We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rayaburi Resort (Racha Island)
Nearby Hotels
Ban Raya Resort & Spa(Ko Racha Yai)
$91
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bungalow Raya Resort(Ko Racha Yai)(Great Value!)
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Racha(Ko Racha Yai)
$192
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveler rating
54
68
37
19
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
68
37
19
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsday tripperstourist boatsexplore the islandlagoon roomhotel areamin walkover christmaspool viewthai foodchinophuketsunbedshoneymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 197 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2012

When we first stepped into the island .We could not take away our eyes from the beautiful natural setting.We could not speak.even.The island is beautiful.We were there for our honeymoon.Not only the beach the island it self is beautiful.Tropical jungle,Coconut garden.Talcum powder sand and the different layer of water colors.Water near to the beach is turquoise.At a little distance it is clear blue then darker blue and slowly appearing like purple in the horizon.It took my breath away.Raya is unspoilt nature.It has not become touristy yet.So at the evening when the day trippers left the island.This island is serene tranquil.You can walk hands on hand in the soft sand or you can even leave your resort boundary to wander along the island amidst the coconut plantation and paved path withing the tropical jungle with a torch in your hand..Rayaburi resort is I think the only mid budget accomodation here.Because there are vvery few accomodation.There are very few accomodation here.Rayaburi is the only mid range accomodation.I had pretty good experience here.The resort area is a huge.It has a rustic setting.It has a lotus garden beautiful dim lights and a neat garden settting.The restaurant is eyecatchy.Ofcourse by the sea and on the soft white sands.The food was good.WE had a 1 Kg Andaman lobster there.The preparation was awesome.But I think there could have been more choices for the breakfast.WE were in a beachfront accommodation.And it is a complete luxury.Just outside our bungalow on the beach there were sofa ,a swing ,a beach bed and a small dining table just perfect for a romantic beach dinner.The room was big spacious .Bathroom was too good with an outdoor shower that worth special mention

Room Tip: If you are on a romantic honeymoon.Go for beachfront. Get a thai massage at there personal Massage Parlour.It is just beside the beach. and very comfortable
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dipmay15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Its a beautiful litttle island. You need to know that you can reach the place only in the morning and leave in the afternoon. So you need to schedule your filghts accordingly. Unfortunately we were not aware and had some trouble and the resort did not let us cancel the booking. The standard rooms are a bit pricy and the breakfast is quite basic (only white toast). The restaurant is quite fancy but also pricy. The sea on the other side is better for young kids.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suse100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The location was just perfect for us - relaxing, sunny, white sand beach with different tones of green water... The beach is scenic, when I got there finally thought that we had arrived to paradise. The hotel is ok. Room is spacious, but I had the impression that they do not clean the bathroom everyday, there would always be sand all over it even after the cleaning lady had just been in. We also had an issue with beach strays - there are strays that apparently are not the hotel's, and for which one has to pay extra. Weirdly, some strays that were identical to the hotel's and even looked after by the hotel's staff were said to have been bought by someone else and, therefore, we should pay extra to use them. Of course we did not. Besides, the hotel staff could not properly explain the situation and we felt embarrassed to be obliged to leave the strays being hotel's guests. Note that considering its size, the hotel has far few strays. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel's restaurant. Food was ok, but pricey (which I can understand to a certain extent, considering that we are on an island where access to things is not the same as in town). We did want to go to the Racha for dinner one night, but since we were two girls we thought it might not be very safe to walk alone around the island at night (even if it was close enough, like 10-15 min walking), so we didn't go. We also had to request twice for a DVD player, and by the second request were told that they were checking if there was one available (we eventually got it). The staff at the reception was fake nice and not always really helpful. The restaurant staff was nice. Other downsides: we left our private beach towels in the beach stray in our first afternoon and they disappeared FOREVER. Again weirdly, my friend's sunglasses were also there and they were returned. The hotel can also be a bit noisy sometimes (e.g. there were some people playing karaoke one afternoon). Despite these downsides, the beach is stunning and definitely worth some days of our itinerary. I am glad we had these days there and would stay in this hotel again (the beach is far better there than at The Racha, where all the boats arrive).

Room Tip: Get a room with AC.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellerSPBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Racha is gorgeous for a get away from it all. Rayaburi sits on a beach protected by a reef and hence the day trippers who arrive at 11 and leave at 3 from the beach of the Racha. Rayaburi's beach is spectacular. Hotel is solid, comfortable and good staff etc. Let down by the food - breakfast is ok but just eat elsewhere way too expensive and mediocre - there is a fantastic hut just behind the hotel restaurant with great authentic Thai food.

Treat yourself to dinner a few times at the Racha hotel restaurant - amazing food.

Recommended as a base just be prepared to explore (everything is a pleasant 10 min walk). If you want to stay somewhere and not move ie eat breakfast, lunch and dinner there I wouldn't recommend.

Getting to Racha - hitch a paid ride there and back on one of the several day trip boats that leave to Racha from Phuket daily. Get the hotel to schedule.

It is worth the hassle. Stay the night before the boat at Pier 42 - see other review.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are back from the beach (a bit) but brand new. Pool is great. Some building work going on but considerate and non intrusive (probably completed already).
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonJonnyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We were in rayaburi resort for 4 nights.
It is very well located in front of a wonderful bay with a very nice beach.
It's very peaceful, not so much day trip boats (they prefer the bay in front of the racha resort). The quality of breakfast is nice and the restaurant is just in front of the beach; restaurany serves thai food but also interntal and italian food.
We were in the lagoon room that is very nice and quite large.
Therr is a big garden quite well manteined. the staff is very nice.
The general interest areas (shop, market, reception...) could be improved and better cleaned.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usmate5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews