We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Cocktails @ 360 plus Dinner at Plantation Club”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pavilions Phuket
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent Cocktails @ 360 plus Dinner at Plantation Club”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

360 cocktails were, as usual, excellent. Spoilt somewhat by the (much) louder than usual music blasting from the bar but we coped! Followed this with a lovely dinner at Plantation Club. Service was very good as usual & prices were reasonable, especially happy hour cocktails. The six of us were very happy diners and we will, of course, return again in March.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    76
    27
    17
    12
See reviews for
30
510
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Great property... For almost one week we didn't want to get out from the villa! Staff are fantastic and getting up late-than-usual on their lovely bed is not a problem because their fantastic breakfast ends at 11am!
Their gentle white beach is only a minute away for us to enjoy and spend the day.
Would definitely return...

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pangesthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Away from the hustle and bustle of Phuket. As this was a 7 night romantic getaway this location was perfect. We did get a taxi into Patong one night to see the markets and nightlife. My husband and I had both been backpacking in Thailand years ago so we wanted to treat ourselves to something special and the accommodation did not dissapoint. The staff were very friendly and the villas were amazing. I loved the iPod docks already loaded with a variety of easy listening tunes. Loads of space to chill out in the villa and the 360 bar was great for a sunset drink (don't forget the insect repellent though! - However they do provide that if you forget). I left feeling totally relaxed and pampered.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquiPorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and i stayed at the pavilions for our first year anniversary. The resort is amazing , the villas are spacious with total privacy. The staff are friendly and pleasant they go out of there way to make your stay there as pleasant as possible.
If your after the hustle and bustle and nightlife of patong then the pavilions is not for you.If your after a private ,relaxing and romantic type of trip then the pavilions is definitely for you, with not much to do to just sit by your own pool villa pool and relax. We loved our stay there and highly recommend it. Only thing which was lacking was a fitness centre which is currently being planned hopefully in time for our next stay there.

Room Tip: pool suites only way to go ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Cocktails in the 360 and dinner in the restaurant with the panorama set before you. Excellent Thai and international food. Beautiful service. Was surprised how quiet this is. Prices are surprisingly reasonable for this level of hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LCH857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I travel a lot for work and stay in 5 star hotels - which I normally rate highly because in most cases they fail to disappoint. I was hoping for the same when choosing the Pavillions - a peaceful, luxurious and secluded holiday. In all honesty - we did get that minus the luxury.

"Love is in the air" is the motto and the song plays in the car transfer from the airport to the resort - way too corny for my taste but I suppose lots of couples love that. The first sight of the villa/apartment is a WOW which with time diminishes as you discover faults. The pools are tiny - much like a bigger bath and also of dubious cleanliness even though a fountain replenishes new water . The sofa in the living room had stains and needed a very good wash/change. We would cover it with bath towels when watching TV. Breakfast is an ordeal as you have the obligatory debrief of the previous day's activity with the Guest Relation Manager. visiting each table for a chit chat as you are trying to eat your toast in peace. The "360 bar" is accessible only by buggy - even the fittest person on the planet will struggle the steep climb by foot (on a wet day a hazard) - and the same bar is busy only at sunset, after which everyone disappears. The lap pool area needs a five star revamp - its like a hole filled with water in a field next to a construction site - the deck chairs were dirty and somewhat abandoned to the elements. The afternoon tea venue resembles a pacific island church and the offerings are a pretty sad event as couples gather to eat sweet nothings. The thought was nice but the whole affair was pretty sad. We only went there once. Dining at the signature restaurant was a non-event as hardly anyone was there during our lengthy stay at the hotel (max one or two couples and on one occasion the entire team was serving only us). On the last two nights it smelled of fresh paint which ruined our appetite. The menu is mixed western/Thai and overall not too bad but don't expect haute cuisine. Frankly, I wouldn't go back - I prefer creature comfort hotels / resorts which cater for every need and certainly offer much more, but that's just me. Its probably Ok for a night or two (it gets awfully boring otherwise) and if you like modern furnishings, a location far away from the beach. On a positive - the local staff were nice and courteous.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HKFrequentFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCNager, General Manager at The Pavilions Phuket, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Reader,

I was very sorry to read that we fell short of these guests expectations of a luxury retreat.
We are a small boutique hotel that prides itself on the personal attention and relationship building with our guests and we regret that our service delivered with “tender love & care” was not well received by these customers.

One of the highlights of our private villas, widely treasured by our guests, are the generously sized pools, with dimensions far exceeding those of standard plunge pools.
We equally regret that none of our dining outlets, neither our 360° Bar & Grill, with its panoramic views and sunset delights, popular with both local customers and hotel guests, nor our jungle retreat Eastland and its complimentary afternoon tea ritual, could satisfy their needs. These guests correctly pointed out that resort has a very private atmosphere, whereby most of our guests enjoying spending quality time in their villa, or a tranquil dinner on the terrace of our main restaurant at The Plantation Club.

We sincerely hope that these guests still carried home some of the Pavilions memories cherished by our guests and appreciate their honest feedback.

Loving Regards,

Jean-Christophe Nager
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Spent a month doing severe high altitude trekking in Bhutan, then a week in Phuket, Thailand. Chose The Pavilions, Phuket because it was out of the touristy areas and looked like a first-rate oasis in which to recuperate. We chose very well -- it is beautiful, secluded, tastefully developed and luxurious. Our own private plunge pool was amazing. The service and attention to detail are second to none. Food was very good -- the restaurants are certainly not as cheap as Patong Beach or Phuket City, but really well priced for the quality and the fact that you're eating in a high-end hotel. In addition you have access to a private area on a beach about a 5-minute drive, provided free of charge by the hotel - a beautiful, mostly deserted beach with a great inexpensive beach bar. Taking a taxi to Patong Beach or Phuket City was about 30 - 45 minutes and a great way to spend a few hours. The spa experience was terrific also. One tip - use your insect repellent at night if you're going to hang around outside.

Room Tip: Ocean view with plunge pool a must. We watched the sunset from our pool patio every night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
9.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
8.6 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#4 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
9.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,344 reviews
2.0 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 95 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilions Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilions Phuket

Property: The Pavilions Phuket
Address: 31/1 Moo 6 | Cherngtalay, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#2 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pavilions Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high above Layan Beach, The Pavilions Phuket is a resort as spacious as it is private and peaceful. Decidedly adult, each private villa is a haven of tranquility. Whether you're celebrating a special occasion or looking to relax and reconnect, The Pavilions is your perfect intimate escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Pavilions Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pavilions Phuket Hotel Thalang
Phuket Pavilions Hotel Cherngtalay
Phuket Pavilions Cherngtalay
The Pavilions Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing