We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel for our honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pavilions Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Pavilions Phuket
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel for our honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

My hubby and I decided to go to Asia for our honeymoon. What an excellent choice it was. We visited Hong Kong, Bangkok, and finally Phuket. Out of 3 hotels Pavilions was definitely the most romantic and beautiful. We've booked the deal for this hotel through Luxury Link.

We stayed at Spa Villa #32. The villa was amazing, I won't bore you with descriptions instead I will post a few pictures. Not sure about other rooms but our villa was absolutely private (hint: tan minus the tan lines).

I believe that most of the villas are quite far from the reception and restaurants. However all it takes is to call reception for a buggy and they will pick you up in 2 minutes. Very convenient. Our pick up point however was up few flights of stairs which for us wasn't really a problem. However if you are not a fan of walking up and down the stairs in the heat I would suggesting if you are staying in Spa Villa to stay in the higher villa numbers for example 42.

As to the breakfast unfortunately out of 3 places I would say Pavilions had the least variety for the buffet. It is of course more then enough for some. But I think my husband and I got a bit spoiled by previous two hotels. The a la carte menu was extensive however most of the items on the menu were eggs which after a week vacation a bit tiring.

We've also ordered room service for lunch on numerous occasions. Everything was very delicious. Just as a note however we've only ordered from Thai menu not from the Western. In our package we had a 4 course dinner included. It was very delicious.

360 Bar which we went to about 4 times was amazing. They have happy hour between 5:30 - and 6:30pm when drink are 50% off. Both the food and the drinks were very tasty. I suggest trying drinks: Fire and Ice and Pamelo Caipiroska. As to the food definitely try soft shell crab appetizer, wagu beef sliders and pomme frites. And again really really delicious.

We went to Plantation only once for dinner. The food was OK and extremely spicy. We've ordered papaya salad and tom yum gung soup. We knew both of these dishes are spicy so we mentioned to server to make them less spicy but that didn't help much.

We also got 90min couples massage as part of the package through Luxury Link. It was definitely a highlight of our trip. Our villa had the spa room so that is very convenient.

Overall the service is outstanding here. Everyone from staff at the restaurant, reception, and cleaning were very nice. They would come every night for turn down service and make the room absolutely magical and also leave a small gift or chocolate or a simple note. That what really distinguishes this amazing resort from anywhere else we ever stayed.

I don't want to end my review on a negative note. However, there is something that I do need to mention and that is a car service situation at this hotel. We came to Phuket from Bangkok and for those who've been to Bangkok knows how cheap the taxis are there. The most we payed was 300 baht ($10) for taxi from hotel to airport and that was 40 min drive. Knowing that on our very first day at Pavilions we asked reception to call us a taxi to take us to restaurant 10 min away. After we arrived the taxi driver requested 900 BAHT!!!! We thought we didn't hear it right. Even by NY standards that was a lot, $30!! for 10 min ride. The call to the reception didn't fix anything, they just said that is the price of one way taxi service. That is all good but it would be nice if person at the reception mentioned something like that to us before we got into the taxi. After all we did just arrive and had no idea about the prices. We definitely didn't think it would be more expensive than New York. We argued with the driver a bit so he went down to 700 baht. Overall that wasn't a really nice way to start a vacation, however i'm not even going to lower my rating because of this. But if you do decide to stay at the property know that one way trip from the hotel anywhere further than 10 min will run you $20 - $30. Perhaps the reception should make it a point to mention it to the guests when they make taxi reservation.

In the end what we did is we rented a scooter for 450 baht per day from the hotel and that was an excellent way to ride around the island. I believe outside the hotel you can actually rent for 200 baht.

Overall an excellent stay in the amazing hotel. Keep up the good work Pavilions!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beauty_sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    71
    25
    16
    12
See reviews for
24
469
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed 3 nights with the Pavilions at its Spa and Pool Villa. This room type is supposedly new, renovated recently from its previous "Plantation Villa".

The villa is very nicely done up, living up to the standards and expectation of Thai luxurious resorts. However, the little things that were not attended to had costed the Pavilions its otherwise excellent reputation.

ACCOMMODATION
1) The air-con in the room had strange humid/moldy smell. The air-con was only turned on when the key card was inserted in the slot. Hence a lot of the times, there was no air-con (if you are out, or the villa is not occupied). The smell got us worried about whether the system had been properly cleaned.

2) The huge sofa in the living room felt a bit damp and sticky. I guess some people might just hop and lie on the sofa right after the pool (there was actually a sala in the garden for that purpose!). Plus the air-con was only on when someone was in the room. The dehumidifying function was not properly performed. It got you to worry about the upholstery having held the dead skin cells of previous customers' - as it is inevitable that you have to put your feet up on the sofa - and rub your heels on it! So did everyone else before you!

3) The electric kettle was not properly cleaned from previous stay. I guess the previous couple used the kettle to boil milk. The streaks were still inside the kettle. Thank God we saw them before using the kettle - who knows how long those streaks had been inside?

4) The water marks from the bath (like with soapy water) on the marble were not cleaned. This should be rather basic for any good housekeeping to do, shouldn't it?

5) There was always something the housekeeping forgot to do - either replenishing the toilet roll, or replacing sufficient (same) quantity of fresh towels. Don't they have a checklist?

6) The bed made a squeaky sound whenever you move (from the wooden frame). I was made awaken one night. And for the following nights, I had to use my ear plugs. The bedding and mattress were nice though.

SERVICE
7) The waiters at the restaurant (where breakfast was served) were just OK, by Thai's standards, didn't quite live up to my expectation (and experience) of Thai hospitality, actually. One morning, when I ordered something and they served me something else. I asked this waiter, "Excuse me, this is not what I ordered, I order XXX". He then said "OK". Just that, and then he turned away. What did that mean? He was to change it for me? Of course I did not feel a hint of regret in that response. Then I tried to ask him back and said, "I do not need this though." He then very swiftly just grabbed the plate and left the table without a word. Wow, that's something new I experienced at a Thai 5-Star hotel! Strangely, I tried to observe these waiters in the next 2 days, and found that most of them put up a much nicer smile to Caucasian visitors in general. We are Asians. Racial discrimination? Part of the training? Very strange. This is definitely the first time I have this strange feeling out of my >20 trips to Thailand. This is also my first time having this experience out of my >20 stays at 5-star hotels/resorts in Thailand.

8) Our package came with a complimentary massage treatment for 2. The massage was very professional, and the in-villa spa room was marvellous! This was definitely a treat!

9) The hotel offered complimentary afternoon tea at the common pool area. Nice gesture!

On the whole, the hotel was fairly nice - though there is for sure room for improvement. I'd give it a 6.5 out of 10.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCNager, General Manager at The Pavilions Phuket, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear reader,

First I would like to thank these guests for taking the time to provide their comments which are objective and factual. They are relevant and help us focus on the areas where further training need to be conducted and issues addressed. The fact that they stay during the peak Easter week when the hotel is full is no excuse as our goal is to offer all our guests a memorable experience all the time.
I am happy to read that they enjoyed other aspects of the hotel and would like to reassure our readers that the points mentioned have been taken with concern and are being addressed.

Jean-Christophe Nager
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed at the resort from 13-20 Mar 12 for our honeymoon.Being our first visit to Phuket , we were slightly apprehensive about the resort as we had got to know about it through internet after an extensive search through various other options. But thankfully everything was exactly the way it was supposed to be and much more..the rooms were amazingly spacious and well done.The service was outstanding and everyone n the staff were very helpful. The place in itself is superb and as we entered the resort, making our way through the bamboo tree corridor, we instantly knew we had made a good choice.Everything, starting from the airport pickup, to the reception, the food was top class.Would love to come back here.

Room Tip: choose the ocean view villa..amzing view and sunsets..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashwinNoida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed there for 10 days in January. The location up the hill is fabulous. Once your enter thru the "tunnel of bamboo" you enter a wonderful retreat with gorgeous plants and trees alongside the roads and villas.
The villas themselves are spacious and clean but clearly need some work. One of the windows in our bathroom was broken (big crack across the window), the paint was falling of some of the walls outside. Also the day-bed next to the pool wasn't very clean. Overall I am not a big fan of their interior design since it isn't much south east asian - more like a modern style blended with thai elements.

What's really unmatched is the level of privacy you can enjoy. The high walls safely shield you from any neighbors and give you all the privacy you desire.

Daily breakfast at the plantation club was really good, even though the buffet selection is limited. You can however order many things from the menu - all is included in the price, no extra charges for anything.

The staff is fantastic and helped us a great deal with our inquiries and shopping recommendations as well as restaurant recommendations.

360 bar on top of the hill offers spectacular sunset views with a nice drink...

Room Tip: ask for a villa higher up the hill with sea view. It gives you better sunset experiences...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hitman_1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Magic from start to finish...we loved it so much we had to come back for more. Take sunscreen and a some good books.

The package offered by Pavilions worked out to about USD$650 a night, which given the exceptional nature and quality of what's offered is a remarkably affordable luxury for a short stay. The package included luxury airport transfers and express customs clearance, a Pool Villa with an absolutely private and amazing uninterrupted view of the ocean, breakfast, couples massage and one very special dinner in the villa. Between swimming in the pool and swimming in the sala we found no reason to leave the villa other than attending the cooking class, which was great fun lead by the friendly head Canadian chef. He was happy to teach us how to cook whatever Thai dish we wanted to learn how to make.

If you're a hard working couple and can afford it, a 5 night stay here is a must each year to recharge the batteries, relax, and enjoy blissful happiness in a villa with a view.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get the Ocean View Pool Villa. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HongKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

actually my stay was in mid 2011 but only have the intention to write something today.
Overall, everything was perfect, the room, food and the (in room dining) and the transfer really luxurious, good and in time. i just loved the atmosphere and the staff there really helpful.
I’m definitely will come back and can’t wait for the moment

Room Tip: im staying at the pool seaview and it just lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizIrwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

As a working Singapore expat is inclined to do, I booked a long weekend trip the night before departure. My accommodation search was brief considering I was a first-time visitor to Phuket. I found The Pavilions on www.concierge.com where the property was highly rated though not deeply described. With a Relais & Chateaux designation I assumed all was well. The property's own website lacked gloss and seemed unimportant so I did not spend too much time there. With hindsight the only detail I needed to know was The Pavilions is for couples. Solo travelers beware, you will not be turned away but you will be treated as somewhat alien.

I stayed two nights and was satisfied with the physical space but not with the overall experience so doubtful I'll return. That said there are plus points to note for couples considering this property:

Highlights:
- very spacious villa with separate living room, bedroom, bathroom + private massage room for two (with separate therapist entrance)
- nicely laid out private pool area with chaise longue, daybed, dining area
- diverse and quality in-room dining menu/service (though continental breakfast was sub-par)
- access to Lanyan Beach: sparsely populated, smooth sand, clear waters, local beach restaurant with very fresh fair
- complimentary 15-minute foot massage was much appreciated
- gift shop: nice merchandise, especially women's clothing selection
- Yen, at the Front Desk was friendly and attentive

Lowlights:
- villa interior - early 90's decor; "come hither" motif was over the top; tired furnishings
- breakfast - slow service, incomplete selection
- bathroom cleanliness - water spots all over the shower door and broken mirror frame
- creaky, old bedframe

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Geraldine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
9.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
8.6 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#3 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
9.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,030 reviews
1.9 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 94 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilions Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilions Phuket

Property: The Pavilions Phuket
Address: 31/1 Moo 6 | Cherngtalay, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#4 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pavilions Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high above Layan Beach, The Pavilions Phuket is a resort as spacious as it is private and peaceful. Decidedly adult, each private villa is a haven of tranquility. Whether you're celebrating a special occasion or looking to relax and reconnect, The Pavilions is your perfect intimate escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pavilions Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pavilions Phuket Hotel Thalang
Phuket Pavilions Hotel Cherngtalay
Phuket Pavilions Cherngtalay
The Pavilions Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing