We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Thailand”
Review of The Racha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Racha
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Paradise in Thailand”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My family (husband and kids 14 & 11 yrs) have recently spend 10 nights at The Racha.
I was nervous being early July and the wet season, however after a full-on monsoon storm on the day of our arrival we had mostly really lovely weather. Not too hot and some rain showers in the evening. Having said that, The Racha is so beautifully designed and operated that no matter what the weather, there is always something to do and somewhere to go. We loved all that they had to offer but also felt at total ease just relaxing by the pool or having massages in the spa. The rooms are perfect, chic clean lines (and your favourite scent throughout), grounds are immaculate, soft spongy grass. Most important to us is we are really fussy about food and usually chose our holiday destinations based on the food. The Racha was excellent, I don't think we had a bad meal, there was always variety in dining, we loved having different restaurant choices each evening as it made dining such a treat. Food is fresh and not expensive. Overall, the kids had a great time and we fell deeply in love with the blue fizzy water and icing sugar sand. This small island paradise should be on your list of beautiful tropical getaways.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cassieracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    207
    59
    35
    13
See reviews for
161
620
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Racha for 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff were so helpful, our suite was wonderful, such luxury and the great weather made it a wonderful escape for a few days. Pure bliss. There was a great variety of food for the buffet breakfast, catering for most nationalities. They had complimentary yoga in the gym several mornings a week which we thoroughly enjoyed. Although we could have stayed at the resort all day, we did explore the island, where we snorkelled with no one else on the beach and stumbled across some local eateries around the island where we had some wonderful food. We also found a great little place where we both enjoyed some lovely massages and pedicures at very reasonable rates. Although the island can be busy during the day with day trippers, once they had left for the day, it became very quiet with just your fellow guests left to enjoy the sunsets and balmy nights. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bblackmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just back from a way-too-short holiday (3 nites) at The Racha. It was so sublime I just had to rave about it on Tripadvisor.

First of all, I wholeheartedly agree with all the great things that have been said about the resort. This is heaven on earth. But to get here first, you need to speedboat out from the Racha Lounge at Chalong Bay on one of the slick Racha speedboats. For goodness sakes, if you can’t handle sea transfers, don’t book a stay on an island! Our 30 minute crossing on the 5pm speedboat was so comfortable I dozed off a few times. The sea couldn’t have been calmer and I felt very safe in the hands of our captain and his crew.

The first glimpse of the bay upon approach drew a few audible gasps from my fellow guests. Yes, this island is really postcard-perfect. The water is crystal-clear and visibility is better here than my atoll stay in the Maldives. The sand is also incredibly fine and powdery-soft. The sprawling Racha resort fronting the bay gleamed in the sun ready to welcome us.

I can’t laud enough about my villa – Villa 1203. If you really want to live it up, book a 2 Bedroom Grand Pool Suite – the very newest accommodations at the resort (along with the Spa Pool Suites). On elevated grounds overlooking the Spa complex with the ocean yonder (and only a short stroll away), we awoke everyday to beautiful sunrises and awe-inspiring sunsets at the end of each day. The views are priceless and still so fresh in my memory.

Design-wise, the folks here at the resort have thought about everything. My villa had fully automated lighting and Crestron blinds, a Jura coffee machine, a retractable tv (our first ever!) in the bedroom and the hugest jacuzzi tub ever (which we never used). Why? Cos we were always in our infinity pool! Love, love our pool with the uninterrupted ocean views and swim up to an oh-so-private outdoor shower. With absolutely no chlorine, the pool is treated with ozone so the skin and hair stays happy.

Can’t say enough about the gorgeous grounds. With twenty acres, I loved my early morning walks. And how delighted I was to come across the gentle but large monitor lizards going about their way. The sounds of cicadas too were music to my ears. This is nature just the way I like it.

Tips we have for fellow guests;
• join in the Management cocktails early on in your vacation. You’ll meet the very cool Management and also like-minded guests who want to mingle (remember, not all couples want to). We made a few friends early on and it was always such a pleasure running into them and exchanging stories during our short holiday.

• bring your underwater camera. Upon advice from the staff at the Water Sports Center, we took a kayak (it’s free) out into the Bay with some bread from breakfast for the fishes. After attaching the kayak to a buoy mid-bay, we snorkeled and encountered very friendly, (and hungry) colorful fishes!

• wear reef shoes. There’s rocks in the reef and you’ll be too busy looking out for the fishes to bother minding where you step.

• enjoy the Anumba Spa. This much-awarded Spa has some very excellent massage therapists. Even though I didn’t use the OM Studio or the gym, you’ve never find better views anywhere on earth. These rooms are oceanfront.

• stay longer than 3 nights. We should have known better. But the time we finally detoxed, we were dreading that we only had 2 nights left in paradise.

Thanks to Gerard Tan, Racha General Manager for your sincere attention and amazing hospitality. We enjoyed dining with you tremendously and reaping the benefits of the heart and soul you’ve put into this stellar resort. My husband and I are already planning our return!

Room Tip: Spoilt yourself and get a pool villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank blackieko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Had an awesome couple escape - rented junior pool suite. Incredible room, beautiful island, great food. Loved the scented room choices. We went right on the edge of the season starting, so we didn't have trouble with day trippers. The only minus of the timing was that the little bars etc not part of the resort weren't operating yet. Wasn't an issue, and made for a peaceful stay. Amazing snorkelling too. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If you can afford it the pool suites are an experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The hotel is very nice. Room and services are great. The color of the sea, the white sand and the sun are to die for. But, what I don't like is the beach is not private. There are a lot of day trippers, so it won't be quiet till in the evening. The food at the hotel and in the island are pricey.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syuvej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcochete, Setubal, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I chose The Racha for our honeymoon, one and a half years ago. All we can say is that it was the most fantastic hotel we've ever experienced. VIP treatment (they upgraded us to a private villa pool as soon as we got there), excellent service, over competent staff, from the reception to the restaurants, to the gardeners (we even got to meet the general manager in the tradicional thursday afternoon get-togethers and mingle a bit with the staff, which we thought was a brilliant idea), amazing food, fantastic beach and amenities... It truly is a 5* hotel and worth every penny. We felt welcomed by everyone and loved every second of it. It sure played a huge part in why our honeymoon was so amazing. We're now planning on going back for our 10 year aniversary! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed for one week in Koh Racha in September and just loved the island. First we benefited of complimentary transfers from the airport due to the length of our stay. Our driver was just the nicest man, taking extra care for our comfort with many delicate attentions (fresh towels, cold water, a rose on Valentine's day, etc!). We then transferred to the Racha high speed boat, and as the see was flat, it was a very enjoyable trip!
When arriving, we were just in paradise - white sandy beach, turquoise see, stunning.
The hotel is very beautiful, and the best moment starts around 3:30pm, when all the day trippers leave the island. It becomes then perfectly quiet.
The rooms are very good, we were lucky to get a partial sea view from our terrace. We enjoyed the Ipod station, the garden bathroom and all the nice little daily treats from the housekeeping.
only negative - The AC is really noisy and could bother light sleepers.
Food is good and affordable, we especially liked the restaurant by the beach where you can choose and pick what you want them to grill on the BBQ. The Thai Buffet night was great as well, definitely recommend!
We had a wonderful time and wish to come back soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloKemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Racha Yai
26.4 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
892 reviews
38.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
13.8 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
480 reviews
26.6 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#3 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,852 reviews
20.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Racha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Racha

Property: The Racha
Address: 42/12-13 Moo 5 Rawai, Muang, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Ko Racha Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Racha 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 12 miles south of Phuket on Racha Yai island, The Racha is Thailand's premier deluxe island hideaway. Set on a pristine white-powdery beach and surrounded by the dazzling turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea, this five star resort features 70 stylish villas offering the ultimate in luxurious comfort, from private pool villas with underwater music, to a very unique 5-storey Lighthouse Pool Villa with an observation deck offering panoramic views around the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Racha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Racha Hotel Ko Racha Yai
Racha Hotel Yai Island
Racha Yai Island
Racha Phuket
The Racha Ko Racha Yai, Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing