We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Trisara(Choeng Thale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Andaman White Beach Resort(Thalang District)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pavilions Phuket(Choeng Thale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Naithon Beach Resort(Thalang District)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phuket Naithon Resort(Thalang District)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Angsana Villas Resort Phuket(Choeng Thale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Phuket(Thalang District)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (890)
Filter reviews
890 results
Traveler rating
689
141
36
15
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
689
141
36
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdee pleethai restaurantsala pool villaapple tvlow tideprivate poolpaddle boardsexecutive chefcooking classbreakfast spreadminute drivef bamazing hotelfood and beveragespecial thanksour honeymoonmain pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
593 - 598 of 890 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel - even when staying there as we did during the soft opening period, and I would happily return later when everything is completed.

There are many great points but beyond what is expected if a 5-star hotel (which it delivers on), I would especially highlight the secluded location and private beach, the calm and luxurious ambience, and unusually friendly staff.

Two let downs.

I desired two specific day trips (diving and snorkelling). I went to reception expressing what I desired and every time the reply was no availability. It took me at least 20 minutes each time to sort out, getting the hotel to ring other agents and each time I had amazing luxurious trips to my desired destination a that I would have missed out on if believing reception. As a guest in a 5-star resort I expect the hotel to supply what I ask for and think beyond their own agent.

A integral part of coming to this part of the world is spa treatments and massages. The hotel is very aggressively priced for treatments with prices well above other 5-star hotels both in Asia and Europe. I cannot exclude that the finished spa will lend itself to such prices but I would be surprised. This price policy needs managerial consideration.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E5_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear SE1er_in_Lodnon,

"Excellent. Tranquil. Luxurious." - Thank you for these great description of Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa and fo highlighting our friendly staff.

It was a great pleasure for the entire team to make your stay enjoyable.

I also appreciate your feedback in regards to the difficulties with your day trip bookings and your concerns with our Spa pricing. Rest assured that I will look into this to ensure we do not let our guests down.

Again thank you for your visit and until next time...

Sincerely,

Andy Kunz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We spend 12 days in this brandnew Anantara Resort at Layan Beach Phuket. A small paradise amongst the beautiful sandy and romantic beaches of Phuket. Arriving at Anantara is always an event; a very personal touch and feeling right away at home. We had an upgrade (to a beautiful Pool Villa) because of the works up in the hills, where they were finishing the last buildings in which we booked a room. The service was impeccable, fluently and personal. The staff is amazingly friendly and helpfull! We fell in love with them and were sad to leave those lovely people! The extra complimentary service is really incredible; every night we received a Chef's Degustation in the room, all high class appetizers or drinks: wonderfull! The breakfast was sensational; great presentation and everything a person could ever want for breakfast! But the staff: they are so lovely and adorable (Specially Au and DeeDee, Patrick, and all the others!) The only negative we experienced was the prices of the lunches and dinners, the drinks and the wines. I think that needs to be finetuned, quality-price relation. If there were little more balanced and less expensive rates for these F&B, we should have eaten (and drank) much more inside the hotel. Anyway, we were already huge fans of Anantara, and after this holiday, we are even more fan now! Thanks for the smiles, service and love of you all, staff at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterSas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear PeterSas,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Paradise. We are incredibly proud of our associates who work hard to deliver memorable experiences and getting the recognition of our valuable guests encourages us to always do more.
I have noted your comments in regards to our food and beverage prices. We review and compare our prices on a regular basis with similar restaurants in other resorts in Phuket to ensure we offer good value.

We look forward to welcome you again soon in the Land of Smiles.

Warm regards,

Andy Kunz
Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The resort is well appointed and high class with great amenities in the rooms. The views are stunning, and the location is low key and quiet, away from the madness of Phuket. The beach is in a protected cove, so it very shallow and the ater is very warm, though the sand is a little bit rough and there are not any breaking wave to play in; the beach is not a strength of this resort. They are still in the soft opening phase, so a few things are not complete, like the spa. Overall they do nice job with service, friendly, fast and attention to details. I stayed here solo, so I had more of mixed experience--it is much better for couples. Frequently, staff would say "only one?" a little surprised and judgmental. There were time where I was ignored for service as well, as they thought others would be joining me--a detail they really need to take care of if they plan to be a top tier resort.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Man-o-Steele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Man-o-Steele,

We are delighted to read that you found our resort well appointed with stunning views in a quiet location away from the madness of Phuket.

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback and please accept my sincere apologies for the lack of special attention in certain areas. I can assure you that the team works tirelessly to deliver a memorable experience to all our guests. From your comments it is however clear that we need to put greater emphasis on our interactions with solo travellers and we will focus on this in our training.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I believe that a good way to judge a hotel is by the way they respond to a problem and by this standard, the Anantara Layan went above and beyond the call of duty. On the first day of our holiday there, my husband had a moped accident, suffering gravel rash over most of his body and damaging his knee. From the moment a lovely local American lady came to deliver the news to me at the hotel, they took over, organising transport to the hospital for my daughter and I with a member of staff to accompany us, who stayed with us for five hours, long after she should have gone off duty (Thank you so much, kind and sweet Ploy). The following day, the marvellous manager Carla Puverel organised borrowed crutches within an hour and arranged for daily dressing changes at a local clinic. But that was just the least of it - for our whole stay he was treated like a prince, provided with buggies to deliver him to bar, pool and restaurant, with staff constantly stopping to enquire after his health and to see if he needed anything. Bar manager Spook and his staff including Nook, were particularly solicitous and kind. We received lovely flowers and cards in our room from Carla and the staff and from our villa hosts James and Air.
Our room (a one bed beach villa) was beautiful with lovely views of the sea and the lagoon. Beds enormously comfortable and lots of lovely details such as flip flops and beach bag, two types of dressing gown, mosquito spray and pillow spray, Nespresso coffee machine, Apple TV so we could play stuff from iPads on the TV. The hotel wi-fi was free and very good, working all over the resort from the time we arrived to the time we left, without the usual need to sign in again every time your leave the room or switch your laptop off!
The food in both the main restaurant and the Thai restaurant was fantastic, with a huge a la carte choice, but the wonderful chef Umberto Piccolino (marvellous company as well as a great cook!) is happy to make you anything you feel like if what is on the menu does not appeal. Breakfast was excellent and lovely to linger over as the views are beautiful. Everything available from cooked to order pancakes and omelettes, English and Thai cooked breakfasts, pastries (including the sought after cronut!), healthy options, an amazing cheese board and a wonderful selection of juices. We started each day with a glass of champagne as it seemed rude not to!
Every single member of staff was courteous and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. By the time we were all celebrating the Thai New Year together on the second day, we felt like family. The staff made sure we had a different holiday rather than a ruined holiday after my husband's accident and for that we are enormously grateful.
The owner of the hotel is very much involved with a turtle conservation programme and we were fortunate enough to be allowed to release a turtle into the sea as part of this - a very special experience that we have never had anywhere else.
The hotel had not quite opened its main reception, spa and some rooms, and the private residences were still under construction but none of this affected our stay in any way and we were not disturbed by any construction noise or mess.
We have never returned to a beach resort more than once, however much we liked it, life being too short and all that, but we will definitely go back to the Anantara Layan, and sooner rather than later. The location, rooms, food, etc, are all fantastic but it is the wondeful staff, who really make the place, from the moment you arrive to be greeted by managers Andi and Carla and chef Umberto to the moment you depart, clutching lovely orchids as a farewell committee wave you off. Cannot recommend highly enough1

Room Tip: Villa 11 (one bed beach villa) has lovely views of both the sea and the lagoon.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tancred1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear tancred1964,

We are humbled and honoured to be considered your favourite hotel ever, this encourage us to always do more and be even better every day. We are blessed with the most amazing staff here in Phuket and are all really looking forward to welcome you back soon.

We hope that your husband recovered from his injuries and that the crutches were stored away.

As you rightly mentioned life is too short, so don't wait long, your villa is ready here in Paradise waiting for you.

Sincerely,

The entire Team of Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Having recently returned home after 7 fantastic days at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort and Spa - it is a pleasure for me to give our testimonials for this lovely resort !
First of all we were lookiing for a nice resort which was located outside the most touristic beaches as Kata, Karon, Patong. This resort is located in a more silent area of Phuket. It is a very convenient located from the airport - only 25 minutes with a taxi. If you want to go to more busy beachstreches - there is Surin beach only 15 minutes with taxi from the hotel (appr 500 thb).
We stayed in a pool villa which was very well equipped with winecooler, espresso machine (complimentary coffee), amenities, pillow menu etc. The Resort has two nice restaurants - one Thai restaurant very nicely located on a hill with a nice view and ambience. The other one -located close to the pool has an international menu. The food is good - but the breakfast is exceptional ! The best we have ever had! It is so nicely presented and with such delicate taste ! The Italian chef Umberto does a fantastic job and can fulfil whatever request you have for eating. Dinners can also be arranged in your villa. There is one pool and as soon as you lay down on one of the sunchairs - the staff is there to serve you with cold towels and waterbottles (complimentary). On the beach there are surf-and paddling boards and canoes for free use. The resort also provides free bicycles for use. The fitness center is equipped with the latest equipment for a good exercise !
Mr Spooks is there around the pool and bar and want to assure that everything is fine with you. The management has really achieved to find and train the right staff to give you the absolute best service and experience from your stay. If we were pressured to give any negative thing from our stay - it would be the beach and the tide...but then you can easily take a taxi or bike? to another beach. Another drawback is the pricelist for the Spa treatments - it is even more expensive than to get massage in Sweden! Other than that - it is only positive feedback! We want to return next year ! Thanks for fulfilling and exceeding our expectations !

Room Tip: The pool villas are very very nice !
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariePetervilla27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear MariePetervilla27,

We cannot thank you enough for the fantastic testimonial on TripAdvisor. Chef Umberto, Mr. Spooks and the entire team at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa are looking forward to welcome you back to your favourite home in Phuket.

With best regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews