We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pavilions Phuket
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Located 6 klm out of Laguna, Pavilions is exceptional. On a par with the more expensive Trisara (too isolated) and Banyan Tree (in the thick of the Laguna hotel precinct - Pavilions has been our preferred Phuket option since opening. We have stayed in all the best. Pavilions is a short taxi or car rental drive into Laguna and nearby Surin. Not on the beach, but your private pools are huge, completely private, and your villa is large and comfortable. The breakfasts are fine - with a very good choice of options. We were offered whatever we would like if not on the menu. (Not as elaborate as Banyan Tree who have the best breakfast buffet on the island.) The Ocean View Pool Villas are the best option. A memebr of the Relais and Chateux group assures you of a level of quality and luxury. Negative reviewers don't quite get it. By no means perfect, Pavilions is a great option.No spa but they have excellent room options with massage tables in the villas - full spa ropoms in some of the villas.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    76
    27
    17
    12
See reviews for
30
511
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Stayed there with my girlfriend, we had the tropical pool villa and the villa was fine but the service was quite bad for a five star property. First of all we got overcharged when we were renting a motorbike and when we were departuring from our stay, they told us the taxi would cost 600 baht to patong but instead the driver charged us 1000 baht. The breakfast was weak, the buffet was minimal and there was not much to choose from, instead they used a menu where you could order the breakfast, this menu was without any pictures so you wouldn't know what you get.

Location was quite bad too, to far away from patong and hard to find your way back to the property as there was barely any signs on the road, which complicated it for us even more.

I can however recommend the food from the roomservice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pokerstah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCNager, General Manager at The Pavilions Phuket, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Reader,

I am sorry to read about the issue with transportation. These are however arrangements made between the guest and vehicle rental company / taxis and we have no involvement in those.
As a boutique hotel we offer a small buffet spread of cold items and a full a la carte selection at breakfast, thus ensuring food quality and presentation in a serene atmosphere.
Since we cannot move the hotel closer, a stay in Patong in a large hotel with a big buffet and menus with photos would perhaps have been more appropriate.

Sincerely,
Jean-Christophe Nager
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

coming from the j w marriott khao lak--a corporate-feeling hotel in every sense of the word, we felt like we were dreaming when we saw our villa at pavilions. we were met upon arrival by the hotel manager, j.c., given a stunning lotus bouquet and a glass of specially blended fruit-juice, a taste of the excellent food to come. the property seems designed for couples to kick back in luxury and be pampered down to the smallest detail(including pre-programmed playlists in the room's ipod). our cocoon was so comfortable we never did try the shuttle to nearby beach, and the food so good we never felt the need to venture out

Room Tip: the ocean-view villa was pretty spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigtimegypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

My wife and I went on our honeymoon here in August 2006. I still think about that trip. Amazing property with very nice and attentive staff. The prices, by North American standards, for room service and taxi service are very reasonable (~$10 a dish). Breakfast, if I recall correctly, was included and it was delicious.

The island itself is so nice. Very touristy in some areas but there's so much to see and do. We did do a day tour to Pi Pi Island (not sure of spelling), and that was great. All of this can be arranged from the front desk, and they do provide some free car service to areas close by.

The price of the hotel at the time was expensive although reasonable; we felt it was worth every penny. We had such a worry-free vacation. Half the time was spent in our suite enjoying the view and lounging in the pool.

Would love to go back some day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinybabyrobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the resort in April, 2011 for our honeymoon. We couldn't have been happier. It was so peaceful we were not even aware there were other guests staying at the resort. The only time you bumped into people was when you attended breakfast in the morning. The food was absolutely great, service was great (when we were understood) and staff were so friendly. The only downside was that we were quite a distance from the beach but we did have our own private pool and there were also daily shuttle buses to accommodate. The bugs were also a slight problem for me only because I have such a great fear, but there was conveniently a can of bug spray in the room. We will defiantly be back if we return to Phuket.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuztoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Would absolutely recommend this resort for couples - it is as advertised - a perfect romantic getaway.

Service: Upon arrival, JC, the hotel manager, greeted us at the lobby and came by at breakfast to say hi. We were in town to attend a wedding and the hotel was kind enough to offer us complimentary transportation by private car back and forth to a nearby hotel about 10 minutes away. It was a major perk given the notorious Phuket taxi mafia.

Room: We were taken to our Spa and Pool Pavilion which had an amazing view of the laguna (although not the more attractive view of the ocean). The room looked exactly as it did online. For 3 days we relaxed and watched DVDs. Before we left, we visited the Ocean View Villas and although they had better views, my wife and I agreed that the huge sofas in the Spa and Pool Pavilions (where we spent the bulk of our time) were superior to the "regular" sofas in the Ocean View Villas.

Food: We ate at the restaurant 3 times and also had room service 3 times. Food was very good, and although it was hotel level prices, we didn't feel ripped off since the quality was up to par. Would recommend the burger and fish taco. The Banh Mi sandwich and Thai food was also very good. Breakfast consisted of a buffet spread and also a menu where you can order Thai and Western breakfast items (i.e. eggs benedict, pancakes, waffles etc). One tip is that they need to cover their buffet food with nets. They did so on the second day we were there, but not the first and on both mornings there were no nets on the fruit which had a lot of flies buzzing around. This didn't bother me but I know many people would not eat it. Unfortunately we did not get to check out the 360 Bar & Restaurant since we did not eat dinner at the Pavilions. There is complimentary afternoon tea in the Library (3:00-4:30pm) which had a very simple spread but very good iced tea.

Spa: We didn't get to use the special spa room unfortunately. The spa prices were comparable to 5 star hotels (US$100-200 per treatment).

Housekeeping: The only constructive criticism is that housekeeping needs a bit of work. Turndown service only focused on the bed and left the living room and bathroom messy. On the second night, there was no turndown service, so the room wasn't cleaned the entire day. It was not entirely their fault, because some pool cleaners had accidentally entered our room thinking it was empty and were shocked to find us sitting in the living room (fortunately, we were fully clothed). Apparently, they entered because we neglected to lock the door after room service left (so definitely lock your door!). But they were very apologetic and activated our do not disturb sign which was the reason we did not get turn down service that night. The next morning we asked housekeeping to clean our room while we were away for breakfast but by the time we returned (45 minutes later) they had not started yet.

Overall, I would highly recommend this place and the housekeeping issues did not detract from our stay at all. Just some constructive input for the hotel to better themselves. A big thank you to JC and his staff for a wonderful 3 day stay.

Room Tip: If you are staying in a Spa and Pool Pavilion, choose rooms 40-45 which are the pavilions at the ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JSNPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Stayed 3 nights from 28-31 October 2011. We were supposed to be in Bangkok during that time but in view of the flooding, we made a last minute change to The Pavilions - with no regrets!

We stayed in one of the Spa and Pool Pavilions and it is just great. We spent most of the time in our room just chilling out, ordering room service and catching up on DVDs. The attached spa room is great, no hassles of having to get to the spa for our treatments.

We will certainly choose The Pavilions again the next time we are in Phuket!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovethebeach06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
9.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
8.6 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#4 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
9.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,355 reviews
2.0 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 95 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilions Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilions Phuket

Property: The Pavilions Phuket
Address: 31/1 Moo 6 | Cherngtalay, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#2 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pavilions Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high above Layan Beach, The Pavilions Phuket is a resort as spacious as it is private and peaceful. Decidedly adult, each private villa is a haven of tranquility. Whether you're celebrating a special occasion or looking to relax and reconnect, The Pavilions is your perfect intimate escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Pavilions Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pavilions Phuket Hotel Thalang
Phuket Pavilions Hotel Cherngtalay
Phuket Pavilions Cherngtalay
The Pavilions Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing