We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,031)
Filter reviews
1,031 results
Traveler rating
808
155
39
17
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
808
155
39
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdee pleethai restaurantsala pool villaapple tvlow tideprivate poolpaddle boardsexecutive chefamazing hotelcooking classbeach bagminute drivef bmain poolour honeymoonspecial thanksbreakfast buffet is
Filter
Updating list...
578 - 583 of 1,031 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2015

We had a room with our own private pool, it was lovely,secluded, breakfasts were included and were bountiful, we had several l dinners at the resort and had some of the best thai food we have had evening turn down service was very nice and usually included some type of treat
The hotel is a little far from town so if you stay here don't plan to venture off without a taxi which can be pricey we were visiting family and were lucky enough to have them pick us up when we wanted to go sight seeing. There are tours you can book at the hotel to James Bond Island for a price

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cody62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2015

Dear Cody62,

Thanks a lot for your kind comments on our resort. We hope to see you again next time you are visiting family in Phuket.

Kind regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2015

We would Like to thank the General Manager Mr Andy Kunz for the quick and professional solution is a small inconvenience,encountered during our stay. It was very nice to be heard and to see the professionalism of management in the care of the guests.
Dear Umberto! Your risotto and ravioli were excellent,and made us happy like in italy!
It was a pleasure to be your guests at the dinner in Sala Layan restoraunt.
We wish the further development and prosperity of this hotel.
Sincerely your Mr. Kuznetsov and mrs. Gurban

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanislav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2015

Dear Mr. Kuznetsov and Mrs. Gurban,

It was a great pleasure to have you at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa and I am please we were able to resolve your small inconvenience. Thanks for your message and I will convey this to Chef Umberto as well.

We look forward to welcome you again to Paradise in the future.

Kind regards,

Andy Kunz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2015

We had book a 14 nights at deluxe seaview suite. A very big plus of this hotel for us- is silence and soundproof in the room and really awesome location. We had room #51 - this is the best view i think of all hotels,thanks a lot to reservation team! Air conditioner in the room is the best -so silence,so comfort-just perfect!! The sea is a cristall clear-no garbage,no jellyfish,we love this.
For the first time in Thailand a Big disappointment we have caused the service and attention to guests.
No body know your name after 11 th nights, it is not interested.
Pool boys staff requires training to match the level of 5 stars hotel. After repeated jokes in Russian, we had to tell them to stop .
It upset us.

Generally hotel okay,but not luxury level.

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Daria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2015

Dear Daria G,

Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you found our location awesome, that the room was just perfect and very comfortable and that you had the best view. Our rooms and villas are indeed all very quiet which allows our guests to relax and enjoy a peaceful rest.

On another hand I am sorry about the shortfalls of service an lack of attention to your privacy. Fortunately I had the chance to discuss this with you during your stay and resolve the problems. As you are aware we had discussions with our team at the pool to ensure all our guests can fully enjoy their time. I would like to use this opportunity to once again apologise for the disappointment caused and thank you for bringing this to my attention while still at the resort so I got the chance to rectify the experience.

I know that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and our services and facilities and I look forward to welcome you back to Paradise next time you choose Thailand for your vacation.

Sincerely,

Andy Kunz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2015 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed at this resort for 8 nights. Great facilities, beautiful pool, very helpful staff. We have visited Thailand many times before and Anantara resorts have always been impressive. We felt utterly refreshed and rejuvinated.
The private beach is one of the very few that you can easily swim in and enjoy the surrounding spectacular views.
Special mention to chef Pitak at Dee plee restaurant who made amazing food for us every night. Wensday night drinks with the GM was also a nice touch.
Definitely a great place to get away from it all and relax and unwind.

Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Sabzehzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2015

Dear Sabzehzar,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions from your recent stay with us. We are glad that you felt utterly refreshed and rejuvenated. Chef Pitak certainly deserved a special mention, he is a super star and prepares the best Thai food.

We look forward to welcome you again whenever you need to get away from it all and relaz and unwind.

Best regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2015

My fiance and I stayed for 3 nights in a Premier Room. There's a lot of work still being done in the resort area, though it seems to be for the Anantara Residences rather than for the hotel. Layan is located far from anything else, so all guests have to take expensive/rip-off taxi service wherever you go. It's at least an hour to Kata beach and the busy tourist areas. The best part of our stay is the breakfast every morning and the F&B staff. There's a strong selection of breakfast foods and they make eggs/bacon/sausages fresh. The downside of breakfast is when the cooking gets busy, orders get forgotten/lost (this happened on the Sunday morning we were there). We had lunch at the resort on the first day. It took 1 hour for us to get our food and because it took so long, the staff waived the drinks from our bills. Although that was a nice gesture, we would have been happier if the food just arrived sooner. The reception service was hit-and-miss depending on which receptionist was helping you. Some receptionists were stellar and a couple completely forgot about our requests (booking cars, spas etc). The biggest disappointment about the hotel and Phuket in general is the private taxi scam. Each hotel has a list of taxi companies that they call. However, the charge for the same distance is different every time and non-negotiable (though we did negotiate once we got into the taxi and some drivers were willing to lower the prices.) We noticed that because Anantara Layan is farther away and considered a higher-end hotel, the taxi fare quoted leaving the hotel was always more expensive than getting a taxi back to the hotel. We've complained to the reception about this issue and they've acknowledged that they receive this complaint frequently, but they just blame the taxi companies. It's a disappointment about traveling in Phuket and makes staying in Layan a less than optimal choice. The resort is well-maintained and the rooms were fine.

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JocelynT852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2015

Dear JocelynT852,

First of all thank you for choosing Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa for your stay in Phuket. I am glad that you appreciated our breakfast and the F&B staff, that you found our resort well maintained and that your room was fine.

I am sorry to read that you have encountered several inconsistencies with service, especially with forgotten orders at breakfast and the long wait you had on the first day. This is certainly very disappointing and I would like to apologise once again. I will review this with the team to ensure it will not happen again.

As you highlighted, our resort is located on a quiet area of Phuket and therefore going to town requires transportation. The Laguna area which has small restaurants and shops is about 10 minutes away, whereas Phuket Town or Patong are about 45 minutes away.

Transportation on the island is one of the biggest complaints by tourists in Phuket, The taxi and tuk tuk “collectives” have long had an iron grip on the island’s transport services. Unfortunately the hotel has no control over this and we are obliged to apply the rates which have been set. I fully understand that this can tarnish the overall experience as it causes a lot of frustration not just for our guests but also for us at the resort. To our regret this seems unlikely to change any time soon.

We appreciate all your comments and we hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews