We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new restaurant”
Review of FatBoys Grill & Bar - CLOSED

FatBoys Grill & Bar
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Thai, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Enjoy Food, Enjoy Life! A motto we live by at Susanna's Restaurant. Susanna's is the place to go for those of us who love meat, fish and potato cuisine. Here we serve hearty well-portion meals which will leave you satisfied especially after having one of our delicious home-made desserts. We serve Nordic style comfort food that features continental meats, fish and potato dishes such as meatballs, stroganoff, salmon steaks, BBQ pork ribs, and hamburgers. We also have poultry items such as chicken and duck, all served with your choice of potato like mashed potatoes, sauteed potatoes or our famous Finnish garlic potatoes. We also serve a selection of appetizers and desserts. In a cosy country style setting, conveniently located in the middle of the island (Yes indeed Phuket is an Island!) Cherngtalay. Feel at home and dine in comfort on tables with red checkered tablecloths. Susanna's also has a large selection of beers and wine available. Only 50 meters from the Cherngtalay Police Station, heading towards Laguna Entrance. We are the brick building on the right. Yes indeed we do have a tricycle in front of our restaurant. P.S. At Susanna's, when you're here with us you are family and it's all about food and enjoying life!
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great new restaurant”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

went to this restaurant tonight and was very impressed with the setting and décor. A more upmarket venue at local prices. I was greeted at the entrance and offered outside alfresco area or a dining area that is under cover (a must in Thailand in the rainy season) or an air conditioned room. The menu is a not just the standard boring thing. It actually explains the dishes and their origins. Food from NZ steaks and Lamb (even a lamb burger), various spaghetti and of course some Thai dishes. I had garlic bread and spicy seafood spaghetti and a Mango shake. Best I have had on the island. I must mention that they have Wolf Blass wines from Australia at a special of 680 bht (approx $20.00) a bottle and that is far cheaper than you can get it in Australia. Service was prompt and attentive and the owner made me feel special. With all the beach restaurants now demolished this is a terrific place to eat . I will be back again very soon and a place I can happily refer friends too..

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanSurinPark, Owner at FatBoys Grill & Bar, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hi Ian,

Thank you so very much for the quick review on tripadvisor.

I am really glad that you enjoyed our menu, cuisine, atmosphere and service. It is good to hear that we have reached our goal and we will be sure to keep it up and improve where possible. :D

Hope to see you more often.

Best Wishes,

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    11
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“One of our best meals in Phuket”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We went as a familly of 4 and each one of us found it delicious. The thai burger green curry was fabulous and the finnish potatoes were one of the best "gratin dauphinois" i ever have eaten ! Meat balls are fabulous and the deserts are really nice. All the staff is great and the owner Susan is managong thos restaurant with talent. The price for 4 was 1500 baths so that makes a really god value for money as portions are big. Don t miss it when you are in Phuket, this is a 5 minutes drive from the Laguna hotels.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vaxeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanSurinPark, Owner at FatBoys Grill & Bar, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Good evening,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write us a review. It was very lovely to meet you all. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our green curry burger and our finnish garlic potatoes.

Thank you so much for your kind words.

I am truly happy to hear that you enjoyed your dinner experience with us.

Best Wishes,

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Tanura, KSA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“good addition to phuket”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Tried FBBG a few days back and was generally happy - but suggest they drop the garlic in the Camembert bake which totally overpowered the dish. Portion size is extreme so plan on taking half your order home.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank oiler1fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanSurinPark, Owner at FatBoys Grill & Bar, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you so much for your review. We will definitely consider leaving out the garlic in the baked camembert cheese.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes,

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
184 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“econd viit and certainly not the lat”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We made our second visit to this restaurant and were well received by the staff who recognised us from our previous visit.This is a really nice place and the staff are very friendly although some of them obviously lack experience. I had the duck a speciality of the chef and I have to say that it was wonderful. On both visits the chef has come out to ask how was our meal - a sure sign of confidence in his food and a willingness to learn from his mistakes.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank khellon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanSurinPark, Owner at FatBoys Grill & Bar, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hi,

Thank you so much for writing us a review. We can't thank you enough.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our cuisine and service.

We will be sure to improve everyday our service. :D

Look forward to seeing you more often.

Best Wishes,

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Went for a dinner with friend the other day, and was very surprised with an excellent service, delicious food and BIG portions! Definitely my new favorite place in town!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PavelMarkovnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanSurinPark, Owner at FatBoys Grill & Bar, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi,

It is an hnour, to be your new favourite restaurant in town. :D

I am very very happy to hear that you enjoyed your dinner with us the other day. :D
Hope to see you around more often. :D

Best Wishes,

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FatBoys Grill & Bar also viewed

Bang Tao Beach, Choeng Thale
Bang Tao Beach, Choeng Thale
 
Bang Tao Beach, Choeng Thale
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing