We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible rooms and views. totally relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pavilions Phuket
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    76
    27
    17
    12
See reviews for
30
510
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
HongKong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2007

we just spent one day there during a weekend in phuket. the villa is just fantastic - great breakfast with a wide range of food, unexpected bottle of sparkling wine upon arrival, a hugh private pool overlooking the sea and sunset, excellent bathroom, friendly and helpful staff...everything's perfect - except that the newspaper should be delivered in the morning instead of mid-afternoon.

i enjoyed my stay there very much!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WanHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2007

This establishment provides excellent accommodation, however lacks the kind of first class service that one expects when paying the kinds of rates they charge. If you have the same surname as anyone else in the world (of course you do) beware!! The management cancelled our fully paid accommodation the day before our arrival as they had 2 bookings under the same surname (different first names)! We were forced to book a nights accomodation at our own expense in Patong- not a very good start to our honeymoon. We are pretty easy going and had our agent rectify the situation for the following nights- HOWEVER- once we had checked in (no apology for thier mistake), we encountered more problems- our tour company rang to confirm we had a tour the night before we were to be picked up- staff told them that we were not staying there ( we missed our tour and had to reschedule!). We at least got an apology that time but were offered no compensation for either mix up! There were occasions housekeeping forgot towels, we recieved our newspaper only once in four nights and simple requests often required reminders. We met a lovely Brittish couple who gave us advice on the area- the hotel provided none of that. We stayed in 5 hotels/resorts across Thailand on our honeymoon- while the pavilions had the most spectacular accomodation, they did not come close to any of the others for service level. Oh, and once you have paid your bill and checked out, don't expect a "thank you for staying with us" or even a "good bye"!

  • Liked — great accom and privacy
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank luxuryAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankDreist, General Manager at The Pavilions Phuket, responded to this review, April 29, 2007
We are very surprised to see this review, as clients had cancelled their booking thru their agent the day before arrival, last minute, from Chiang Mai, to go to a hotel in Patong. Our Front Office Manager spoke to the clients on that day and also the day after, once they decided to re-book, as the accommodation they had choosen, did not please them. She actually met and sat down with them on arrival to explain, that not only we did not charge last minute cancellation, but also were happy to reinstall their booking.
We have received no information on the tour to our record and our staff is well informed about "What to do?" on and around Phuket.
Our aim is to provide personalized service at the highest level, and our customer feedback is very positive, therefor we are the more concerned about a negative review, based on incorrect facts.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2007

Your private heaven on Phuket
Impressions of villa 21

When planing our holidays we have trust on tripadvisor as we have never been disappointed by any of the hotels that we picked through this site.

This year we planed to visit the island of Phuket. As we have been a frequent visitor of Koh Samui we were afraid of crowds of tourists so we looked for a very private hotel with lots of intimacy.

And we found all of this together with great service, very good food and a priceless view from your own terrace into an “every nigth sundown-cinema“.

But from the beginning:

We where picked up from Phuket airport by a chauffeur from the hotel in a comfortable Volvo limousine. After a 15 min. drive through busy Thalong we reached the 24/7 secured gates of Phuket Pavilions. Brought to the reception we where welcomed by the assistant manager, like the rest of the personal he was young, very friendly, good English speaking, helpful and discreet but always there when needed.

After check-in procedure and receiving our own personal i-Pod with a selection of well-fitting music we where driven to our villa in a golf-cart. Due to the location of the hotel on top of a hill, an ideal way of transportation which is complementary and there when ever you need it.

As we were seeking a perfect hideaway our assistant asked for a very private room via e-mail and although there was only little time between the mail and our arrival it worked just perfectly. We were brought to Villa 21 that is located first row right over the jungle and is the last one in its row. The villa itself is overwhelming and THE best that we stayed in, in south east Asia (incl Banyan Tree and Evason Hideaway).
Through the entrance with a small pond you are entering the large living room equipped with TV, stereo, i-dock and beautiful euro-asian furniture. On the opposite side of the living room a complete glass front leads to the highlight of the villa a large private terrace with the private 12x4 meter pool beach chairs and garden Sala, from where you can enjoy the stunning view over the jungle up to the Andaman sea. Next to the living room connected via a hallway there is a big bedroom and an mind blowing bathroom with big tub and separate shower(room) with a rainfall shower. Bedroom and bathroom are connected by a walk through closet with lots of storage-room. From the bed it is just two steps into the pool, a perfect way to begin the day.
In front of our terrace there a two treetops of apx. 30 meter high trees located in the jungle right under the terrace that provide shadow but don't bother the view. One of the treetops is in fact situated right on the terrace through a hole in the floor of the wooden planks, where you can look down right into the jungle.

The no tan-lines policy of the hotel is working perfect, 99% of the terrace area are completely private and can not be seen by any other villa or part of the hotel.

Due to the 24/7 room service and the in room spa service there is no need to ever leave the villa, but that would mean that you would miss another highlight of the Hotel the 360° bar and lounge. Situated on the hilltop and reached by a short walk up the hill or by golf-cart the bar gives a gigantic view over the hotel-hill, the Andaman sea and the Island its-self. The friendly and attentive personal serves drinks (best long (island) Phuket ice-tea in Thailand) and food either at the bar or on the nicely decorated tables with large cosy lounge-chairs.

For those of you worrying about not being directly on the beach there is a complimentary shuttle service in the hotels own tuk-tuk (apx. 2min.) to Layan beach, the northern part of 8 km long bang Tao beach that is equipped with beautiful white sand and is absolutely not crowded. Beachtowls and beach chairs are provided by the hotel personal.

After all Phuket Pavilions is THE perfect place for couples seeking privacy and excellent service in a luxury environment.

Any further questions, don´t hesitate to ask:

dr.begemann@urologie-harburg.de

  • Liked — Complete privacy, private pool, stunning ocean view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Camillo_Golgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2007

phuket pavilions is a tranquil, chic oasis in the middle of the overdeveloped, touristy island of Phuket. if you are looking for a small, private, non-resort setting, phuket pavilions is your place. the best feature was its location 5 minutes away from the beach. why was this the best part? because it made the rates affordable and the villa completely private. we had a HUGE private villa with an amazing infinity pool. the hilltop setting made for breathtaking views of the sea. it sounds totally cliché, but we watched the sunset 6 nights in a row and every night was spectacularly different.

the food was high quality, tasty and the variety of western and thai was good. you could opt for less expensive dining at the local restaurants but then you'd be subject to many large groups and families with children. not worth it to us on our honeymoon.

the 360 bar is an outdoor bar/lounge at the top of the hill and offered 360 degree views (hence the name) of the sea and mountains. perfect for sunrise and sunset. the specialty cocktails were yummy, especially the pomelo caipirinha!

the quality of the spa treatments were surprisingly the best we've ever had (sorry Four Seasons). we had 2 types of massages, body wraps and body scrubs and all were incredibly soothing.

the staff was young and not as experienced as you would find in a large 5 star chain resort however they were so sweet and accomodate every special request we had. they were eager to please but not to the point where it makes you feel uncomfortable.


Tips:
-request the last pavilion, #21 if your desire is to be totally secluded. sunbathe topless, never see any other guests unless you venture outside of your villa.
-by all means STAY AWAY from Patong Beach.

  • Liked — location, privacy, views
  • Disliked — surprised that the bed was Queen, not King.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank G-L-D-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2007

Amazing. After spending 3 days at Treetops Arasia (down the road) we moved to Phuket Pavillions. Treetops was fine, but Phuket Pavillions was great and cost less per night. Absolute privacy, huge pool, beautiful room, food was great. In room spa-service - you never have to leave. Far from the beach, but they have a shuttle which we did not partake of. We stayed 2 nights, just swimming, sunning, and eating. It was great. The 360 bar was fun for sunset, and the watermelon drink was tastey. The staff is also very nice and helpful. A great value for a quiet, private, large space.

  • Liked — Privacy, pool and great space
  • Disliked — Distance to beach
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Pigandeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2006

Fabulous. I really have nothing but praise for these villas. Totally magical experience with the most welcoming, attentive and friendly staff I have ever met.

Food - Fabulous
Room - Fabulous
Location - Fabulous
Pool - Fabulous
Spa - Fabulous

My new husband got this 100% right for our honeymoon.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Try to get villa number 9. It has great views
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank regular_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
9.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
8.6 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#4 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
9.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,344 reviews
2.0 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 95 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilions Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilions Phuket

Property: The Pavilions Phuket
Address: 31/1 Moo 6 | Cherngtalay, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#2 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pavilions Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high above Layan Beach, The Pavilions Phuket is a resort as spacious as it is private and peaceful. Decidedly adult, each private villa is a haven of tranquility. Whether you're celebrating a special occasion or looking to relax and reconnect, The Pavilions is your perfect intimate escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Pavilions Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pavilions Phuket Hotel Thalang
Phuket Pavilions Hotel Cherngtalay
Phuket Pavilions Cherngtalay
The Pavilions Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing