We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Racha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Racha
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“awesome escape”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Had an awesome couple escape - rented junior pool suite. Incredible room, beautiful island, great food. Loved the scented room choices. We went right on the edge of the season starting, so we didn't have trouble with day trippers. The only minus of the timing was that the little bars etc not part of the resort weren't operating yet. Wasn't an issue, and made for a peaceful stay. Amazing snorkelling too. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If you can afford it the pool suites are an experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    200
    58
    34
    13
See reviews for
155
605
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The hotel is very nice. Room and services are great. The color of the sea, the white sand and the sun are to die for. But, what I don't like is the beach is not private. There are a lot of day trippers, so it won't be quiet till in the evening. The food at the hotel and in the island are pricey.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syuvej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcochete, Setubal, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I chose The Racha for our honeymoon, one and a half years ago. All we can say is that it was the most fantastic hotel we've ever experienced. VIP treatment (they upgraded us to a private villa pool as soon as we got there), excellent service, over competent staff, from the reception to the restaurants, to the gardeners (we even got to meet the general manager in the tradicional thursday afternoon get-togethers and mingle a bit with the staff, which we thought was a brilliant idea), amazing food, fantastic beach and amenities... It truly is a 5* hotel and worth every penny. We felt welcomed by everyone and loved every second of it. It sure played a huge part in why our honeymoon was so amazing. We're now planning on going back for our 10 year aniversary! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed for one week in Koh Racha in September and just loved the island. First we benefited of complimentary transfers from the airport due to the length of our stay. Our driver was just the nicest man, taking extra care for our comfort with many delicate attentions (fresh towels, cold water, a rose on Valentine's day, etc!). We then transferred to the Racha high speed boat, and as the see was flat, it was a very enjoyable trip!
When arriving, we were just in paradise - white sandy beach, turquoise see, stunning.
The hotel is very beautiful, and the best moment starts around 3:30pm, when all the day trippers leave the island. It becomes then perfectly quiet.
The rooms are very good, we were lucky to get a partial sea view from our terrace. We enjoyed the Ipod station, the garden bathroom and all the nice little daily treats from the housekeeping.
only negative - The AC is really noisy and could bother light sleepers.
Food is good and affordable, we especially liked the restaurant by the beach where you can choose and pick what you want them to grill on the BBQ. The Thai Buffet night was great as well, definitely recommend!
We had a wonderful time and wish to come back soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloKemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I went to the Racha in July 2009 and it speaks volumes for how much I loved it that I am writing a review on it for the second time since my first has mysteriously vanished :(
This place is fabulous!! The most relaxing five days ever! Beautiful turquoise seas, lovely spacious villas (and we stayed in the regular ones), beautiful facilities and good food. Highly recommend and would love to go back someday!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honeyafrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo Finland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Spent here wonderful 5 days in July with my family (2 kids). We had a deluxe villa with connecting 2 rooms.

Overall the experience was one of hour best - the Racha is a truly 5 star property in a quiet (in the low season) Raya Yai island with great service and smiling personnel. Although it was low season there was reasonable amount of guests, many of repeat guests witch also proves the quality of the resort and service.

Rooms very nice (big bath rooms with outdoor shower), gardens beautiful, 3 pool areas, and unbeatable views over to Batok Bay. The sea in front of the resort was non-swimmable due to monsoon season, but 10 min walk brings you to small bays on the other side of the island where you could swim and snorkel in in calm and clear water.

Food in all restaurants was very good, a bit pricey as expected in 5 star resort, but if you want to save some coins one can always go to few local places in island (couple of options within walking distance from Racha, Raya Farther inland being the best). Breakfast of good quality.

We did scuba diving certification and some dives with Raya Divers (excellent service!). East side bays of the island where wonderful with clear waters and lots of fish and coral.

Racha is a true island getaway with easy access from Phuket. Boat ride is 35-40 minutes - you need to be prepared to a bumby ride as it is open sea and Racha boat rather small. However - our ride was not that bad, and it is a quick ride.

Room Tip: Deluxe connecting rooms are good for family
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArskaEspooFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk, Dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My new husband and I choose the racha for our honeymoon of 10 nights. On arrival to chalong pier we just knew we were going to be spoilt and we were! Cold towels, cold drinks and a choice of what smells we wanted in our lotions and potions for free! 35minute boat journey, and arrival to koh raya! Amazing! The luxury resort really is just that! beautiful, no words can describe, just breath taking! No complaints AT ALL! Any one that complains must have something wrong with them!!!!! My husband and I spent time body boarding(provided for free) , sun bathing, and exploring the island. What is so unique about here is that the resort is so luxourious and then on leaving to explore the island, the rest is rustic and untouched, LOVE that! There are other bays to explore and go snorkling in, none are more than a 20 minute walk.... Slowly in that heat!! We had one beach all to ourselves! Amazing! There are lovely local places to eat and all the food on the rest of the island was awesome! We ate at a lovely restaurant on the right hand side of the beach alot, really quirky and hanging out of the rocks over the sea, AMAZING! It has a little view point behind it that u can look back over the island from, just gorgeous! We really can't recommend this place any more highly! Yes it's true that day trippers attend the beach but that makes for some wonderful people watching! And yes the water did have some 'stuff' floating in it due to the really bad weather that they had just experienced, but there are other beaches! And by day 3 of our stay it had cleared and you could see the fish again- no need for a snorkel! There really is no reason for it to put you off! DO explore the island, it's brilliant! Gerard tan, thank you it was so lovely to have met you. Your staff are amazing. We have recommended the racha to everyone we know!

Roxanne and Nigel Carey.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PurpleladyUk_Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Racha Yai
38.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
26.4 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
846 reviews
26.4 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,771 reviews
20.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
5,150 reviews
30.3 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 95 in Thalang District
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Racha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Racha

Property: The Racha
Address: 42/12-13 Moo 5 Rawai, Muang, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Ko Racha Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Racha 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 12 miles south of Phuket on Racha Yai island, The Racha is Thailand's premier deluxe island hideaway. Set on a pristine white-powdery beach and surrounded by the dazzling turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea, this five star resort features 70 stylish villas offering the ultimate in luxurious comfort, from private pool villas with underwater music, to a very unique 5-storey Lighthouse Pool Villa with an observation deck offering panoramic views around the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Racha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Racha Hotel Ko Racha Yai
Racha Hotel Yai Island
Racha Yai Island
Racha Phuket
The Racha Ko Racha Yai, Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing