We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bungalow Raya Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Certificate of Excellence
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very good Restaurant”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this beautifull bay for two nights and used the restaurant for dinner. Everything was tasty, fresch and sailors are welcome. The bay is phantastic and the bungalows look quite nice. Good place for swimming and having a relaxed time.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Geosailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    27
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
31
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Springwood, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

I have to be honest, I love this island and this is my third trip, this time with friends and young adult children, and the bungalows were sufficient to give us a place to sleep and shower for a few days. Considering the complexity and expense in getting materials out to Koh Racha, you expect to pay a little more than on Phuket, but Bungalow Raya gives you a budget option. If you book here, and know what to expect - gaffa tape over holes in the wall or screens, a small synthetic bed cover and a mosquito net that may or may not cover the bed (ours did)- then you can relax into the gorgeous views and snorkeling. Yes the main bay (Patok) is busy, but the colour and movement makes it interesting - and in the quiet hours before 10 and after 3 you have the beach to yourselves. Solo travellers be aware the beach lounges have to be rented in pairs for 200bht.
No sign of the snake in the ceiling mentioned in previous review, friends had that bungalow and there was no hole now. Best thing about Bungalow Raya is the restaurant, the views from the bungalows and proximity to the Tom Bam Bou bar at the end of the beach.
New concrete bungalows with aircon are almost finished and will have the best uninterrupted views from the hill above Patok Bay. If you need a cover to sleep, bring a cotton sheet.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Evermorgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Raya Island day tour with Bungalow Raya Resort Co organised by Wheel Fortune Travel and Tour.
Cost 900 baht each. The service provided by Wheel Fortune was excellent. They have provided this excellent service to us over 5 years and a lot of tours.
The driver was 45 minutes early to pick us up from Kata Beach and it soon became evident that there was not enough room in the minibus for all of the passengers and luggage which led to some (understandably) very unhappy and uncomfortable customers.
From the tour operator checkin area near Chalong Pier all the passengers were marshalled along the pier road to the cruise speedboat which was moored stern to the sand on the beach where we all climbed on board. The journey to Raya Island took approximately 30 minutes. On arrival we moored at a makeshift pier at Siam Bay situated on the eastern side of the island (not on the main beach) for a few minutes to disembark passengers and cargo prior to re positioning to an area at Konkae Bay several hundred metres away for snorkelling. The goggles and flippers had not been distributed prior to our arrival and this process led to quite some delay prior to the snorkelling. On completion of the snorkelling the boat was repositioned back to the makeshift pier where all the passengers were disembarked. This pier looks as though it is mainly used for the transport of goods an supplies for the resort(s). ie. "the tradesman's entrance".
Transport to the main beach at Patok Bay was not immediately available and some of the passengers chose to walk to the other side of the island. My perceived short cut led to an unscheduled rain forest walk that resulted in a delayed arrival time for us at Patok Bay beach. My fault entirely. We were last to arrive for the supplied lunch at Bungalow Raya Resort and there was no food left so we went back to the beach. Not happy! There is a new resort Ban Raya which encompasses most of the beachfront. It has one small bar adjacent which is available to itinerant cruise customers (those not staying at the resort). A small Heineken beer (available at 7/11stores in Phuket for 50 baht) cost 164 baht. Beach chairs under an umbrella (a scarce commodity) cost 100 baht each to hire. Transport back to the cruise boat at the Konkae Bay pier was by means of an old and dilapidated makeshift "bus". There is no way that this vehicle would pass any basic road worthiness test. We did ride in the "bus" however my assessment was that we would have been a lot safer if we had walked (even via my rainforest route).The speedboat trip from Raya Island back to Chalong Bay again took around half an hour. On arrival we docked at the pier. I think was due the tide being out and the beach mooring from where we departed being inaccessible. Sonny, the tour guide on the speedboat solicited tips from almost all the passengers. Very poor form! We were then transported via another makeshift bus to the landslide end of the pier, and walked back to the tour operators area where we met the minibus transport driver who took us back to Kata Beach. There were seats for everyone this time. In summary this was the most poorly organised tour that we have been on. Even at the price we paid it was not value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Me and my husband went to this resort. in that time, we decided to stay 1 nite at Raya Resort. The location was fantastic, that is for sure, no doubt. Beach was such a paradise. I can even swim alone as if it my private billion $ island.

But lets talk bout this resort. So, we checked in, the staff was fine, they gave me room no. 10. It was a bungalow. The room was "so-so" as it is cheap for the price, and that won't be any problem with us. The view from room no 10 was great, straight to the beautiful andaman sea. Then i came back to the receptionist to ask whether i could have in room service (food/drink), and they said, we can not. i didn't ask for the reason until i found out that there are many giant lizards (a bit smaller than komodo). Imagine if you bring food and leave it outside your room, then the lizard might be in front of your bungalow to grab your food.

The worst is, we CAN NOT SLEEP even a minute! I was pillow-chatting with my husband when he heard something in our ceiling. Then about hours later, we saw a YELLOW BLACK SNAKE hanging from the hole at the corner ceiling above our door. Luckily, the snake didn't fall, and got back inside the ceiling.

More nightmare was we had no electricity for about 30 minutes in that night, What a perfect nightmare right? Snake, blackout, no telephone (in case for help). It was also dark outside. At that night, we were the only guest + one Dutch guy (room no.8).

SO, BEWARE OF ROOM NO. 10 in this resort because it's not cockroach or rat, its a SNAKE in the room

CHOOSE room no.8 to stay since the dutch guy(room 8) told me that it has the best view to the beach and andaman sea.

Room Tip: AVOID ROOM NO. 10 => snake in the room CHOOSE ROOM No. 8 => best view to the beach and andama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Indri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wamberal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have stayed at the bungalow raya resort three times now and the staff and management are always so welcoming and friendly it feels as though we are staying with old friends.
The island is very busy around the main beach area, between 9am and about 3pm, when the day trippers abound, but once they leave, the island takes on a whole different perspective.
The natural beauty of the place becomes more evident as the sun dips and you enjoy a drink at the bamboo bar on the beach, then make your way around to the restaurant which juts out over the clear waters of the bay.
The food is deliscious and well priced, the service is great and the bungalows are clean, spacious and very comfortable.
The front 6 bungalows are positioned magnificently on the edge of the bay with each bungalow enjoying beautiful views of the amazing Andaman sea sunset from a private balcony.

Room Tip: call ahead and book a front bungalow. No aircon but fans. If you want 5 star this isnt the place, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank terence m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruza, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Hello ))

The location is amazing. Best beach I've ever seen. You can swim here independent of tides, you just have to walk 5m longer on that perfect sand, thats all. Snorkel, no, excellent snorkel and free diving - right on the beach or in any other bay on the island.
However be prepared that from 11am till 3:15pm this bay become something like Maya bay on PhiPhi, I guess 200+ tourists will come for a day trip. Before or after that you know where is your place in this world. There is cool reggae/ska bar and very good massage right on the beach.

Yes, there are dangerous jellyfishes so read up a bit and consider to swim in light suit or use some magical protective cream (Raya Divers sell it in the Divers Village). Keep an eye for a sea snakes, my friend reported two reef sharks.

Resort is on the right wing of the bay, to get to the bungalows you should go almost through toilet - no good. There is no shower on the beach - it's in this toilet upstairs or in your room. There are varangs more than 2m long there, it's funny. And 20+ cats (quiet). And cicadas (incredible loud).

Service - great, staff is helpful and do their best to keep the resort clean, room was cleaned every day, including bed sheets changes.

Rooms - well it's bungalows, don't expect wonders there, personally it was too humid for me. Good quality cotton white sheets would serve much better that colorful thick ones we were provided. Blankets were not cotton but some weird silk or something. All that could not help with humidity in the night.
There are mosquitos so shut the door tight.

Food was good, I'd recommend to ask for the Asian breakfast (congee rice soup). And they should get rid of these flies of course, it's quite annoying in the morning.

Rooms are cheap but they include compulsory transfer when you make the booking (speed boat + land transfer in the minibus), we didn't use these transfers though.

Overall the island is so good everything else doesn't matter. I really hope there wont be any additional hotels or roads on the island and that people will manage to transfer the garbage from the island, not to collect it in the middle of the island.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dk_demme_dpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

POOR ON ALL LEVELS: Service/food/restaurant/bungalows and managment!
Unfriendly staff? Yes, it happens in Thailand too. I am traveling since 2 months in Thailand and I must rate this Resort as the unfriendliest place which I experienced. Not even the food was ok. I was intending to stay long term but I decided to leave that island soons as possible. During daytime thousands of tourist visited the small Island. Close to sunset around 6pm. they left and let behind a lot of trash. Nowbody from the Hotel feels responsable to clean it up.They said: that is a public beach and we do not have the staff to clean the beach. Instatt of cleaning most of the staff was seating around starring in there E-phones. Together with some few other tourist from Europe we cleant every morning and evening the beach from trash.
It is sad that I have to say: IF YOU CAN STAY AWAY FROM THIS RESORT AND THAT ISLAND!.

Room Tip: If you can stay away from all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tobias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Racha Yai
11.7 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
14.9 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 57 in Kata Beach
1,030 reviews
25.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Racha
The Racha
#1 of 4 in Ko Racha Yai
1,107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rayaburi Resort (Racha Island)
0.4 mi away
Ban Raya Resort & Spa
Ban Raya Resort & Spa
#4 of 4 in Ko Racha Yai
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalow Raya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalow Raya Resort

Property: Bungalow Raya Resort
Address: 30/4 Moo 5, T. Rawai | A. Muang, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Ko Racha Yai
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Bungalow Raya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalow Raya Resort Ko Racha Yai, Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing