We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George and Dragon
Nearby Hotels
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Vere Wokefield Estate(Stratfield Mortimer)
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$85
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Basingstoke Town Centre Hotel(Basingstoke)(Great Value!)
$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Basingstoke(Basingstoke)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveler rating
24
21
7
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
21
7
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeorge and dragongreat country pubsteakvery comfortable roomwet roomcooked to perfectionpaulamenusurroundingswarrenciderbeersselectionpubs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 59 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed friday to sunday in this lovely setting down a country lane but so close to basingstoke and the motorways. The food is great - freshly made and such an improvement on the chains. Great pub atmosphere and good beer. The accomodation worth special mention - v v comfortable bed and room and brilliant shower - wet room style with stone tiles - good and powerful too. We stayed almost by chance but will always use this as a base when in the area. Faultless...

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank templelewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I was back at the G&D again this week for the annual St George's Day lunch and, as ever, had a wonderful day in the company of the lunch guests, the locals (who always turn out to see us) and, of course, Lionel, Paula and their great staff. Excellent food and a very comfortable room for the night (much needed after a long day of eating and drinking!). Shame I didn't make it up in time for breakfast! Looking forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RugbyRaccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We must have stayed at the wrong time as our experience wasn't as positive as other reviews, perhaps this was because Lionel and Paula were away on holiday and their son was left in charge. The T.V didn't work and needed tuning in, we were only left one set of towels for two of us,and a dead spider and fluff were behind the bathroom door for the two days we were there, there wasn't a hair dryer so we asked for one and we were loaned Paula's, then for breakfast we were given a jug of sour milk, we were told this was because the milk was delivered in bulk. The son was apologetic for all these faults and they were corrected, but it was a bit dissapointing, but the food was good and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eladmij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Lovely clean and comfortable room, well priced for the area, perfect for an overnight stay. Hidden away, friendly staff. Lovely freshly cooked breakfast to order. Would stay again if in the area

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kettlekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

The title says it all. Good food, good beer, good rooms, what more can you want?

Lionel and Paula always offer a warm friendly welcome to all of their guests. I have stayed many times and keep coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Osodit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews