We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good points but food a big disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pavilions Phuket
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Some good points but food a big disappointment”
Reviewed January 5, 2008

Stayed at Phuket Pavillions in December 07. Some good points but some big weaknesses for a hotel costing $600 a night.

The hotel is located on a hill about 1km from the Laguna hotel complex. There are no shops or restaurants so this is a hotel for people prepared to stay put or who have a car. There is no gym and only a small lobby and it feels more like a holiday club than a hotel.

The Positives: The one bedroom suites are huge and each has a 12 metre swimming pool - a decent size compared to the small pools usual in other hotels pool villas. The hotels inclusive breakfast can be served in-room at no extra charge and there is 24 hour room service so in theory one need not leave the villa. Service is good though the young staff seemed a little inexperienced.

The Negatives: There is no gym or library. Beware the service charge and taxes which are a hefty 20%. The big disappointment is the food which was very very poor by any standards. This is particularly a problem at a hotel where there are no restaurants nearby and a big disappointment for a Relais and Chateaux property, where food standards are normerly very high. Overall we got the impression that hotel guests are of secondary importance to this property - it is currently being expanded including more holiday homes and has a rooftop bar which is very popular with local expats. Like other respondents we had a few maintenence problems with the Villa though these were rectified quickly.

  • Liked — Big private pool
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AdamCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    83
    27
    17
    12
See reviews for
37
543
17
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frechen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

My husband and I had a lot of stress in the past few months and were looking to get away from it all over Xmas. After researching the resorts on Phuket, we saw the good reviews on this website of Phuket Pavilions and gave it a go.
What more to say, than we congratulated each other on the choice nearly every day... it was jst perfect.
Phuket Pavilions is small, only 21 one bedroom Pavilions and a few big villas and although the resort apparently was full, you would not know, because you hardly see anybody around. The Pavilions itself are completely private.

Service was second to none, from the drivers to the room maid we only saw friendly, smiling faces, always willing to serve and help.
What we liked: All, but especially, the size of Pavilion, great Pool and views. The service. The small details on the bed every night. Breakfast served in the Villa.
The in villa Spa: possibly the best massage I ever had. 360 bar - not once did we miss the daily happy hour at sunset, the Best place to see it on Phuket I can imagine.Cockails are yummy.
One day we choose the Romance day package with Spa, food and so on. It was heaven, we were pampered and had a wonderful time.
What we didn't like: if you keep the doors open bugs come in...

Thumbs up for Pavilions!

  • Liked — Service was perfect, Pavilions ware completely private and wonderful
  • Disliked — everthing was allright
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Schnecke7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2007

I wish the last two reviews had been posted before we booked the trip, as previously the hotel appeared to be fantastic according to the reports. But it must have all gone downhill recently, as our experience was more similar to the last two.

First the positives. The hotel does sit on a nice hill overlooking with nice a nice sea view (if you're in a one-bedroom villa, as none of the 3-bedroom villas have any sea view). The villas themselves are spacious (we've seen 3 and stayed in 2, more on that later) and the pool is very attractive. The villa is private and you can really skinny dip without any prying eyes. The staff are genuinely friendly, however very poorly trained. This is the fault of the management, which seemed invisible in our 5-night stay, and not the help. Wifi works pretty well.

Now a long list of the negatives. Our biggest problem is the amount of maintenance problems we faced in our 5 days, light bulb not working, shower head not working, shower drain clogged, air conditioning not working, water from the faucet putting out black water for 5 minutes, the pool being constantly dirty, the list goes on and on. It almost seems like nobody's lived in this villa for months. We are not extremely picky, but it felt like I was always on the phone with the front desk reporting a technical problem that wife jokingly said I should be the maintenance manager of this hotel. Because of the litany of problem we had to change room once, and nearly twice in 5 days. What a shame to handle such a nice property with such neglect.

Room service selection is limited, and same dish changes every day, taste and ingredient, (I suppose by a different cook). The bar staff appears so busy when the place was literally half empty. They tried, but have just not been taught the way of relaxed efficiency. My wife compares it with a bar in a disco, when 3 people behind the bar push one another aside to make drinks, serving about 5 people sitting at the bar. If I wanted to see this I would have moved to Patong. Had dinner at Banyan tree one time and I realized the food made this restaurant taste like MacDonald's, the service put the staff here like trainees at a corner coffee shop, eager to try but just not experienced enough.

All and all, it's not a place that deserves the price, over US$900 a night after tax and service. We would not recommend it unless management changes or really treats this hotel with the respect it deserves.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
12 Thank ZhengHe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2007

Pavilions offers incredibly large bungalows with their own huge swimming pool and a fantastic view over the sea. However, the bungalows are furnished relatively basic and tacky. The personnel ist very friendly and helpful. The degree of cleanliness in the bungalows does not correspond to the standard of a luxury hotel. All bungalows have wi-fi internet access with slow data rate and tv with only 13 channels. The 360 bar is supposed to be one of the most beautiful bars in Phuket and has a breathtaking panoramic view. The quality of the kitchen is far beyond average, but the little selection of menus, the long waiting times and the partially cold menues are a nuisance. Despite of many positive points, the hotel was not able to meet the high expectations. The hotel first and foremost is visited by young honeymooners from South Korea that can be characterised by their Mickey Mouse clothes and partner look. The hotel does not offer any restaurant and zero infrastructure. The breakfast is served in the lobby where there are only 5 small tables with chairs without backrests and armrests. The service personnel appears to be inexperienced and does not master the rules of servicing. The hotel is situated in a pretty remote location and the guest has to rely on the proprietary shuttle service when he wants to leave the hotel. Unfortunately the unrealible shuttle bus only departs every 2 hours. The deck chairs and parasols offered at the beach are impertinent. The hotel has no ambiance of luxury and exclusivity and is not able to meet the expectations of demanding guests by far.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank WWTravelerSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2007

We are frequent visitors to Phuket, and when we first visited Pavilions in July 2006 we were sure we had found heaven. We returned in November of that same year and had another great experience. We reurned a few weeks ago, November 2007, and were basically shocked at all the changes.

The first two times, we were met at the airport by a handsome driver dressed in white linen. The car was a new volvo, aircon, leather seats, etc. We were given a beautifuly scented cold towel, the wlecome drink was a Compari, and there was relaxing, groovy music for a ride to the hotel.

This time, a surly driver in a tattered uniform arrived to pick us up in.... a Toyoto van. The welcome drink was water. The towel was tepid and dripping wet. The music was a Thai radio station. Oh well.

The first two times, the manager met us on arrival, arranged everything for us (dinners, boat charer, golf, nighclub recommendations), and took care of our every need during the stay.

This time, there was no manager to meet us, and no sign of any management anywhere in the hotel, whatsoever, at any time during our stay.

First wo times, beautiful touches in the room - tiger orchids, wonderful bath amenties, spa products, etc.

This time, standard dreary hotel fare.

First time, the food was good to great. This time, it was yucky.

Previously, we loved the beautiful 360 bar, mingled with a surprisingly sophisticated crowd, and danced to great DJs. The bar is now closed, changed into a restaurant with ridiculously overpriced "buffet" food. There was no DJ and - not surprisingly - no customers.

The previoulsy enhusiac staff was now lacklauster. Before, we were given an ipod with groovey music. This time, the ipod had Korean pop songs. OK if you're Korean I guess, but we preferred the chill out stuff from before. When we complained, the staff claimed ignorance, and gave us another ipod, but it was broken.

I could go on, but anyway the place has sadly gone down hill. We met someone who owns a villa there and he told us that the hotel has now been taken over by a German management company focusing on group tours. Thats not us.

My husband wanted to check out but we stayed. He was right, we should have left. We certainly won't return. Next time, it's back to Trisara for us.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
18 Thank sporefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2007

We stayed at this resort for five nights and we had a wonderful and romantic time. The service is wonderful and so is the food. The best part of our room was the large private pool that had an amazing view and gorgeous sunsets.

The only negative comment that I have about this resort is the amount of bugs that surround and enter the room. One night we found a live spider the size of a tarantula under the runner decoration on top of our bed. That was just a little terrifying, and there are several giant ants, cockroaches, etc.

  • Liked — The service and sunsets.
  • Disliked — The insects.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Looking4thebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ANGELES
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2007

Hotel is about 45 minutes from the airport, we organized pick up through them. Car service was on time, drive took about 40 minutes. The reception/restaurant area is lovely - the golf cart drove us up to the room and the view was spectacular. The pavilion itself is very nice - private infinity pool gorgeous. Ours was completely private, however, there were other rooms that had pool areas that were visible to other guests. The food is good, however - not a huge selection but sufficient if you're only there for a couple of days. We were there for a week and found we needed to get out for variety. There is a little kitchen are awith a fridge and quite extensive mini bar. They restock coffee, tea, and water each day. There is nothing to look at within this vicinity. We took the hotel car down to the local beach - horrible - - trash, rough, grey. However, during summer it could be much nicer. The cab fare into Phuket town was about $30USD each way - not worth the trip, absolutely nothing to see. Trip into Patong was about $30USD each way and that is fun. It is full of tourists, good restaurants, good bars. We used the hotel car service a few times to go into town. The only down side is that we didn't really get a good orientatation of the hotel and therefore I think we missed going up to the bar (thinking that the restaurant was the bar), and didn't understand about the free car service (when and where it went) they menitoned the Marina but we never really found out where that was. Staff are very friendly, sometimes a language barrier but not a big deal -- we are in their country. It is definitely a location to max and relax - would stay again.

  • Liked — Private infinity pool
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LBR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
9.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
8.6 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
905 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Twinpalms Phuket
Twinpalms Phuket
#8 of 96 in Thalang District
1,889 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#3 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilions Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilions Phuket

Property: The Pavilions Phuket
Address: 31/1 Moo 6 | Cherngtalay, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#1 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pavilions Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high above Layan Beach, The Pavilions Phuket is a resort as spacious as it is private and peaceful. Decidedly adult, each private villa is a haven of tranquility. Whether you're celebrating a special occasion or looking to relax and reconnect, The Pavilions is your perfect intimate escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pavilions Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pavilions Phuket Hotel Thalang
Phuket Pavilions Hotel Cherngtalay
Phuket Pavilions Cherngtalay
The Pavilions Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing