We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of my best hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pavilions Phuket
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“one of my best hotels”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

It’s the best place to those who is looking for romantic and relaxing time
Also it’s the place for people looking for privacy, specially for Muslim couple’s

Room Tip: I was in villa 30 pool & spa it was on the hill side overlooking to Laguna area, it was amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliAlromaihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    76
    27
    17
    12
See reviews for
30
511
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The most beautiful hotel we have ever stayed in. Very private villas. Staff are very helpful and courteous. Food and service - the best. Set on a hill so catches the breezes - hotel shuttle service to Layan Beach every 2 hours. The most romantic few days my husband and I have ever had!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
79 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

My trip here is very much motivated by all the reviews and after planning it for quite sometime, we finally did. We were there over the weekend and just came back yesterday and we already talking and planning about our return trip to The Pavillions. It certainly live up to my expectation from the moment they pick you up at the airport until they sent you home. I took an early flight and arrive quite early at the resort. They alllowed us an early check in which is nice. You dont actually need to leave your room and travelling light is easy here since you wont be wearing much throughout your stay. :-)

We stayed in Ocean View Villas with a breathtaking view of the ocean and sunset in the evening. My Villa number was 16 which is located at the upper most terrace (which i believe offers the utmost privacy). The 360 bar is just a few steps away from our villa which gives you a spectacular all round view. We had dinner and breakfast at the Plantation Club where the restaurant is located. You can also order in your breakfast to your villa but choices are limited to continental whereas there are add ons at the restaurant such as waffles, pancakes etc The Plantattion Club also house a library where you can grab a book to read as well as DVD for that movie nite with your significant other.

They also serve complimentary tea and sandwiches in the evening at the new public pool. All the staff are extremely pleasant although communication may be a bit of a problem but not something which is a major issue as far as i am concerned.

Just becareful of frogs and other insects or creepy crawlies and ensure you close your door at all times. But this is something you have to expect from a place like this with such a beautiful natural surroundings The last day when we were about to check out, we found 2 centipedes in the pool.

During our second night, there was a sudden power trip in our villa (not sure why) which was attended to quickly by the staff. Probably one item i like to highlight, the external air condition unit seems to be a bit noisy during our stay and there were times i have to switch it off to enjoy some peace and quiet. Anyway, the sea breeze from the Ocean VIew Villa is simply refreshing and can really put you to sleep at the outdoor sala so I can live without the noisy air conditioning.

Can't wait for our return trip.

.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zmyusof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zele, Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

the villa is very private staff is very helpfull
a beautiful hotel if you like tranquility
we stayed in an ocean view villa with a big swimmingpool

Room Tip: ocean view rooms has nicer view and bigger pool spa and pool villa are new and decorated very beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rudy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My newly-wed husband and I just had our wedding party which consisted of a hectic week that includes a series of activities, which included a pre-wedding drinks, chinese tea ceremony, wedding party, a post wedding party (organised by friends), and other social events. We had lots of family and friends came in from all over and although we're so happy that they were joining us on our special day, we were hectic and exhausted by the end of it.

If that sounds like you, The Pavilions Phuket is the perfect gateaway to do absolutely nothing and just enjoy the resort and natural environment. We wine, dine and live like king and queen when we were there. The honeymoon package was absolutely fabulous when it came with dinner, champagne and even a bottle of wine, massages for two, airport transfers and the best view you can get from the top of the mountain. The staff are really friendly and most of them have good understanding of basic english. When we came back from Songkran festival on a taxi, the lady who was accompanying her husbad (who was the tour/taxi operator) informed us that she was previously working at The Pavilion for two years and that was how she learnt english. She was so sweet lady and i could see how her customer service has even extended outside her employment with The Pavilion after she's left.

I can't wait to check out The Pavilion next time i'm in Bali. I hope the services are just as great as the one we had in Phuket!

Room Tip: If you're a couple, the honeymoon suite (or villa) is great enough. the seaside view is certainl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My hubby and I decided to go to Asia for our honeymoon. What an excellent choice it was. We visited Hong Kong, Bangkok, and finally Phuket. Out of 3 hotels Pavilions was definitely the most romantic and beautiful. We've booked the deal for this hotel through Luxury Link.

We stayed at Spa Villa #32. The villa was amazing, I won't bore you with descriptions instead I will post a few pictures. Not sure about other rooms but our villa was absolutely private (hint: tan minus the tan lines).

I believe that most of the villas are quite far from the reception and restaurants. However all it takes is to call reception for a buggy and they will pick you up in 2 minutes. Very convenient. Our pick up point however was up few flights of stairs which for us wasn't really a problem. However if you are not a fan of walking up and down the stairs in the heat I would suggesting if you are staying in Spa Villa to stay in the higher villa numbers for example 42.

As to the breakfast unfortunately out of 3 places I would say Pavilions had the least variety for the buffet. It is of course more then enough for some. But I think my husband and I got a bit spoiled by previous two hotels. The a la carte menu was extensive however most of the items on the menu were eggs which after a week vacation a bit tiring.

We've also ordered room service for lunch on numerous occasions. Everything was very delicious. Just as a note however we've only ordered from Thai menu not from the Western. In our package we had a 4 course dinner included. It was very delicious.

360 Bar which we went to about 4 times was amazing. They have happy hour between 5:30 - and 6:30pm when drink are 50% off. Both the food and the drinks were very tasty. I suggest trying drinks: Fire and Ice and Pamelo Caipiroska. As to the food definitely try soft shell crab appetizer, wagu beef sliders and pomme frites. And again really really delicious.

We went to Plantation only once for dinner. The food was OK and extremely spicy. We've ordered papaya salad and tom yum gung soup. We knew both of these dishes are spicy so we mentioned to server to make them less spicy but that didn't help much.

We also got 90min couples massage as part of the package through Luxury Link. It was definitely a highlight of our trip. Our villa had the spa room so that is very convenient.

Overall the service is outstanding here. Everyone from staff at the restaurant, reception, and cleaning were very nice. They would come every night for turn down service and make the room absolutely magical and also leave a small gift or chocolate or a simple note. That what really distinguishes this amazing resort from anywhere else we ever stayed.

I don't want to end my review on a negative note. However, there is something that I do need to mention and that is a car service situation at this hotel. We came to Phuket from Bangkok and for those who've been to Bangkok knows how cheap the taxis are there. The most we payed was 300 baht ($10) for taxi from hotel to airport and that was 40 min drive. Knowing that on our very first day at Pavilions we asked reception to call us a taxi to take us to restaurant 10 min away. After we arrived the taxi driver requested 900 BAHT!!!! We thought we didn't hear it right. Even by NY standards that was a lot, $30!! for 10 min ride. The call to the reception didn't fix anything, they just said that is the price of one way taxi service. That is all good but it would be nice if person at the reception mentioned something like that to us before we got into the taxi. After all we did just arrive and had no idea about the prices. We definitely didn't think it would be more expensive than New York. We argued with the driver a bit so he went down to 700 baht. Overall that wasn't a really nice way to start a vacation, however i'm not even going to lower my rating because of this. But if you do decide to stay at the property know that one way trip from the hotel anywhere further than 10 min will run you $20 - $30. Perhaps the reception should make it a point to mention it to the guests when they make taxi reservation.

In the end what we did is we rented a scooter for 450 baht per day from the hotel and that was an excellent way to ride around the island. I believe outside the hotel you can actually rent for 200 baht.

Overall an excellent stay in the amazing hotel. Keep up the good work Pavilions!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beauty_sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed 3 nights with the Pavilions at its Spa and Pool Villa. This room type is supposedly new, renovated recently from its previous "Plantation Villa".

The villa is very nicely done up, living up to the standards and expectation of Thai luxurious resorts. However, the little things that were not attended to had costed the Pavilions its otherwise excellent reputation.

ACCOMMODATION
1) The air-con in the room had strange humid/moldy smell. The air-con was only turned on when the key card was inserted in the slot. Hence a lot of the times, there was no air-con (if you are out, or the villa is not occupied). The smell got us worried about whether the system had been properly cleaned.

2) The huge sofa in the living room felt a bit damp and sticky. I guess some people might just hop and lie on the sofa right after the pool (there was actually a sala in the garden for that purpose!). Plus the air-con was only on when someone was in the room. The dehumidifying function was not properly performed. It got you to worry about the upholstery having held the dead skin cells of previous customers' - as it is inevitable that you have to put your feet up on the sofa - and rub your heels on it! So did everyone else before you!

3) The electric kettle was not properly cleaned from previous stay. I guess the previous couple used the kettle to boil milk. The streaks were still inside the kettle. Thank God we saw them before using the kettle - who knows how long those streaks had been inside?

4) The water marks from the bath (like with soapy water) on the marble were not cleaned. This should be rather basic for any good housekeeping to do, shouldn't it?

5) There was always something the housekeeping forgot to do - either replenishing the toilet roll, or replacing sufficient (same) quantity of fresh towels. Don't they have a checklist?

6) The bed made a squeaky sound whenever you move (from the wooden frame). I was made awaken one night. And for the following nights, I had to use my ear plugs. The bedding and mattress were nice though.

SERVICE
7) The waiters at the restaurant (where breakfast was served) were just OK, by Thai's standards, didn't quite live up to my expectation (and experience) of Thai hospitality, actually. One morning, when I ordered something and they served me something else. I asked this waiter, "Excuse me, this is not what I ordered, I order XXX". He then said "OK". Just that, and then he turned away. What did that mean? He was to change it for me? Of course I did not feel a hint of regret in that response. Then I tried to ask him back and said, "I do not need this though." He then very swiftly just grabbed the plate and left the table without a word. Wow, that's something new I experienced at a Thai 5-Star hotel! Strangely, I tried to observe these waiters in the next 2 days, and found that most of them put up a much nicer smile to Caucasian visitors in general. We are Asians. Racial discrimination? Part of the training? Very strange. This is definitely the first time I have this strange feeling out of my >20 trips to Thailand. This is also my first time having this experience out of my >20 stays at 5-star hotels/resorts in Thailand.

8) Our package came with a complimentary massage treatment for 2. The massage was very professional, and the in-villa spa room was marvellous! This was definitely a treat!

9) The hotel offered complimentary afternoon tea at the common pool area. Nice gesture!

On the whole, the hotel was fairly nice - though there is for sure room for improvement. I'd give it a 6.5 out of 10.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCNager, General Manager at The Pavilions Phuket, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear reader,

First I would like to thank these guests for taking the time to provide their comments which are objective and factual. They are relevant and help us focus on the areas where further training need to be conducted and issues addressed. The fact that they stay during the peak Easter week when the hotel is full is no excuse as our goal is to offer all our guests a memorable experience all the time.
I am happy to read that they enjoyed other aspects of the hotel and would like to reassure our readers that the points mentioned have been taken with concern and are being addressed.

Jean-Christophe Nager
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
9.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
8.6 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#4 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
9.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,355 reviews
2.0 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 95 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilions Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilions Phuket

Property: The Pavilions Phuket
Address: 31/1 Moo 6 | Cherngtalay, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#2 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pavilions Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high above Layan Beach, The Pavilions Phuket is a resort as spacious as it is private and peaceful. Decidedly adult, each private villa is a haven of tranquility. Whether you're celebrating a special occasion or looking to relax and reconnect, The Pavilions is your perfect intimate escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Pavilions Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pavilions Phuket Hotel Thalang
Phuket Pavilions Hotel Cherngtalay
Phuket Pavilions Cherngtalay
The Pavilions Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing