We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pavilions Phuket
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week at the end of Jan. We ended up booking an ocean view pool villa as we wanted to have the view and were very pleased we did - while the villa was perhaps not as modern as the plantation ones, it was still beautifully done up and more than big enough for two people, with a ridiculously large pool you could do laps in ! But the best bit was being able to watch amazing sunsets each night from the privacy of your own villa terrace. You could go up to the 360 bar but we found it was quite busy and preferred to have drinks and snacks delivered to our villa to have our own private cocktail sunset experience !

The food was superb - we ate at both the Aman and the Trisarsa whilst there and have to say that The Pavilions was in the same league quality wise but at a (slightly) more affordable level.

The service was interesting - some of the staff went out of their way to try and help and really did exceed our expectations whilst others unfortunately were not so good and let things slip. There were a few incidents which could have turned our holiday into a one out of five star experience but I have to point out that the exceptional service and skilled management by JC meant that this was turned around and we instead walked away with a very positive view of the Pavilions.

My husband and I have been lucky enough to stay in some beautiful hotels that usually pride themselves on excellent management such as the Datai, the Aman hotels, the W hotels, Banyan Tree etc but none of them come even close to meeting the standard of GM we witnessed with JC. He is by far and away the best GM we have met and it is largely down to him that we will return to the Pavilions again.

Room Tip: book an ocean view room for the views and sunset - its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

495 - 501 of 799 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2012

The moment we arrived we knew that it was going to be a fantastic trip. The private shuttle was waiting for us at the airport and the friendly driver took us on the 20 minute drive to the resort. The property is not located on the beach, which is a bonus because it is very secluded and private. We saw and heard no one when we were in our villa. Our Ocean View Villa was as promised. The views were gorgeous and the accommodations were very nice. Everything was comfortable, clean and well maintained. We enjoyed a wonderful massage and then spent most of our time relaxing in the villa. The food was good and we especially liked the daily tea and snacks. I would recommend this for anyone looking for some serious R&R.

Room Tip: The Ocean View Villas are worth it to watch the sunset over the ocean every night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

My fiancé and I have just returned to Hong Kong after spending 6 nights at The Pavilions, Phuket and we're finding it difficult to re-adjust!

We had left our Chinese New Year holiday plans until the very last minute, so the only option open to us via our travel agent was a Pool & Spa Pavilion; however, my fiancé inspected an Ocean View Pool Villa (in case we wanted to upgrade) and agreed with some of the reviewers' opinions that they were more dated than the Pool & Spa villas and were possibly not worth the additional cost.

The Pool & Spa Pavilion is incredibly private, spacious and well-appointed - inside and out! The pool is the largest we've experienced in a pool villa to date and of a reasonable depth (meaning when you get into the pool to cool off, it is a refreshing temperature, not a tepid bath). The villas are all very private, meaning you can wear as much or as little as you like without fear of being caught unawares. I loved the high ceilings and generously proportioned rooms inside the villa. The couch in the living room is really like a second bed, with enormous, comfortable cushions (which made watching the Australian Open a very enjoyable experience!) As music lovers, we also appreciated the sound system which can be connected to your iPod and has inbuilt ceiling speakers in each room. The romantic four-poster bed was very comfortable, the rainshower was heaven and we really liked the double vanity in the bathroom.

The only occasion we used the spa services (in the private spa room attached to our villa) was for the complimentary welcome foot massage - which we paid to extend from 15 minutes to 45 minutes because my fiancé loves a good foot massage! It didn't disappoint - the therapists were very talented and gave us a simultaneously firm yet relaxing massage (without causing us any discomfort or pain) which put us in a very relaxed state straight away! We were keen to try a massage during our stay but unfortunately ran out of time.

Food at Pavilions is of a high standard and made with good quality ingredients which is paramount. Breakfast at the Plantation Club each morning is a buffet whereby fresh fruit, cereals, breads, cakes and pastries are displayed for perusal while an additional menu comprising Thai and Western options is available from which you order as many items as you wish. My fiancé ordered the Thai-style stir-fried egg noodles with vegetable every day and thoroughly enjoyed it. He also tried the Thai omelette and Western-style omelette. I am usually a poached egg aficionado but didn't enjoy them at Pavilions as they were too hard and tasted strongly of vinegar. On the other hand, the scrambled eggs are literally the best I've EVER had at a hotel, and I ordered them every day with delight. They were consistently perfect. The french toast and banana pancakes are also incredible. The croissants were also delicious, and we delighted in the fresh passionfruit on the fruit platter. The staff also kindly brought my fiancé slices of avocado each morning (which he loves on toast).

We were usually so full from breakfast that lunch was unnecessary, but on the first day we ventured to the Plantation Club around 3:30pm for the complimentary afternoon tea (as we arrived after lunch). On display were some 'escargot' pastries, mini scones and the most delectable chocolate brownies I've ever had! I was hoping for something savoury but unfortunately no sandwiches were displayed that day (I'm not sure if this is de rigeur, as the in-room description mentioned tea sandwiches). Good selection of teas also.

Dinner at Plantation Club was consistently good. Admittedly, as mentioned by previous reviewers, the portion sizes are certainly not large; however we found them to be perfectly adequate. We really appreciated the quality ingredients (such as Wagyu beef or Australian beef, giant tiger prawns, etc) and thought the quality rightly trumps quantity. Our favourite dishes included a Wagyu beef stirfry dish and Pad Thai for entrée, followed by panang beef curry and prawn with cashew nut stirfry (adapted from the lunch dish with chicken) for main, all of which were the best versions of these dishes we'd had in a long time. We didn't try the mediterranean offerings because we were so thrilled by the Thai options, but I am confident they would also have been excellent.

We were at 360 Bar every evening, taking advantage of the happy hour and the beautiful sunset! The cocktails are well worth trying and the wine list is surprisingly extensive. We had dinner here one night and ordered the Spanish meatballs, Wagyu beef sliders and calamari. The sliders were outstanding, but the other dishes were also pleasant.

In terms of service, it was predominantly very good. Francois, the General Manager, was very lovely and accommodating, Ann at breakfast was so friendly and welcoming, and Jean at the bar was also great. However, the trainee staff (whom we understand are on rotation experience via a hotel school) were devoid of personality and did not do themselves (or Pavilions) any favours. We found them to be very stiff and unhelpful, and they undermined the pleasure of our dining experiences somewhat.Their English language skills were lacking and they appeared almost hostile when communicating at times. It might be worth encouraging the trainee staff to smile and appear more courteous of their guests, as luxury hotels depend upon their staff to 'cinch' the experience.

All in all, we had a lovely, romantic holiday and would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hedonism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Located 6 klm out of Laguna, Pavilions is exceptional. On a par with the more expensive Trisara (too isolated) and Banyan Tree (in the thick of the Laguna hotel precinct - Pavilions has been our preferred Phuket option since opening. We have stayed in all the best. Pavilions is a short taxi or car rental drive into Laguna and nearby Surin. Not on the beach, but your private pools are huge, completely private, and your villa is large and comfortable. The breakfasts are fine - with a very good choice of options. We were offered whatever we would like if not on the menu. (Not as elaborate as Banyan Tree who have the best breakfast buffet on the island.) The Ocean View Pool Villas are the best option. A memebr of the Relais and Chateux group assures you of a level of quality and luxury. Negative reviewers don't quite get it. By no means perfect, Pavilions is a great option.No spa but they have excellent room options with massage tables in the villas - full spa ropoms in some of the villas.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Stayed there with my girlfriend, we had the tropical pool villa and the villa was fine but the service was quite bad for a five star property. First of all we got overcharged when we were renting a motorbike and when we were departuring from our stay, they told us the taxi would cost 600 baht to patong but instead the driver charged us 1000 baht. The breakfast was weak, the buffet was minimal and there was not much to choose from, instead they used a menu where you could order the breakfast, this menu was without any pictures so you wouldn't know what you get.

Location was quite bad too, to far away from patong and hard to find your way back to the property as there was barely any signs on the road, which complicated it for us even more.

I can however recommend the food from the roomservice.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pokerstah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCNager, General Manager at The Pavilions Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Dear Reader,

I am sorry to read about the issue with transportation. These are however arrangements made between the guest and vehicle rental company / taxis and we have no involvement in those.
As a boutique hotel we offer a small buffet spread of cold items and a full a la carte selection at breakfast, thus ensuring food quality and presentation in a serene atmosphere.
Since we cannot move the hotel closer, a stay in Patong in a large hotel with a big buffet and menus with photos would perhaps have been more appropriate.

Sincerely,
Jean-Christophe Nager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

coming from the j w marriott khao lak--a corporate-feeling hotel in every sense of the word, we felt like we were dreaming when we saw our villa at pavilions. we were met upon arrival by the hotel manager, j.c., given a stunning lotus bouquet and a glass of specially blended fruit-juice, a taste of the excellent food to come. the property seems designed for couples to kick back in luxury and be pampered down to the smallest detail(including pre-programmed playlists in the room's ipod). our cocoon was so comfortable we never did try the shuttle to nearby beach, and the food so good we never felt the need to venture out

Room Tip: the ocean-view villa was pretty spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigtimegypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

My wife and I went on our honeymoon here in August 2006. I still think about that trip. Amazing property with very nice and attentive staff. The prices, by North American standards, for room service and taxi service are very reasonable (~$10 a dish). Breakfast, if I recall correctly, was included and it was delicious.

The island itself is so nice. Very touristy in some areas but there's so much to see and do. We did do a day tour to Pi Pi Island (not sure of spelling), and that was great. All of this can be arranged from the front desk, and they do provide some free car service to areas close by.

The price of the hotel at the time was expensive although reasonable; we felt it was worth every penny. We had such a worry-free vacation. Half the time was spent in our suite enjoying the view and lounging in the pool.

Would love to go back some day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinybabyrobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
9.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
8.6 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
979 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#2 of 36 in Choeng Thale
533 reviews
9.3 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
9.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 333 in Patong
6,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilions Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilions Phuket

Address: 31/1, Moo 6, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range: $143 - $819 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pavilions Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high above Layan Beach, The Pavilions Phuket is a resort as spacious as it is private and peaceful. From our spacious newly appointed 81 sqm one-bedroom suites to our signature private pool villas, we are a haven of tranquility. Enjoy an array of restaurants including: our open air The Plantation Club for modern Thai and international favourites, Firefly set next to the largest freeform pool in Phuket for wood burning oven pizzas, grilled specialities and more, and 360 Bar, one of the best loved places in Choeng Thale for cocktails, asian tapas and sunsets. We also offer a wide range of in-villa dining options, including seafood bbqs. Our resort also features an award winning spa with yoga pavilion, fitness centre, and pools. Whether you're celebrating a special occasion or looking to relax and reconnect, The Pavilions is your perfect intimate escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pavilions Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pavilions Phuket Hotel Thalang
Phuket Pavilions Hotel Cherngtalay
Phuket Pavilions Cherngtalay
The Pavilions Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing