We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection and More!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pavilions Phuket
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2013

As world travelers, self described hotel snobs and professionals in the travel industry we have to say that our recent 5 night stay at The Pavilions was amongst the top 3 in our lives.

It is rare that a resort is able to balance and deliver perfection in every way, design, execution and satisfaction but they have done it. Our hat's off to Jean Christophe and his team and to the magicians who developed and designed this sensuous resort.

From the moment they collect you at the airport (our driver the ever personable and hilarious Max) to the welcome gong as you arrive and leave everything has been done to assure that your stay is magical.

A few details:

Design - The design of this property is nothing short of amazing. We stayed in a Spa & Pool Villa and it was hands down was of the most beautiful rooms we have ever seen. It is not fair to even call it a room but rather a luxury villa with it's own pool and patio which rivals one you would find in an ultra luxury home. From the bedroom and living area to the spectacular bathroom featuring black granite and red highlights with a two person bath and 4 person shower this is luxury at its finest

Landscaping - Yes, it is a tropical environment which means that you can grow anything and fast but the shear density, variety and carefully planned layout creates a jungle effect everywhere that is so meticulously maintained that it almost feels as if every plant, vine tree and leaf was hand placed. The wonder starts when you enter and drive down a quarter mile tunnel of perfectly trained bamboo arching over the road and continues with the various vine covered trellises which lead you to your room.

Service - Yes, this is Thailand where almost all service is delivered with a smile and efficient yet solicitous desire to please but The Pavilions have taken even that to a new level. There was literally nothing we wanted to could dream off that was not provided, fast and with meticulous care and concern for our satisfaction. Also, the spa treatments were among the best we have had. We had a 90 minute couples massage one day in our room, yes but lest you think why the room, each of the pool villas has its own spa suite with two wonderful massage tables side by side. We like deep massages and can say these were absolutely top notch.

Food - We had the opportunity to dine at all the restaurants and have room service on a few occasions as well. Again everything was done to perfection. We tended to eat only Thai but they also had a large selection of western items as well.

Finally, we strive to find the best of the best when we travel and The Pavilions in Phuket is most definitely at the top of that list, thank you all :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aboutsot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 383 of 770 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Pavilions, to put it in perspective, is not a 5 star luxury resort in the way TriSara or Amanpuri are; if you are looking for indulgent luxury and perfection then you will find The Pavilions comes up short; at best this resort is an excellent 4 star property. The ocean view villas are the most sought after and yes the pool back dropped by the Andaman sea is stunning, especially as the sun sets; yet the villas themselves are tired and somewhat shabby; in need of higher levels of maintenance and certainly higher levels of cleanliness; there is a feeling of scruffiness that is not expected when paying almost USD700 per night; however it is not all bad – the bed is extremely comfortable and the sheets will be changed daily if you wish; service is good, again not 5 star, but courteous and attentive and the dining is perfectly adequate; Bar 360 is a stunning place to watch the sun disappear whilst drinking a nice wine or local cocktail; The Plantation Club restaurant offers an elegant setting with a menu that caters to a mix of Thai and Western dishes; the Thai dishes are all beautifully presented and the Chef’s ability is clear to taste; occasional special nights featuring selected cuisines seem popular with local residents and in house guests alike; The Pavilions is charming and it definitely delivers on its promise of a romantic get away; but it fails to deliver on being a truly luxurious break; more effort to upkeep the villas and more attention to cleanliness could see this resort rival some of the nearby 5 star properties, but at the moment, it is a 4 star property at best.... but one I would happily return to once the current upgrade of the property is complete.

Room Tip: Villas 11,13,15,17,19,21 are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MDAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCNager, General Manager at The Pavilions Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Reader,

As this guest correctly pointed out, we strive to offer a holiday experience of a different kind, with a personal, love infused note, characterized by service delivered with tender, loving and care.
The Pavilions wants be an escape from everyday life, where time seems to stand still and privacy prevails, at least for the duration of your stay with us.
As such we do not try to compete with Amanpuri and Trisara and our rates certainly do not compare.

We appreciate the importance of offering a quality product with physical facilities to match and are currently in the process of refurbishing our Ocean View and Tropical Pool Villas, to add a new dimension of space and comfort to our Romance Destination, while maintaining the signature elements our guest have come to love over the years.

I have already shared the comments concerning housekeeping and restaurant service with the team, in the view of constantly upgrading the services provided to our customers.
In conclusion, we certainly look forward to welcoming these guests back to our love retreat in the near future, to experience our new Ocean View Romance Villas.

Loving Regards,

Jean-Christophe Nager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Being our 2nd anniversary trip celebration, my boyfriend and I booked this hotel after numerous good reviews through a deal on Groupon. We both gave thumbs up for the service provided prior to arrival and upon leaving the resort.

Prior to arriving, there were many emails correspondence confirming the various activities. Their reservation officers, Panada and Pattra were definitely note worth for their patience when dealing with customers and were very swift and prompt in confirming all the details to ensure that the check-in will be seemless.

Upon arriving in Phuket, the driver greeted us warmly and we were soon welcomed with a plate of fruits, cold towels and cold water from the dry air in the airplane. It was definitely refreshing and commendable. Our driver was welcoming and we chatted along the way as he brought us on the scenic route to our resort. It made us feel very welcomed and personalised service.

When we arrived, we were ushered to the lobby where the resort GM, Jean Christophe, was waiting to welcome us to the resort. I've never been to any resort where their GM will personally welcome their guests and ensure that they are well taken care of. Jean, then recommended us some programmes for our stay and was well informed of our itinerary and even booked us a bike upon request. He then introduced his F&B Manager, Eric, who was very helpful in sharing their menu for our candlelight dinner. As we had planned for a visit to Chalong Bay Distillery, he quickly called the owner to confirm our participation in the activity and even prepared the map for us to get to the venue!

After speaking with Eric, we moved to our villa and was greatly surprised by the location and the amenities offered in the room! Jean and his team had surprised us with a cake for our anniversary, designed the bed and the tub with flowers and provided a complimentary red wine for our celebration! It was a lovely surprise. We then had massage in our Spa and Steam room which was served by 2 awesome massueus who were very informative about phuket island and spoke a good command of English.

The candlelight dinner was also very well prepared and the food was awesome! All the service staff who made our trip so memoriable were all commendable. The breakfast was astounding! Never once had I taken breakfast that tasted so good and I always look forward to breakfast everyday! All the service staff were very attentive and made sure we were taken care of from the start to the end of the trip. Simone came by frequently during breakfast to check on what our itinerary for the day was and to offer some of her suggestions and directions to get to the venue. It was definitely refreshing and enriching experience at the Pavillions.

The food from 360, eastland afternoon teas, room service were all spectacular. I definitely liked eating in the resort. However, it was slightly pricey after the additions of 10% & 7%.

The treatment was so good that both of us felt sad to leave the resort due to their warm hospitality which not many hotels are able to provide. We'll definitely come by again next year for a longer trip!

Room Tip: Try to get the Spa and Steam room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherietang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

we've just returned from a three-night stay at The Pavilions in Phuket. It had been a toss-up between a new stay at the Pavilions or a return to the Banyan tree after many years. but a new experience beckoned and we ended up with the Pavilions. We didn't regret it but we did regret the timing of our holiday, meant to celebrate my husband’s birthday. It rained every day, confining us to the villa for the entire stay. Not the fault of the resort, but thank goodness the large villa space meant that we didn’t feel so cooped up.
A few things stood out – 1. Great service; 2. Great space in the villa; 3. Good food
The first sign of their great service was the exchange of emails prior to our stay. The reservation desk was quick in response, and provided good info. Maximum cheerfully greeted us at the airport, and was willing to stop at a convenience store to pick up some snacks. And, altho we didn't get the towels or water, we did get a nice plate of cold refreshing fruit. We were shown to villa 13 (we picked an ocean view villa), and though a little dated, looked very clean with all the little touches that made the stay that more comfortable. Huge pool, fantastic views, private (you could look into other villas on the walk to the Plantation restaurant). It was raining when we checked into the villa and the coffee table was wet, initially thought to be a leak in the roof. They immediately offered us villa 17 but villa 17 didn’t look like it was cleaned for immediate occupation (bedsheets looked unchanged and floor was a little more dusty) and water was leaking into the bedroom. So we kept to villa 13, and fortunately, there was no leak from the roof (prob a spill of water from the vase). i had such fun watching and listening to the tiny and big frogs in the ponds.The GM JC came out to greet us when we first arrived, very personable and helpful, while Simona came over during breakfast one morning to say hello. But Yom from room service/restaurant was a standout! He was so cheerful, willing to help and so efficient both in the restaurant and room service. He helped my husband light and set off the lantern for his birthday – that was such a lovely touch, and memorable as well.
The villa layout was great – separate living and bedroom space. The bathroom was enormous, meant to accomodate the spa massage beds. We had two 90-min massages and they were fantastic. I’m sorry I can’t remember the lady who massaged me, but she was so good. The only thing was that the toilet was not well ventilated so the air in the bathroom was a bit stale. But putting the fan on full blast helped a little. The pool was fabulously huge – but sadly, I couldn’t make full use of it since it rained most of the days.
We had all our meals in the resort. We stuck to Thai food, except for breakfast. Hot meals during breakfast is a great idea, complemented by a buffet of pastries, fruit, cereals and some Thai dishes. The thai omelette is highly recommended as is the yummy French toast. Tom ka talay is great for other meals, altho the pad thai was slightly disappointing. But we enjoyed the complimentary afternoon teas – they contributed to our expanding bellies.
A few days after we returned from the Pavilions, my husband received a thank you note from the resort, together with an invitation to stay with them again. That is a very nice touch – a it showed that they cared about you even after you have stayed and paid up. it shows the management wants to retain a relationship with you. would we stay there again? Yes, after we have exhausted new resorts to try out. the only negative thing I can think of is the remoteness of the place for some people, but for us, we crave such places as it gives us privacy and time to chill out in quiet. Love it.

Room Tip: ocean views - pick 11 to 17 - its the first row and don;t overlook any other villas; a/c unit rather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmietravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCNager, General Manager at The Pavilions Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Reader,

We are delighted to read that these guests enjoyed their special birthday celebration at The Pavilions, despite the adverse weather conditions.

All our villas enjoy absolute privacy and spacious facilities, as such a rainy spell is often perceived as a welcome moment for our guests to relax and unwind in their alcove and enjoy some precious time together.
Despite running at high occupancy, we did indeed offer these guests the option to move to another villa as per the suspected water leak, and our Housekeeping team would have promptly prepared it for them, would they have opted for a room change.

It always makes us very happy when our guests enjoy the personable relationships we aim to establish with our customers before, during and after their stay, and our team members have been charmed by their kind words.

I read with great delight how these guests enjoyed an array of facilities we offer and we certainly appreciate their feedback, assisting us in maintaining a product and services at the height of our guests’ expectations.

Loving Regards,

Jean-Christophe Nager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We never thought we would return to Phuket as we had "been there and done that" 13 years ago. How fortunate we found this gem of a resort and did go back.
We celebrated our 25th anniversary in Singapore and Phuket ad spent 9 nights at this wonderful place.
We had organised a car from the resort to collect us from the airport and from the moment we met our driver Maximum, we were treated with the greatest of respect and service. The car had drinks, a fruit platter and refershing towels for us for the drive to the resort.
As we arrived a gong signalled our arrival and reception staff came to greet us with more drinks whilst they organised our chek in. The General Manager Jean- Christophe came and welcomed us and after checking in we were driven to our villa in a buggy.
The door to the private villa opened to a beautifully set up villa and the lovely touches of flower petals in the bath tub, flower petals arranged as a love heart on our bed and the towels in the cabana that from one angle looked like red swans, but from front on looked like a love heart, just made for a fantastic introduction to this beautiful resort. The complimentary bottle of excellent wine for our anniversary was again a lovely touch.
We were invited to cocktails that evening where I met the F & B Manager, Eric and also the new chef Belinda. They, along with Jean- Christophe made it a point to mingle with all guests which was something that you don't find at many hotels or resorts.
There are two restaurants and a bar that akls serves food as well as being able to order room service.
The breakfast buffet was more than you can ask for and the champagne at breakfast is always desirable. All staff at the various restaurants and the bars were fantastic and could not do enough for us. We also met the Guest Relations Manager Simona and she was wonderful throughout our stay. They all made of a point of speaking to all guests a breakfast, lunch and dinner and always asked if there was anything else they could do for us.
I wnated to play golf at various courses and all I had to do was ask the people at reception to book a time for me and it was done immediately and taxis were organised for a pick up at the designated time. Theye were at reception waiting for me when I arrived and the next I saw my golf clubs was on the golf buggy at the course ready for me to play.
The food was fantastic with an extensive menu that would please everyone. The afternoon tea was also excellent.
We were upgraded to a different villa on our last night which was also a bonus.
If you want a place that has a lot of action go elsewhere as this is a place for relaxing at its best. You can go to various different parts of Phuket and also have tours organised if you want it and they will happily organise it for you.
The beach is a 5 minute shuttle away if you wish to go to the private beach but we chose not to as our private pool was more tha sufficient.
My wife loved the massage treatments she had in our private romms that was set up for this function and the complimentary foot massage for both of us was also wonderful.
It is not a question of if we will go back but when. The rooms are immaculately clean and modern and the service is outstanding. Even the room service food is like being in your own little restaurant as they come and set up the table, present the food and then come and collect the cutlery and crockery when you are finished.
We both loved the 9 nights whcih was made even beter by the attention paid to us by Jean- Christophe, Eric, Simona, Belinda and the rest of the wonderful staff there. By the end of the trip they were more like friends than staff and that is what set the best from the rest.
The cake they prepared for our anniversary night was a wonderful surprise. They just thought of everything to make our stay one of the best holidays we have ever had anywhere in the world.
We could not fault it at all.
Thank you to everyone at The Pavilions for an unforgetable event.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a car from the hotel to collect you from the airport as it is well worth it. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you are looking to relax and enjoy privacy I would highly recommend this property. We were impressed from the moment we arrived and the villa exceeded our expectations. The villa was 2 levels with a large living/dining area and bathroom on ground level and bedroom, bath and dressing room on second level. The second level also included a nice outdoor shower and terrace with large lounge overlooking the valley. The large terrace on the ground level has a private infinity pool of ample size, dining area and poolside bed. Of course the villa also had the private spa with steam room connected to the villa via a small private courtyard.

The staff is outstanding - pleasant and attentive. The breakfast included sufficient a la carte options along with a basic buffet. The bar 360 at the peak of the property has great views with good drink and food options. Afternoon tea is offered as well including a small selection of finger foods.

The beach is a short drive away with shuttles running throughout the day. The property has a small section of the beach which overall is fairly remote. The one negative is that there is a large amount of trash on the beach as you walk away from the property's section.

Overall I would definitely return as it was perfect for what we were looking for - romantic, private, luxurious. Be sure to review the specials on the property's website before booking as they offer packages which are of good value.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank STALF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at The Pavilions for 3 nights at the beginning of our honeymoon tour. We arrived at Phuket Airport late at night after travelling for nearly 20 hours. We were met by hotel staff whilst walking between the plane and the baggage hall - how's that for service!? We waited together for our bags to arrive from the belt - the porter took our bags and we took the short walk to the waiting car outside. After a short (20 min or so) trip to the hotel, we were in reception drinking a wonderfully refreshing welcome drink. Check-in was quick (we were the only people there - it was midnight afterall!) and then we were taken up to our villa. Our bags were already waiting for us inside the villa.

The villa was huge (we had the Sea View Villa) and luxurious.

As we arrived late (room service is not 24 hour) the hotel staff had taken the liberty of pre-ordering several food platters for us (a mixture of meats and deserts) which was a lovely touch.

We woke up in the morning and made good use of the private infinity pool. The bedroom glass slides back so we could go straight from bed to the pool - brilliant! The views are incredible. The pool is pretty large - the biggest private pool we've ever had - more than big enough for proper length swimming.

Daily champagne breakfast was great. We're not a fan of buffets (breakfast or otherwise) so the a la carte breakfast menu was really appealing. Most people seemed content with the buffet, but there wasn't a huge selection and never seemed to be very much food there so I gave it a miss.

We had daily afternoon tea, which was delicious, and sunset cocktails at The 360 bar were great. There were quite a few mosquito/insects flying around at 360 though so we didn't stay very long!

Spa treatments in the villa were out of this world. Probably the best I have ever had.

A wonderfully relaxing start to our honeymoon, even though it rained the whole time we were there it didn't really matter! Would come back if we were in this part of Thailand again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukhotelsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
9.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
8.6 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
952 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#2 of 36 in Choeng Thale
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
3.3 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
9.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilions Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilions Phuket

Address: 31/1, Moo 6, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#2 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range: $128 - $694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pavilions Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high above Layan Beach, The Pavilions Phuket is a resort as spacious as it is private and peaceful. From our spacious newly appointed 81 sqm one-bedroom suites to our signature private pool villas, we are a haven of tranquility. Enjoy an array of restaurants including: our open air The Plantation Club for modern Thai and international favourites, Firefly set next to the largest freeform pool in Phuket for wood burning oven pizzas, grilled specialities and more, and 360 Bar, one of the best loved places in Choeng Thale for cocktails, asian tapas and sunsets. We also offer a wide range of in-villa dining options, including seafood bbqs. Our resort also features an award winning spa with yoga pavilion, fitness centre, and pools. Whether you're celebrating a special occasion or looking to relax and reconnect, The Pavilions is your perfect intimate escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pavilions Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pavilions Phuket Hotel Thalang
Phuket Pavilions Hotel Cherngtalay
Phuket Pavilions Cherngtalay
The Pavilions Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing