas with underwater music, to a very unique 5-storey Lighthouse Pool Villa with an observation deck offering panoramic views around the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Racha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Racha Hotel Ko Racha Yai
Racha Hotel Yai Island
Racha Yai Island
Racha Phuket
The Racha Ko Racha Yai, Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing