We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pavilions Phuket
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at The Pavilions for 3 nights at the beginning of our honeymoon tour. We arrived at Phuket Airport late at night after travelling for nearly 20 hours. We were met by hotel staff whilst walking between the plane and the baggage hall - how's that for service!? We waited together for our bags to arrive from the belt - the porter took our bags and we took the short walk to the waiting car outside. After a short (20 min or so) trip to the hotel, we were in reception drinking a wonderfully refreshing welcome drink. Check-in was quick (we were the only people there - it was midnight afterall!) and then we were taken up to our villa. Our bags were already waiting for us inside the villa.

The villa was huge (we had the Sea View Villa) and luxurious.

As we arrived late (room service is not 24 hour) the hotel staff had taken the liberty of pre-ordering several food platters for us (a mixture of meats and deserts) which was a lovely touch.

We woke up in the morning and made good use of the private infinity pool. The bedroom glass slides back so we could go straight from bed to the pool - brilliant! The views are incredible. The pool is pretty large - the biggest private pool we've ever had - more than big enough for proper length swimming.

Daily champagne breakfast was great. We're not a fan of buffets (breakfast or otherwise) so the a la carte breakfast menu was really appealing. Most people seemed content with the buffet, but there wasn't a huge selection and never seemed to be very much food there so I gave it a miss.

We had daily afternoon tea, which was delicious, and sunset cocktails at The 360 bar were great. There were quite a few mosquito/insects flying around at 360 though so we didn't stay very long!

Spa treatments in the villa were out of this world. Probably the best I have ever had.

A wonderfully relaxing start to our honeymoon, even though it rained the whole time we were there it didn't really matter! Would come back if we were in this part of Thailand again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukhotelsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

409 - 415 of 799 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Pavillions was the beginning of our honeymoon, and it definitely fit the bill as secluded, romantic, and luxurious.

Breakfast: Delicious. If you don't like the buffet (small but tasty), there are plenty of options to order that are fantastic, particularly from the Thai menu.

Room/view: The Pavillion in which we stayed was lovely. Spacious, well appointed, huge bathroom, huge living area with great TV, lovely outdoor area with pool. We had a view of the valley, and it was beautiful and peaceful. Also, it did rain, but the staff was great about getting us around in the buggy with minimal drenching. We enjoyed wandering the property as well. If you are a runner, it's a great place for hill repeats, and the the foliage/gardening is spectacular.

Staff: Very polite, willing to call a buggy whenever you need one, and very helpful.

Airport transport: We asked The Pavillions to arrange transportation from the airport to the hotel, and they have informed us that there was some miscommunication with the driver, which lead to him being late. We landed a few minutes early and emerged from the airport 10 min before our flight was due to land. We did not worry that the driver wasn't there yet bc we were early. But, after 30 minutes of waiting, some nice taxi guy called the hotel for us, and the front desk person informed us the driver was on his way. The driver arrived about 10-15 min after that. This is a point of complaint because we had been traveling for over 24 hrs, and it was the start of our honeymoon! I don't know how such a big miscommunication occurred, but for the price we paid (for a minibus, as they did not send the "hotel limousine") this should not happen.

The beach: great seats but terrible beach. There was so much trash and all sorts of weird blue things that looked like some sort of plant life of unnatural color. It is nice that the hotel provides a shuttle.

Bar 360: don't sit at the bar at night. It lights up and you end up with bugs in your food/drinks. Sans bugs, everything was very tasty.

The pool/lagoon: standing water = lots of Mosquitos. My husband swam laps in the pool, which was nice, but we had quite a few bites (even with spray).

Afternoon tea: excellent bonus. They food is lovely, and perfect to tide you over to dinner after a huge breakfast.

Dinner: we did the "BBQ in the buff" in villa grilling. So good, although we chose to grill with clothing on.

Overall: despite the imperfections, this place is great. Free wifi, movies for when it rains, excellent service. We were there 3 nights, which was the perfect amount of time to spend there. At that point we needed a good beach and pool :) But, I would recommend this place to others as a romantic spot to spend a couple of days.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArizonaLangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCNager, General Manager at The Pavilions Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Reader,

We would like to thank our guest for choosing our love retreat for their honeymoon.

The Pavilions, Phuket enjoys a privileged hilltop location surrounded by tropical forest, as such, despite a regular fumigation service, mosquitoes may occur and we provide our guests with organic repellent, as well coils and electric mosquito control products in the villas.

While there are natural phenomena, like bugs or the described algae being washed up by sea currents, which are inherent to our tropical surroundings, there are other aspects of their vacation that are under our direct control.

In this regard and as already communicated to the guests personally, we sincerely regret the misunderstanding that lead to their delayed airport pick up and would like to reassure our readers that appropriate action has been taken to avoid similar incidents from occurring in the future.

We are delighted to read that the above did not mar the enjoyment of their Pavilions experience on a whole and hope to welcome them back for a special anniversary celebration!

Loving Regards,

Jean-Christophe Nager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Both my fiancé and I are usually pretty good at constructive criticism.. We can always find room for improvement but this place had it all covered.. Super spacious, ultra clean, we must have had contact with at least 10 different staff members who all addressed us by name before introducing themselves. A super thorough introduction to the property upon check in. The manager JC couldn't have been cooler. He came out personally to ask about our travels so far, and gave us his own personal insights and recommendations which where tailored to my individual photographic interests! Just amazing. Only wish I could have thanked him for our stay before we left. They offer so much there from cooking classes to massages in your own villa because your rooms come with their own spa section which was amazing. We are definitely returning to Phuket mainly to stay here again. Security was top notch so you feel super safe. Also anything your interested in doing on the island they will assist you in, like they arranged us for zip lining and shuttles to the beach which by the way is gorgeous not to mention is secluded and awesomely private. A real experience if you're blessed enough to get the chance to stay here- do it! And tell JC we say hi!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gfreesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Beautiful setting, gorgeous rooms, good food and very relaxed feeling. Downsides- you need to take a golf cart to get around the resort, spa is very, very expensive. Management were quite distant, didn't welcome us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthB07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCNager, General Manager at The Pavilions Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Reader,

We are always pleased when our guests take the time to share their Pavilions experience and are delighted to read that they enjoyed our facilities and services overall.

Part of the charm of The Pavilions, Phuket originates from our hillside location, allowing for a privileged position with stunning views of both the surrounding valley and nearby Layan Beach. For our guests’ comfort we offer dedicated buggy service from/to all our villas and outlets, which of course should not imply that you are not allowed to walk or hike around the premises should you wish to do so.

Further to the remark about our Spa Pleasures, Phuket offers an array of Spa choices, catering for all budgets. At The Pavilions we strive to provide a memorable experience, with longer than average treatments (90 minutes to 2 hours), performed exclusively in the privacy of our villas. For the benefit of our guests, we also offer a variety of discount schemes, on top of a selection of accommodation packages inclusive of couple Spa treatments, bookable through our website or directly with the resort.

In conclusion, I sincerely regret that I did not have the pleasure to meet these guests during their brief stay with us. My team and I strive to create personal relationships with all our customers and, whenever feasible, try to meet arriving guests to personally welcome them to The Pavilions and introduce them to our love retreat.

Loving Regards,

Jean-Christophe Nager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Left Pavilions for less than a week, however, seems like part of me is still there. I miss Pavilions so much! It's a perfect place to getaway from the stressful city life. Great for couples to enjoy the tranquility of the nature as you can't find any kids. Everything was so wonderful! Starting from the arrival, they welcomed us by a calming thai instrument 'gong' once we entered their lobby. Followed by a light & refreshing fruity welcome drinks served to us. Check-in was speedy. We got a Spa & Pool villa looking over some mountains. It was my birthday and Pavilions had offered a complimentary birthday cake, a surprise arranged by my friend. However, the cake did not delivered at 2pm as arranged. After 3 calls to the guest service, it was not a surprise anymore. Cake was only delivered at 4pm.

During our stay, we had 2 massage sessions - Chocolate & De-stressed. A chocolate body scrub, wrap & massage on our 2nd day and a de-stessed massage the next following day. Overall, our massages were quite good, especially after the chocolate massage, my entire body was soft and smooth.

We had all our meals in Pavilions. The standard of their food is outstanding. The breakfast had quite a variety, from western to thai. I love the salmon egg benedict with the soft flow of egg yolk. The Thai fried noodles were cooked at the right texture, chewy and tasty. My favourite was vanilla cinnamon French Toast soaked in maple syrup and Thai mango sticky rice with distinctively strong coconut milk and sweet mangoes! Our villa was so comfortable that we had almost all our meals in the villa, even cocktails and afternoon tea. Their seafood BBQ was fresh and well seasoned with Thai herbs. But, I guess there was some miscommunication as the arranged afternoon BBQ in our villa at 1:30pm did not arrived and later guest service explained, BBQ was only available in the evening and arranged at 7:30pm for us. There were no frustration as guest service staff immediately apologized and offered a complimentary dine-in lunch. So, we had our seafood BBQ in our villa later in that evening. What we did not expect was a romantic candlelight set-up was prepared for us. Seafood were amazingly fresh. Succulent Lobster, hugh tiger prawn, sweet crab, fish fillet wrapped in banana leaf and squid, served with tasty soft bread. We had a fabulous dinner! The highlight of the night was not just BBQ, the F&B Manager had offered us a complimentary dark chocolate fondue. The fondue came with thai mangoes, papayas, pineapples, strawberries, cashew nuts and breadsticks. This is the most romantic night I ever had!

On our last day, we met the F&B Manager during breakfast and thanked him for the hospitality. A hotel transfer to the airport was arranged and was quite surprised a MVP could have a massage chair. This is thoughtful. Overall, the Pavilions staffs are very friendly, thoughtful and always accommodating to our needs. I will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocolatepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I have known the resort for few years and it was a real treat to stay there. The landscaping is beautiful, you feel Thailand at its best. From the moment you feel very well looked after, the service is very friendly and helpful.
The villa is very spacious, I like the view and the privacy with the elegant pool. The decor is extremely elegant and you feel very comfortable and spoiled. as you go along you find out little touches by the resort which gives you a little smile as you have been touched by a special attention.
This is probably the first resort where it is easy to switch on or off the light within the villa. A very user friendly high tech sound/tv system not free wifi which is essential as I can work at the same time.
No kid philosophy, it is the perfect place for any couple who wants to spend quality time just the 2 of them.
I have no hesitation to recommend this resort and will probably go back there with my wife to spoil

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FHuet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was our fourth visit in 6 years and we've seen the resort develop over the years. We love the Ocean view pool villa and can't wait to go back again. Big pool, large lounge and bathroom. Lots of space to lounge around in. The villas are due a refurb this year so seeing the updates will be interesting. Good food at the restaurants and the addition of Eastland adds a nice place for a casual lunch. New beach concession is great - nice loungers, attentive service and good food at Chang's Beach Bar. Regular trips to the beach by the hotels Thai bus is fun and the hotel easily takes guests to Laguna restaurants and shops upon request. Staff are all very friendly and try their best to accommodate, even when the language barrier gets in the way. Some staff we recognize from our first time here so we assume it must be a great place to work at. The GM and guest manager were very visible to us on our stay and are always trying to add some new touches like arranging the night market on site during one night of our stay. The in-room spa treatments were good and use nice products. We had a great 10 day stay and are already trying to see when we can fit a return trip back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank escholte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
9.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
8.6 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
979 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#2 of 36 in Choeng Thale
534 reviews
9.3 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
9.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 334 in Patong
6,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilions Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilions Phuket

Address: 31/1, Moo 6, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range: $139 - $825 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pavilions Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high above Layan Beach, The Pavilions Phuket is a resort as spacious as it is private and peaceful. From our spacious newly appointed 81 sqm one-bedroom suites to our signature private pool villas, we are a haven of tranquility. Enjoy an array of restaurants including: our open air The Plantation Club for modern Thai and international favourites, Firefly set next to the largest freeform pool in Phuket for wood burning oven pizzas, grilled specialities and more, and 360 Bar, one of the best loved places in Choeng Thale for cocktails, asian tapas and sunsets. We also offer a wide range of in-villa dining options, including seafood bbqs. Our resort also features an award winning spa with yoga pavilion, fitness centre, and pools. Whether you're celebrating a special occasion or looking to relax and reconnect, The Pavilions is your perfect intimate escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pavilions Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pavilions Phuket Hotel Thalang
Phuket Pavilions Hotel Cherngtalay
Phuket Pavilions Cherngtalay
The Pavilions Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing