We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious sunshine!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pavilions Phuket
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Overall: The Pavillions is a great place to relax & unwind. We found it to be quite peaceful and tranquil.

Villa: The pool villa itself was very clean, spacious with it's own lounge room - equipped with a large flat screen & theatre system, kitchenette, and spa rooms. The double king-sized bed was so comfortable that like other reviewers, I must admit my partner and I had the best sleep in a long, long time. Although we were equipped with insect repellant, we found that we didn't have to use it.

Staff: The staff were really friendly, helpful and always willing to please.

Spa: The spa treatments (massages), were excellent. We took up 2 services and were very pleased.

Food: There were some really good Thai dishes at the Plantation Club, but we found ourselves waiting 40-45mins after giving our order (a bit slow given that there were only 2-3 other couples there at any one time). Towards the end of our stay we found it more convenient to have dinner delivered to our room. The Eastlands only offered lunch between 12pm-6pm or complimentary tea at 3.30pm. Bar 360 opened at 6pm and offered limited bbq'd dishes. Overall a limited menu for those staying longer than 3 days, especially breakfast as this menu never changes.

Location: You may find the hotel to be a little too remote. You can't walk to the beach nor are there any shops nearby. You won't find taxi's to hail at the front of the hotel either. Booking it via reception meant paying between 600 baht & 1200 baht to get into Kamala & Patong respectively. The resort also offered a private chauffeur driven car which cost 700 baht/hr with a minimum of 3hrs. We took the latter option and were pleased to have our own tour guide whilst feeling safe. In hindsight, it would've been great if the resort offered a shuttle bus to a local shopping precinct.

Suggestion: More recreational activities such as a gym, tennis courts or putt-putt golf would have been great.

Despite the dining and location comments, we do thank all the staff for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travelmite2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCNager, General Manager at The Pavilions Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Reader,

We are pleased that these guests carried home such lovely memories of The Pavilions, a perfect place to enjoy precious “time a deux” where our team strives to fulfill your every wish, with discreet yet heartfelt service.

We offer an array of dining options, including Thai and Western specialties at The Plantation Club, an extensive In Villa Dining selection, as well as international tapas and BBQ specialties accompanied by our signature Love Potion cocktails at our 360° Bar & Grill.
Our Champagne breakfast is a feast in itself, with a buffet selection on top of the eclectic à la carte offer, including all time classics, Asian specialties and health conscious options to grant an excellent start into the day.
We regret to read that the guests experienced some delays in food delivery and have promptly addressed their comments with our service team.

With regard to the guests’ observations about public transportation, each area of Phuket has its own taxi association with set rates to the different destinations. Our Guest Service Executives just take the hassle out of hailing a taxi by arranging pick up directly from the hotel lobby at your preferred time. As mentioned, we also provide dedicated limousine service, on top of a complimentary daily shuttle to Layan beach.

We are pleased to inform our readers that a private gym is already in our future development plans, while mini golf, putting green and an array of other sport activities are available within close proximity to The Pavilions.

In conclusion, we are delighted that these guests enjoyed the beauty and atmosphere of The Pavilions under a “glorious sunshine”!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
There are newer reviews for The Pavilions Phuket
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 703 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent 6 nights at The Pavilions for our honeymoon. We booked using a scoopon travel deal.

We were greeted at the airport with a cool drink and face cloth, which was welcome after a sticky journey from Sydney. The staff here are incredible, nothing was too much bother. My wife was feeling sick and they sorted out some ginger/honey tea, and organised a visit to us doctor, even waiting for us to take us back to the resort. They organised our day trip and simply added that to the final bill.

The food was brilliant, at both the main restaurant and the 360 bar. We arranged for the in-villa BBQ in the buff (sorry no pics), and the snapper is definitely worth getting, probably two portions...it's that good.

We organised a few massages, the ladies that came to the villa were great, the foot massage was sensational, i couldn't move afterward i was relaxed. The massages are held in your villa, you don't even have to go out.

The accommodation was superb, spacious & clean. Nice little touches at night from the turn down service. We borrowed a few DVD's from the library to watch in the evening. The bed was very comfy. Noisey frogs outside but sleep didn't evade us.

All in all we couldn't fault The Pavilions - might be a bit out of the way for some people, but for us....it was exactly what we wanted. Jean-Christoph and his team have got a real gem here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewHughes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I very rarely write reveiws however for a resort like this I just feel I need to share our amazing experience. My husband and I holiday often, usually staying in 5 star resorts, this was our first experience in a villa, and will defiantly not be our last. From the time we arrived with the welcome drink, the airport pickup not 1 thing was missed. The staff at this resort are outstanding ! The food is amazing and the accommodation just brilliant. It has been an incredible week for us and both having busy jobs it has just been amazing. We ate at the resort the entire week and although not cheap for Asia certainly very cheap compared to our 5 star restaurants in Perth. The food was 5 star and so was the service.
We will certainly return to this resort as we only have 1 complaint and that is 1 week is not longer enough.
Thank you Pavillons for such an amazing holiday.
Many happy regards Cindy and Gary.

Room Tip: Any room is amazing :)
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindy0989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

The Pavillions is a great place to stay for a week. Any more than that and I feel you might get bored.
The staff are great and helpful and always willing.
We stayed in a pool villa which was great. I have read reviews about the rooms that called them tired. Ours was not and was very spacious. The pool and sun area are a good size although the vision on the day bed could do with some attention. We have been to Phuket before so the need for trips and shopping was not great for us. Hence the feeling that after a week you might get bored. Certainly I feel the food menu is very limited for anything of a longer stay. The food although nicely cooked and well presented was a bit bland for me. Just a safe, limited, tourist menu I found. Certainly after a few days your choices really narrow.
The location like many luxury hotels is a bit remote but you can't have the piece and quiet in the city can you.
You can take taxis to the shopping mall and such but after a while it makes you wonder wether or not it's worth paying £20 to go.
A great idea would be a shuttle bus. Even if it went twice a day.
Another minor gripe.
What's with the budget TV stations ? Not really what you'd expect from a top hotel. If you spend a lot of time relaxing by watching the TV you'll be really bored. The hotel has a good video library but you don't always want to watch a film. Also the hotel could certainly update their newspaper policy.
Three day old papers not really on.
Overall I enjoyed my stay and would go back so I suppose it's just personal preferences but that is what life is about.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonWanderer66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We chose The Pavilions for our 'weddingmoon' destination solely based on tripadvisor reviews. Having weighed the pros and cons, we are prepared for the worst but turned out everything met / exceeded our expectations. We opt for Ocean view villa for a 5 day 4 night stay and it's exactly as what it looks like in their website. I remembered a reviewer mentioned about their comfy bed and its undeniably true. It's so comfy that it's the best sleep we had since we can't remember when. It's a bliss by just lying there by just facing the ocean on bed till late afternoon.

We're also blown away by their service, each of their staffs whom attended to us remembers which villa we're from, especially the buggies. Room service is great too, they always give us a call to check if we need to have our rooms cleaned so that they won't disturb us when we're around.

It felt so homey and yet romantic with the ambience and views from the villa that we hardly left it to explore the rest of Phuket.

What impressed us most is all the details that they paid attention to as a romance destination; every time we got back into the villa, there will be sticky notes on a red heart like love notes for us. It's really sweet and thoughtful that makes us felt even more loved.

On our wedding day, we also have photographers to photograph us and the resort staffs willingly drove us around the resort to take our pre wedding shoot.

We had our meals mostly in restaurants in the resort or in-villa and the best must be 'Barbecue in the buff' having a romantic and fun BBQ next to the private pool.

They have all the amenities we need as a honeymoon couple and overall we were very satisfied. We're already planning for our future anniversaries and I can't wait to be back with to an even better The Pavilions!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherryyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

from the entrance you can feel the romance n smell the breeze..taking a look at the greeneries and having a walk through them is a magnificent view..getting your dinner at the 360 restaurant with a panoramic view to the elegant part of Phuket is definitely a special spot for life saved pictures with your loved ones... putting aside the most friendly staff and helpful workers out there your stay can never be complete without them and their love letters and flowers left every night to make it just perfect stay.. Privacy is the key..u can never hear your neighbor villa..ours was the tropical one and with one call ur golf car arrive to drive u anywhere inside.. we stayed like a year ago but it will always be a special spot that will come again every anniversary

Room Tip: tropical villa is a great deal nothing different than the ocean one except the view but still u can...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Em E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

After spending 4 days in the ever so hectic Thai capital we were extremely excited to spend some quality relaxing time at The Pavilions. We had chosen The Pavilions out of a number of other choices despite the similarity from a few negative reviews. I would definitely have to agree with the review below. All the local staff were brilliant and definitely made our stay better. The staff at breakfast were attentive and sincere, they welcomed us everyday and made the extra effort. Similarly the room service staff, reception staff and maintenance staff all demonstrated service of high standards. But the villas really need a considerable amount of maintenance and repair. There is so much wear and tear inside the villa that we were reluctant to call it luxurious. The bedroom curtains had a massive rip, the wood on the bathroom cabinet was falling apart and the door from the pool to the bedroom did not close properly. Worst of all, it was unfortunate that we could see the broken roof tops of neighbouring villas. One of them was completely damaged with missing tiles and the another one had a black plastic bag like cover on top of it. It did not add to the romantic appeal the hotel was intending to go for.

There is wifi in the room and it was not of good connection as we had to reset it practically everyday as the plug is too heavy for the wall and keeps on falling out.

Another point to mention was that the housekeeping needs to be a little more attentive. We had a problem with the air conditioning, as it was leaking water from the walls. Housekeeping did not clean up the water on the floor or walls when they were here and only did so when we mentioned the problem. The staff are lovely but they do need to check and refill things. The guys who cleaned the pool every morning were amazing, they always came no matter the weather!!

As we had purchased a package, we never received our complimentary champagne after looking back at what was included which was strange.

The food at The Pavilions was excellent. The breakfast menu had a balanced variety of Thai and Western choices. The room service menu is well balanced however I would like to have ordered Thai desserts which was unfortunately not on the menu. The food is of good quality however we did find the room service to be a little inconsistent with the servings.

On a more positive note, the massage was amazing! Probably the best I have ever had in Thailand. As they really tended to an individuals needs, it really felt good. Also being able to have it at the connivence of your own villa is wonderful. They brought all the right equipment and made it an exceptional experience. Staff are very helpful and efficient, thought that they really took care of us well. The view of the Ocean Pool Villa is stunning but would recommend the front villas as you will not be able to see the roofs of other villas.

Overall the main issue is the presentation of the property as it needs immediate attention to keep up with the competition. Wouldn't really expect problems like this to be associated with Relais Chateaux. At the moment I am a little hesitant to recommend this hotel because of it does not quite meet the high standards of a true five star property. Many of the reviews mention the same problem but it seems that they have not been properly addressed yet. All in all the place is still good but not of our expectations and general standards as it could have potential be.

Room Tip: probably not 8 or 10. choose 13, 15, 17
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phoebe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCNager, General Manager at The Pavilions Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Reader,

We are pleased to read that our guests consistently highlight the bespoke service that we aim to offer to all our guests and that ultimately defines The Pavilions experience.

At the same time we also appreciate the importance of offering a quality product with physical facilities to match and are currently in the process of renovating our Ocean View and Tropical Pool Villas, to add a new dimension of space and comfort to our Romance Destination.
In this respect, the roofs pictured and described by the guests are currently in the process of being redone; hence the black covers to protect the work in progress.

During this time, we still have the majority of our bestselling Ocean View Pool Villas available for those guests who cannot resist the amazing views from the infinity pool and terrace, as well as our more recent Spa & Pool Pavilions and Penthouses, offering great privacy and comfort in a contemporary Asian inspired setting, overlooking the lush tropical landscape.

We have promptly rectified the issue associated with the in-villa router, granting complimentary WIFI access to each villa, and appreciate when guests address such shortcomings while on property, to resolve them to satisfaction in the shortest timeframe possible.
We equally value the constructive feedback concerning our housekeeping service and have shared the comments with the department in question to avoid similar incidences from occurring in the future.

Lastly, we are delighted that these guests really enjoyed the culinary treats from our kitchen, as well as our signature in-villa Spa Pleasures, and certainly hope to have the pleasure to welcome them back in a future occasion.

Loving Regards,

Jean-Christophe Nager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
9.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 36 in Choeng Thale
494 reviews
8.6 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
9.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,885 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#3 of 36 in Choeng Thale
1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilions Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilions Phuket

Address: 31/1, Moo 6, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range: $135 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pavilions Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high above Layan Beach, The Pavilions Phuket is a resort as spacious as it is private and peaceful. From our spacious newly appointed 81 sqm one-bedroom suites to our signature private pool villas, we are a haven of tranquility. Enjoy an array of restaurants including: our open air The Plantation Club for modern Thai and international favourites, Firefly set next to the largest freeform pool in Phuket for wood burning oven pizzas, grilled specialities and more, and 360 Bar, one of the best loved places in Choeng Thale for cocktails, asian tapas and sunsets. We also offer a wide range of in-villa dining options, including seafood bbqs. Our resort also features an award winning spa with yoga pavilion, fitness centre, and pools. Whether you're celebrating a special occasion or looking to relax and reconnect, The Pavilions is your perfect intimate escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pavilions Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pavilions Phuket Hotel Thalang
Phuket Pavilions Hotel Cherngtalay
Phuket Pavilions Cherngtalay
The Pavilions Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing