We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1 week stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rayaburi Resort (Racha Island)

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Rayaburi Resort (Racha Island)
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1 week stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Beautiful Siam bay. Very peaceful and relaxing.
Very few day trippers unlike Batok bay around the corner.
Lovely swimming, however coral hard on the feet! Friendly helpful staff!
Restaurant food prices dearer than Phuket, but expected.
Quality and choice of meals still good. Beachside Rooms very comfortable. Inside spa bath and outside shower. Bit chaotic getting there from Chalong pier, struggling with suitcases along the beach to get to jetboat without any assistance. Return jetboat transfer could not have been better. We will be back.

Room Tip: beach side rooms perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    61
    35
    16
    18
See reviews for
46
76
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for two nights recently as part of a longer stay on Phuket. I can honestly say that this is the most beautiful place I have ever stayed. I have travelled in Asia before as well as Australia , New Zealand and many other lovely places but this one is very special! The hotel is simple but very beautiful. You can't fail to love it. There isn't much to do apart from swim in the sea, snorkel or dive but what else do you need. You must go here. It's a 30 minute speed boat trip from Phuket. Be warned the sea can be rough in low season as we experienced but it's still worth it. The beach looks lovely here but it's painful to walk into the sea without some kind of foot wear so come prepared. Last word - be careful of ordering crab in the restaurant........you really shouldn't eat everything that is cooked.we booked direct with the hotel on a recommendation from a local in Phuket. You won't be disappointed at this hotel - it's medium priced of the three hotels on this island. The Racha looks amazing but would be more expensive and the beach there can get busy even in low season.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexSunbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in the beach-front bungalow. To be fair we have to say that the beach and the bay, as well as the other places of this island are close to be perfect. Clear blue sea, whitest soft sanded beaches, fascinating nature under and over the sea-surface...The room was beautiful and the staff is very warm and welcoming. This could be the paradise BUT, there are 2 things that made not rate this place with 5 stars:
1. From around 10 in the morning dozens of boats come from the land fully packed with day tourists that are exploring the cosy island with motorcycles and quads, filling the quiet beaches and turn this place into a mass-touristic lively place. Some spread their towels just a step away from our bungalow, drinking beer and being noisy. Luckily this all ends around 4 pm where the crowds are shipped back and the island turns into a quite place again.
2. There are about 95% chinese people staying at the hotel. I know many chinese people and some of my friends are chinese, too but chinese groups of people is not really what you wish to have as a neighbor in a small resort. Trying not to be disrespectful I still have to say that they are extremely noisy, impolite to others including the staff and us and leaving their waste really everywhere they go.
Luckily they rather prefer to be inside their rooms at evening time so that it gets quiet again soon.

Hotel restaurant is good, nothing special though, but very expensive for Thai standards. There are about 5 other small restaurants on the island which are a bit cheaper but also nothing special compared to the street-kitchens you can experience in Bangkok for example.

Except of those 2 points this place is paradise but I'm sure it turns into a mass-touristic spot very soon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rsrs78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I actually got a better deal by booking directly with the hotel including a free lunch and boat transfer.

First of all, the hotel is located in the quiet side of the island, Siam Bay while the other beach occupied by The Racha is fully packed (but with nicer water and with more fish.... Good for snorkeling just off the beach). Siam bay is quiet but there is minor construction work along the beach that may make the seawater a little bit cloudy. Also, we could hardly find any fishes like we had in the other beaches on the island.

The room itself is spacious but with poor maintenance, water tap in the bathroom was weak, water was dripping out from the air con, the torch wasn't working, however, they were all fixed on the second day.

The restaurant is very expensive for dinner, we paid 300balts for fried rice which is normally 80 Balts in Phuket island. The best deal in the restaurant is probable the pizza. We tried ordering room service for dinner and we called the reception, but the reception didn't know whether their kitchen can do room service and asked us to call the restaurant directly!! What a laugh!!! I trusted there must be guests who ordered a room service before!

Like the other said, the hotel charged 200balts for beach chairs on the beach but didn't for those which were not directly on the beach.

If you don't care much about their service and the condition of the room, it's a nice hotel to stay on the island, however I should have paid double to stay in the Racha for a better quality hotel and a nicer beach.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Susie8876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Fantastic fantastic location, we stayed in the Chino poolside room which was extremely spacious with an adequate personal veranda seating area just outside to sip your gin & tonic ..slightly raised sun bed areas surround the very adequate pool sitting in a few inches of water in pairs along the pool side. we were not advised of the new building construction immediately adjacent but noise was not intrusive & we were in no way concerned as there was minimal activity whilst we were there. a few holiday makers voiced concerns about the pool colour but this just mirrored the slightly beige green tiles & we considered it very clean & wholly adequate. we just loved our time here . A 2 min walk to the breakfast area beach side ...Breakfast was good & the beach absolutely beautiful ...very much less crowded than the main Racha beach which is invaded daily by daily boat trippers & sun bathers. Eating out beach side is obviously a little more expensive & eating in particular at Siam beach needs care as you must check very carefully on your order to avoid any double ordering & large bills indeed we found the restaurant which also produces breakfast to be the least satisfying & value for money so be just a little cautious. staff are very pleasant & helpful & the island is an absolute joy ... This is a very beautiful & relaxing place ...we did not want to leave.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank purrdy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
215 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a fabulous location. Pleasant apartments set in gardens just moments from a perfect beach. It is easy to walk to other parts of the island, beaches & bars. The rooms were well appointed and large. Breakfast on the beach is idyllic and the food for breakfast not bad, especially the freshly cooked eggs how you want them. A drawback to the island is that everything has to be brought in, so prices for - say a can of beer - are high. About 2 - 3 times the price as on the mainland. Wifi in reception and bar but no-where else; and its a bit intermittent.

But: despite there being a small army of staff, nothing in the hotel seems to work well. Sticking with the beer theme - we were served warm bottles of beer in the restaurant at 3X the normal price because no-one could be bothered to stock up the chiller cabinets. The shower in the room was a hose pipe because no-one could be bothered to repair the fitting. All the venetian blinds were broken. No-one bothered to suggest tours or arrange snorkelling - they just pointed at a few desultory dog-eared leaflets. And there appears to be a scam going on with the sun beds - you are told you can use them for free by the hotel, except if you sit on the front row you are asked to pay 200 Bhat - for identical beds with the same colouring. We did not try the swimming pool as it looked cloudy - the sea is so nice anyway. This is all a great shame because the facilities could be excellent - it is just that no-one seems bothered to maintain them. Instead legions of workers spend all day sweeping the lawns of leaves that were not bothering anyone. It just all smacks of lax ineffective management - no-one co-ordinating what the staff should be doing.

Once bitten at the overpriced restaurant (1400 Bhat bottle of wine special offer - that's £30) we explored some of the other bays. There is a fabulous bar/restaurant on stilts overlooking the beach at the next bay along - where the upmarket Racha resort is. Great stir fry food, ok glass of wine for 100 Bhat, fabulous and relaxing. There are also interesting bars at both ends of the beach that this hotel is on - the smaller Siam Bar is fun and sweet - and they know how to chill their beer.

We got a good deal through Agora - about £90 / room / night. At which price point I think it was fair value. If you pay more than that then the poor management and service is really going to annoy you. In the end we were won over by the location and would love to return - but to another hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Stephen-London-N16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at rayaburi resort over new year for 4 days. I wished we stayed there for our whole trip in Thailand. Amazing island resort away from hectic phuket. Here you can actually rent a scooter and explore the island without any traffic. Beautiful rooms especially the ones on the beach. Water was amazing and beautiful white beaches.

Room Tip: beach front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liezeldj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Racha Yai
11.7 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
38.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
14.9 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Racha
The Racha
#1 of 4 in Ko Racha Yai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ban Raya Resort & Spa
Ban Raya Resort & Spa
#4 of 4 in Ko Racha Yai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bungalow Raya Resort
Bungalow Raya Resort
#2 of 4 in Ko Racha Yai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayaburi Resort (Racha Island)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayaburi Resort (Racha Island)

Property: Rayaburi Resort (Racha Island)
Address: 42/3-9 Moo 3, Siam Bay, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Ko Racha Yai
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rayaburi Resort (Racha Island) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rayaburi Resort (Racha Island) is a brand new resort, set on a pristine beach on Racha / Raya Yai Island (Phuket). The resort located on a private property set right beside Siam Bay - the longest and widest powdery white sand beach on Racha Yai Island. Its unique mixture of authentic Thai style beach resort facilities with calm and peaceful atmosphere, and heartfelt hospitality and service - suitable for all type of travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Rayaburi Resort (Racha Island) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayaburi Resort (Racha Island) Hotel Rawai
Rayaburi Resort (Racha Island) Ko Racha Yai, Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing