We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rained out in comfy lodgings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pavilions Phuket
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Rained out in comfy lodgings”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

we've just returned from a three-night stay at The Pavilions in Phuket. It had been a toss-up between a new stay at the Pavilions or a return to the Banyan tree after many years. but a new experience beckoned and we ended up with the Pavilions. We didn't regret it but we did regret the timing of our holiday, meant to celebrate my husband’s birthday. It rained every day, confining us to the villa for the entire stay. Not the fault of the resort, but thank goodness the large villa space meant that we didn’t feel so cooped up.
A few things stood out – 1. Great service; 2. Great space in the villa; 3. Good food
The first sign of their great service was the exchange of emails prior to our stay. The reservation desk was quick in response, and provided good info. Maximum cheerfully greeted us at the airport, and was willing to stop at a convenience store to pick up some snacks. And, altho we didn't get the towels or water, we did get a nice plate of cold refreshing fruit. We were shown to villa 13 (we picked an ocean view villa), and though a little dated, looked very clean with all the little touches that made the stay that more comfortable. Huge pool, fantastic views, private (you could look into other villas on the walk to the Plantation restaurant). It was raining when we checked into the villa and the coffee table was wet, initially thought to be a leak in the roof. They immediately offered us villa 17 but villa 17 didn’t look like it was cleaned for immediate occupation (bedsheets looked unchanged and floor was a little more dusty) and water was leaking into the bedroom. So we kept to villa 13, and fortunately, there was no leak from the roof (prob a spill of water from the vase). i had such fun watching and listening to the tiny and big frogs in the ponds.The GM JC came out to greet us when we first arrived, very personable and helpful, while Simona came over during breakfast one morning to say hello. But Yom from room service/restaurant was a standout! He was so cheerful, willing to help and so efficient both in the restaurant and room service. He helped my husband light and set off the lantern for his birthday – that was such a lovely touch, and memorable as well.
The villa layout was great – separate living and bedroom space. The bathroom was enormous, meant to accomodate the spa massage beds. We had two 90-min massages and they were fantastic. I’m sorry I can’t remember the lady who massaged me, but she was so good. The only thing was that the toilet was not well ventilated so the air in the bathroom was a bit stale. But putting the fan on full blast helped a little. The pool was fabulously huge – but sadly, I couldn’t make full use of it since it rained most of the days.
We had all our meals in the resort. We stuck to Thai food, except for breakfast. Hot meals during breakfast is a great idea, complemented by a buffet of pastries, fruit, cereals and some Thai dishes. The thai omelette is highly recommended as is the yummy French toast. Tom ka talay is great for other meals, altho the pad thai was slightly disappointing. But we enjoyed the complimentary afternoon teas – they contributed to our expanding bellies.
A few days after we returned from the Pavilions, my husband received a thank you note from the resort, together with an invitation to stay with them again. That is a very nice touch – a it showed that they cared about you even after you have stayed and paid up. it shows the management wants to retain a relationship with you. would we stay there again? Yes, after we have exhausted new resorts to try out. the only negative thing I can think of is the remoteness of the place for some people, but for us, we crave such places as it gives us privacy and time to chill out in quiet. Love it.

Room Tip: ocean views - pick 11 to 17 - its the first row and don;t overlook any other villas; a/c unit rather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmietravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCNager, General Manager at The Pavilions Phuket, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Reader,

We are delighted to read that these guests enjoyed their special birthday celebration at The Pavilions, despite the adverse weather conditions.

All our villas enjoy absolute privacy and spacious facilities, as such a rainy spell is often perceived as a welcome moment for our guests to relax and unwind in their alcove and enjoy some precious time together.
Despite running at high occupancy, we did indeed offer these guests the option to move to another villa as per the suspected water leak, and our Housekeeping team would have promptly prepared it for them, would they have opted for a room change.

It always makes us very happy when our guests enjoy the personable relationships we aim to establish with our customers before, during and after their stay, and our team members have been charmed by their kind words.

I read with great delight how these guests enjoyed an array of facilities we offer and we certainly appreciate their feedback, assisting us in maintaining a product and services at the height of our guests’ expectations.

Loving Regards,

Jean-Christophe Nager
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    80
    27
    17
    12
See reviews for
33
539
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We never thought we would return to Phuket as we had "been there and done that" 13 years ago. How fortunate we found this gem of a resort and did go back.
We celebrated our 25th anniversary in Singapore and Phuket ad spent 9 nights at this wonderful place.
We had organised a car from the resort to collect us from the airport and from the moment we met our driver Maximum, we were treated with the greatest of respect and service. The car had drinks, a fruit platter and refershing towels for us for the drive to the resort.
As we arrived a gong signalled our arrival and reception staff came to greet us with more drinks whilst they organised our chek in. The General Manager Jean- Christophe came and welcomed us and after checking in we were driven to our villa in a buggy.
The door to the private villa opened to a beautifully set up villa and the lovely touches of flower petals in the bath tub, flower petals arranged as a love heart on our bed and the towels in the cabana that from one angle looked like red swans, but from front on looked like a love heart, just made for a fantastic introduction to this beautiful resort. The complimentary bottle of excellent wine for our anniversary was again a lovely touch.
We were invited to cocktails that evening where I met the F & B Manager, Eric and also the new chef Belinda. They, along with Jean- Christophe made it a point to mingle with all guests which was something that you don't find at many hotels or resorts.
There are two restaurants and a bar that akls serves food as well as being able to order room service.
The breakfast buffet was more than you can ask for and the champagne at breakfast is always desirable. All staff at the various restaurants and the bars were fantastic and could not do enough for us. We also met the Guest Relations Manager Simona and she was wonderful throughout our stay. They all made of a point of speaking to all guests a breakfast, lunch and dinner and always asked if there was anything else they could do for us.
I wnated to play golf at various courses and all I had to do was ask the people at reception to book a time for me and it was done immediately and taxis were organised for a pick up at the designated time. Theye were at reception waiting for me when I arrived and the next I saw my golf clubs was on the golf buggy at the course ready for me to play.
The food was fantastic with an extensive menu that would please everyone. The afternoon tea was also excellent.
We were upgraded to a different villa on our last night which was also a bonus.
If you want a place that has a lot of action go elsewhere as this is a place for relaxing at its best. You can go to various different parts of Phuket and also have tours organised if you want it and they will happily organise it for you.
The beach is a 5 minute shuttle away if you wish to go to the private beach but we chose not to as our private pool was more tha sufficient.
My wife loved the massage treatments she had in our private romms that was set up for this function and the complimentary foot massage for both of us was also wonderful.
It is not a question of if we will go back but when. The rooms are immaculately clean and modern and the service is outstanding. Even the room service food is like being in your own little restaurant as they come and set up the table, present the food and then come and collect the cutlery and crockery when you are finished.
We both loved the 9 nights whcih was made even beter by the attention paid to us by Jean- Christophe, Eric, Simona, Belinda and the rest of the wonderful staff there. By the end of the trip they were more like friends than staff and that is what set the best from the rest.
The cake they prepared for our anniversary night was a wonderful surprise. They just thought of everything to make our stay one of the best holidays we have ever had anywhere in the world.
We could not fault it at all.
Thank you to everyone at The Pavilions for an unforgetable event.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a car from the hotel to collect you from the airport as it is well worth it. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking to relax and enjoy privacy I would highly recommend this property. We were impressed from the moment we arrived and the villa exceeded our expectations. The villa was 2 levels with a large living/dining area and bathroom on ground level and bedroom, bath and dressing room on second level. The second level also included a nice outdoor shower and terrace with large lounge overlooking the valley. The large terrace on the ground level has a private infinity pool of ample size, dining area and poolside bed. Of course the villa also had the private spa with steam room connected to the villa via a small private courtyard.

The staff is outstanding - pleasant and attentive. The breakfast included sufficient a la carte options along with a basic buffet. The bar 360 at the peak of the property has great views with good drink and food options. Afternoon tea is offered as well including a small selection of finger foods.

The beach is a short drive away with shuttles running throughout the day. The property has a small section of the beach which overall is fairly remote. The one negative is that there is a large amount of trash on the beach as you walk away from the property's section.

Overall I would definitely return as it was perfect for what we were looking for - romantic, private, luxurious. Be sure to review the specials on the property's website before booking as they offer packages which are of good value.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank STALF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at The Pavilions for 3 nights at the beginning of our honeymoon tour. We arrived at Phuket Airport late at night after travelling for nearly 20 hours. We were met by hotel staff whilst walking between the plane and the baggage hall - how's that for service!? We waited together for our bags to arrive from the belt - the porter took our bags and we took the short walk to the waiting car outside. After a short (20 min or so) trip to the hotel, we were in reception drinking a wonderfully refreshing welcome drink. Check-in was quick (we were the only people there - it was midnight afterall!) and then we were taken up to our villa. Our bags were already waiting for us inside the villa.

The villa was huge (we had the Sea View Villa) and luxurious.

As we arrived late (room service is not 24 hour) the hotel staff had taken the liberty of pre-ordering several food platters for us (a mixture of meats and deserts) which was a lovely touch.

We woke up in the morning and made good use of the private infinity pool. The bedroom glass slides back so we could go straight from bed to the pool - brilliant! The views are incredible. The pool is pretty large - the biggest private pool we've ever had - more than big enough for proper length swimming.

Daily champagne breakfast was great. We're not a fan of buffets (breakfast or otherwise) so the a la carte breakfast menu was really appealing. Most people seemed content with the buffet, but there wasn't a huge selection and never seemed to be very much food there so I gave it a miss.

We had daily afternoon tea, which was delicious, and sunset cocktails at The 360 bar were great. There were quite a few mosquito/insects flying around at 360 though so we didn't stay very long!

Spa treatments in the villa were out of this world. Probably the best I have ever had.

A wonderfully relaxing start to our honeymoon, even though it rained the whole time we were there it didn't really matter! Would come back if we were in this part of Thailand again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukhotelsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Pavillions was the beginning of our honeymoon, and it definitely fit the bill as secluded, romantic, and luxurious.

Breakfast: Delicious. If you don't like the buffet (small but tasty), there are plenty of options to order that are fantastic, particularly from the Thai menu.

Room/view: The Pavillion in which we stayed was lovely. Spacious, well appointed, huge bathroom, huge living area with great TV, lovely outdoor area with pool. We had a view of the valley, and it was beautiful and peaceful. Also, it did rain, but the staff was great about getting us around in the buggy with minimal drenching. We enjoyed wandering the property as well. If you are a runner, it's a great place for hill repeats, and the the foliage/gardening is spectacular.

Staff: Very polite, willing to call a buggy whenever you need one, and very helpful.

Airport transport: We asked The Pavillions to arrange transportation from the airport to the hotel, and they have informed us that there was some miscommunication with the driver, which lead to him being late. We landed a few minutes early and emerged from the airport 10 min before our flight was due to land. We did not worry that the driver wasn't there yet bc we were early. But, after 30 minutes of waiting, some nice taxi guy called the hotel for us, and the front desk person informed us the driver was on his way. The driver arrived about 10-15 min after that. This is a point of complaint because we had been traveling for over 24 hrs, and it was the start of our honeymoon! I don't know how such a big miscommunication occurred, but for the price we paid (for a minibus, as they did not send the "hotel limousine") this should not happen.

The beach: great seats but terrible beach. There was so much trash and all sorts of weird blue things that looked like some sort of plant life of unnatural color. It is nice that the hotel provides a shuttle.

Bar 360: don't sit at the bar at night. It lights up and you end up with bugs in your food/drinks. Sans bugs, everything was very tasty.

The pool/lagoon: standing water = lots of Mosquitos. My husband swam laps in the pool, which was nice, but we had quite a few bites (even with spray).

Afternoon tea: excellent bonus. They food is lovely, and perfect to tide you over to dinner after a huge breakfast.

Dinner: we did the "BBQ in the buff" in villa grilling. So good, although we chose to grill with clothing on.

Overall: despite the imperfections, this place is great. Free wifi, movies for when it rains, excellent service. We were there 3 nights, which was the perfect amount of time to spend there. At that point we needed a good beach and pool :) But, I would recommend this place to others as a romantic spot to spend a couple of days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArizonaLangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCNager, General Manager at The Pavilions Phuket, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Reader,

We would like to thank our guest for choosing our love retreat for their honeymoon.

The Pavilions, Phuket enjoys a privileged hilltop location surrounded by tropical forest, as such, despite a regular fumigation service, mosquitoes may occur and we provide our guests with organic repellent, as well coils and electric mosquito control products in the villas.

While there are natural phenomena, like bugs or the described algae being washed up by sea currents, which are inherent to our tropical surroundings, there are other aspects of their vacation that are under our direct control.

In this regard and as already communicated to the guests personally, we sincerely regret the misunderstanding that lead to their delayed airport pick up and would like to reassure our readers that appropriate action has been taken to avoid similar incidents from occurring in the future.

We are delighted to read that the above did not mar the enjoyment of their Pavilions experience on a whole and hope to welcome them back for a special anniversary celebration!

Loving Regards,

Jean-Christophe Nager
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Both my fiancé and I are usually pretty good at constructive criticism.. We can always find room for improvement but this place had it all covered.. Super spacious, ultra clean, we must have had contact with at least 10 different staff members who all addressed us by name before introducing themselves. A super thorough introduction to the property upon check in. The manager JC couldn't have been cooler. He came out personally to ask about our travels so far, and gave us his own personal insights and recommendations which where tailored to my individual photographic interests! Just amazing. Only wish I could have thanked him for our stay before we left. They offer so much there from cooking classes to massages in your own villa because your rooms come with their own spa section which was amazing. We are definitely returning to Phuket mainly to stay here again. Security was top notch so you feel super safe. Also anything your interested in doing on the island they will assist you in, like they arranged us for zip lining and shuttles to the beach which by the way is gorgeous not to mention is secluded and awesomely private. A real experience if you're blessed enough to get the chance to stay here- do it! And tell JC we say hi!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gfreesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Beautiful setting, gorgeous rooms, good food and very relaxed feeling. Downsides- you need to take a golf cart to get around the resort, spa is very, very expensive. Management were quite distant, didn't welcome us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthB07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCNager, General Manager at The Pavilions Phuket, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Reader,

We are always pleased when our guests take the time to share their Pavilions experience and are delighted to read that they enjoyed our facilities and services overall.

Part of the charm of The Pavilions, Phuket originates from our hillside location, allowing for a privileged position with stunning views of both the surrounding valley and nearby Layan Beach. For our guests’ comfort we offer dedicated buggy service from/to all our villas and outlets, which of course should not imply that you are not allowed to walk or hike around the premises should you wish to do so.

Further to the remark about our Spa Pleasures, Phuket offers an array of Spa choices, catering for all budgets. At The Pavilions we strive to provide a memorable experience, with longer than average treatments (90 minutes to 2 hours), performed exclusively in the privacy of our villas. For the benefit of our guests, we also offer a variety of discount schemes, on top of a selection of accommodation packages inclusive of couple Spa treatments, bookable through our website or directly with the resort.

In conclusion, I sincerely regret that I did not have the pleasure to meet these guests during their brief stay with us. My team and I strive to create personal relationships with all our customers and, whenever feasible, try to meet arriving guests to personally welcome them to The Pavilions and introduce them to our love retreat.

Loving Regards,

Jean-Christophe Nager
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
9.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
8.6 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
895 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#4 of 34 in Choeng Thale
687 reviews
3.4 mi away
Twinpalms Phuket
Twinpalms Phuket
#8 of 95 in Thalang District
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilions Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilions Phuket

Property: The Pavilions Phuket
Address: 31/1 Moo 6 | Cherngtalay, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#1 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pavilions Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high above Layan Beach, The Pavilions Phuket is a resort as spacious as it is private and peaceful. Decidedly adult, each private villa is a haven of tranquility. Whether you're celebrating a special occasion or looking to relax and reconnect, The Pavilions is your perfect intimate escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Pavilions Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pavilions Phuket Hotel Thalang
Phuket Pavilions Hotel Cherngtalay
Phuket Pavilions Cherngtalay
The Pavilions Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing