We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect private pavilions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pavilions Phuket
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2008

We stayed at Phuket Pavilions over the Chinese New Year for 5 nights and 6 days.......which was totally perfect and an absolute perfect place to relax.

If you want total privacy stunning views, full sunsets, and can think of nothing better than reading books swimming in the pool, quite drinks at night then this is the place for you.

Arrival we were very early and after check in at the open airy beautiful lobby, we were told we would need to wait for a room to be cleaned and would be approximatly 1 hour.

No problem already starting to chill out in this stunning place....I am sure less than 30 minutes we were told the room was ready and they took us to villa 15............wow.

Big living room with perfect little kitchen.....but the pool just lovely big with stunning views.......bedroom nice and big with the most stunning bathroom.....huge big tub and rain shower.

This was it if you like to relax and not do a single thing then I can think of no place better.......quickly got into swing of things.......
breakfast down in the lobby.....you can order in but to be honest when I wake up I need food so the buffet was the best option.

Buggy back up the hill.....much too lazy to walk!!!!

In the pool for the morning........until lunch time........shuttle bus to the beach at 1:30pm..........lunch at the little beach hut.........
spent the afternoon on the beach......shuttle back.

Late afternoon in the pool........sunset with drinks..........dinner at 360 and finish off with a DVD.....which you can order from the reception.

6 days repeat above..........perfect.

I would say it's not a place for people looking for action as there isn't any........or with kids.

lazy couples who want a break from the rat race YES!!!!!

Honestly I have the photos we took and it's like a dream........I think for the price paid it's really a good offer and it is the best place I have stayed in Phuket so far.........not tried the amanpuri yet!!!!

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank H0nky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 799 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2008

We stayed at the Phuket Pavilions in Jan-08 for our honeymoon. After a couple of days in Bangkok we were ready for a break and that is what you definitely get here. After being picked up from the airport we entered a beautiful open aired reception area and met by staff only to happy to help. My suggestion is ask the staff about all the available options i.e. taxi's/private limo's etc

Unfortunately for our first night there all the 1 bedroom villa's were occupied therefore we were put into a 3 bedroom villa for the night. The 3 bedroom villas are huge and very impressive however due to the construction going on nearby can be a bit noisy. For the one night we didn't mind. Next day the staff arranged for us to be moved into a 1 bedroom villa - recommend villa 13 if you want total privacy.

The 1 bedroom villa's are awesome with your own private pool, view of the ocean, west facing for sunset, huge bathroom, day beds and own kitchen. The 360' bar located at the top of the hill gives magnificent views over the surrounding valleys and a great way to spend sunset having cocktails. The staff were great and make sure you go for happy hour for your favourite drink. Food was good and looks like it is starting to expand a bit more in variety. Make sure you get breakfast included in your package and have it delivered to your room. They will setup everything for you.

There is not a lot to do in the resort so we found the best way to get around the island was to organise a car through reception. It makes it a lot easier and saves haggling with local drivers. They will drop off and pick you up when you are ready.

If you are after a place that is full relaxtion (highly recommend the massages) then this is a great place to go and we will hopefully be back again some day.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2008

My fiancé and I had the pleasure of staying in a sensational 1 bedroom Pool Villa at the Beautiful Phuket Pavilions from the 04th – 11th of September 2007. From the moment we were met at the airport by our driver (with cold towels and chilled water), we knew we were in for an unforgettable experience.

On arrival at the hotel the check-in formalities were seamless – even down to the complimentary Campari & Soda. Our personal concierge (Martin, ask for him if you can, you will not be disappointed), took us in the motorised golf cart up to The Villa.

The Villas themselves were huge, with a total built up area of 310sq m, they are bigger then some peoples houses! The kitchenette was well stocked and even had a full sized fridge.

The bedroom with sliding door access to your infinity edge pool & bathroom, are generously oversized. The shower had one of those luxury old fashioned, full sized shower heads (that are virtually illegal here in Australia; due to the drought conditions), and a sensational oval sized Terrazzo Stone Bath.

The private outdoor area & view from our infinity edge pool was just beautiful. We spent our days lazing in or around our pool reading books & sipping cold drinks. At night pre-dinner cocktails are a must in the 360 bar with some of the best sunsets you’re ever likely to see in Thailand.

For those wanting to do some sightseeing, or even just goto Patong, I recommend using one of the hotels chauffeur driven vehicles, they are inexpensive and just add to the luxury feel of this truly wonderful place.

A truly memorable holiday.
Jason & Vicki
(Melbourne Australia)

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MelbourneTravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2008

We stayed at the Phuket Pavilions 5 nights in December. The villas itself offer much space and are really stylish. The private pool is a big benefit as there is no pool in the resort. Service is not very impressive. Each day they forgot something of our breakfast, they were not able to provide us with a key of the villa for 2 days (and nights) and - very uncommon for Thailand - you have to ask for everything. The food is not very good.

The whole "resort" is very unpersonal as there are no restaurants, no pool, no leisure acitivities, rather its just a line up of villas. Besides, the villas are part of a time-sharing-programme and information on this programme is presented everywhere.

Bear in mind that the Pavilions are situated on a hill with no possibilities to walk to the beach or a restaurant. We rented a car which was no problem, the hotel bus goes to the beach some times a day. However, if you want to stay in your villa the whole day and evening the location will be no problem for you.

I would not come back to the Phuket Pavilions again - except for the bar 360° which is really great (and populated by non-residents each evening).

PS: If you want to stay there, try to get a higher numbered Villa which is situated on the top of the hill and which has a better view hence.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pinkelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2008

In general the Pavilions is a beautiful resort with an large private pool but at a closer glance you can see very poor details and finishing. The 'no tan line' slogon was a little misleading because there are houses not that far away from the villa which you can see and from where can look over to you.

Food was poor, which was a big problem for anyone who wishes to stay inside his private villa and do ordering in. Western food was ineatible and even their Thai food wasn't particularly good either.

Their staff was nice and friendly but not well-trainned. Some can't speak any English.

Not much to do in the near by area. Not much else to do in the resort either.

We were very disappointed with the Pavillions particularly with the given the rate they charge. We are paying more than Four seaons fees but received much less than Four Seasons type of service.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank lisawls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2008

Stayed at Phuket Pavillions in December 07. Some good points but some big weaknesses for a hotel costing $600 a night.

The hotel is located on a hill about 1km from the Laguna hotel complex. There are no shops or restaurants so this is a hotel for people prepared to stay put or who have a car. There is no gym and only a small lobby and it feels more like a holiday club than a hotel.

The Positives: The one bedroom suites are huge and each has a 12 metre swimming pool - a decent size compared to the small pools usual in other hotels pool villas. The hotels inclusive breakfast can be served in-room at no extra charge and there is 24 hour room service so in theory one need not leave the villa. Service is good though the young staff seemed a little inexperienced.

The Negatives: There is no gym or library. Beware the service charge and taxes which are a hefty 20%. The big disappointment is the food which was very very poor by any standards. This is particularly a problem at a hotel where there are no restaurants nearby and a big disappointment for a Relais and Chateaux property, where food standards are normerly very high. Overall we got the impression that hotel guests are of secondary importance to this property - it is currently being expanded including more holiday homes and has a rooftop bar which is very popular with local expats. Like other respondents we had a few maintenence problems with the Villa though these were rectified quickly.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AdamCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2007

My husband and I had a lot of stress in the past few months and were looking to get away from it all over Xmas. After researching the resorts on Phuket, we saw the good reviews on this website of Phuket Pavilions and gave it a go.
What more to say, than we congratulated each other on the choice nearly every day... it was jst perfect.
Phuket Pavilions is small, only 21 one bedroom Pavilions and a few big villas and although the resort apparently was full, you would not know, because you hardly see anybody around. The Pavilions itself are completely private.

Service was second to none, from the drivers to the room maid we only saw friendly, smiling faces, always willing to serve and help.
What we liked: All, but especially, the size of Pavilion, great Pool and views. The service. The small details on the bed every night. Breakfast served in the Villa.
The in villa Spa: possibly the best massage I ever had. 360 bar - not once did we miss the daily happy hour at sunset, the Best place to see it on Phuket I can imagine.Cockails are yummy.
One day we choose the Romance day package with Spa, food and so on. It was heaven, we were pampered and had a wonderful time.
What we didn't like: if you keep the doors open bugs come in...

Thumbs up for Pavilions!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Schnecke7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
9.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
8.6 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
979 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#2 of 36 in Choeng Thale
533 reviews
9.3 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
9.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 333 in Patong
6,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilions Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilions Phuket

Address: 31/1, Moo 6, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range: $143 - $819 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pavilions Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high above Layan Beach, The Pavilions Phuket is a resort as spacious as it is private and peaceful. From our spacious newly appointed 81 sqm one-bedroom suites to our signature private pool villas, we are a haven of tranquility. Enjoy an array of restaurants including: our open air The Plantation Club for modern Thai and international favourites, Firefly set next to the largest freeform pool in Phuket for wood burning oven pizzas, grilled specialities and more, and 360 Bar, one of the best loved places in Choeng Thale for cocktails, asian tapas and sunsets. We also offer a wide range of in-villa dining options, including seafood bbqs. Our resort also features an award winning spa with yoga pavilion, fitness centre, and pools. Whether you're celebrating a special occasion or looking to relax and reconnect, The Pavilions is your perfect intimate escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pavilions Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pavilions Phuket Hotel Thalang
Phuket Pavilions Hotel Cherngtalay
Phuket Pavilions Cherngtalay
The Pavilions Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing