We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view from great villas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful view from great villas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Our stay at Ayara at the end of 2013 and beginning of 2014 was beautiful.
Villas are exquisite, spacious and luxurious, terrace with the beautiful view over the two beaches, nice bedroom with big bed, bathroom with everything and shower in the garden.
Resort is very well maintained, garden is full of flowers. Staff is extremely polite and helpful. I love Thai people for that.
Villas are located steep in the hill and that is why you have great view. Resort is 5 minutes walk from the Surin beach and you must pass the busy road. That I didn’t like.
Beach is crowded but if you prefer beaches with much less people go to Bang Tao beach in the neighborhood, great enormous beach, where you can walk and explore the whole day.
Rent a car is a must. Than everything is easily reachable. I recommend going to the north because south is too busy.
Surin beach is great for entertainment. Catch beach club is really great , you can party there every night and enjoy like crazy. Music is excellent, fancy people, lots of champagne and fun!
The best Thai restaurant we have ever been is Baam Rim Pa, on the way to Patong, 10 minutes by car, worth going.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaskaGrospic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    151
    41
    9
    12
See reviews for
49
608
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

First time I have stayed in a 5 star resort and for most of my stay I was lost for words about how amazing this place is. Right from arrival we were greeted with warm smiles, welcome drinks, towels and first class service.

Our private pool villa easily became the best hotel room I have ever stayed in - the views of the ocean and private infinity pool were breathtaking. Our group of 4 stayed in a two bedroom villa, which was segregated into two pavilion-style rooms.

The views are courtesy of a high position on a hill that the hotel is set on - but this doesn't mean constant walking up and down the hill to reach the beach as the hotel provides a buggy service to the reception area and even directly to the beach. They also have partnerships with the beach clubs on Surin Beach, which means that hotel guests get free entry. We loved the "Bimi" beach club.

Surin Beach is a fantastic location, not too crowded with beautiful clean beaches and the benefit of being within close driving distance to the airport and Patong Beach (which is crap anyway, we stayed in Surin and the hotel most of the time). The beachfront is littered with restaurants, which makes finding dinner very easy and cheap.

We used the Spa at the hotel and it was fantastic - amazing service, great prices as well, they've got a number of deals on right now like 999 THB massages and buy one get one free treatments. Made using the Spa very affordable and not much more expensive than massage places on Surin Beach. Very surprising for a 5 star hotel.

Breakfast was fantastic - loved the egg station. Great selection of food for any appetite.

Only negative was the rain shower - barely any pressure from the pool villas. On most mornings I was showering under a trickle. The outdoor shower had more pressure, although the water doesn't come out as warm. Not sure if this is a problem with all the villas given their high position.

Would not hesitate to recommend anyone to stay at this hotel - I know I will be going back. This is paradise at its finest.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tone222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Second time in two years we have stayed at this first class hotel. Staff are great and nothing is too much trouble. Service throughout is five star quality. The gardens and pool/ restaurant area are delightful and superbly maintained. Food quality is very good. Great breakfast. Nice views over the sea from rooms. Shuttle service to beach. This place is a must.

Room Tip: If you can stretch the extra price choose a Courtyard Room as high a position as possible. The room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meanderstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is a good hotel. We have been lucky enough to stay in some fabulous hotels over the years, so this review is relative to those experiences.

Worst bits:

Road - it is quite large and runs close to the front of the resort. Villas near the bottom of the hill will hear it, some villas will see it too. They have done a pretty good job of minimising noise with planting. Overall, it was a bit of a disappointment at first but when you look past it there are lots of positives.

Best bits:

Villas - we had a courtyard suite which was lovely. The terraces are a little characterless, but the rooms are very nicely done with enormous beds! Bathroom was spotless and high quality. The outdoor shower area was really nice and the greenery gives a jungle feel.

Pool - very nice pool with good loungers. Quite close to the road, so it's not somewhere to spend hours, but very nice. Lost of white noise (water features and music) drowns out the traffic noise and makes it very relaxing.

Staff - absolutely excellent. No complaints. Very good.

Restaurant - it's hard to see the atmosphere ever bubbling, but it is a lovely little restaurant which has outdoor seating by the pool which makes a great spot for dinner with beautiful lanterns in the trees. The food was excellent. Very reasonable (less than the high end places on Surin Beach) and better quality than most of the Surin beach places.

Beach - This hotel is not on the beach. But it is very close and there are complimentary buggy rides to it from 11am - 6pm. The two beach clubs you have membership to are very nice. One a bit younger and noisier, one a bit more relaxed and quite pricey. But all in all, they are both good with beds spaced far apart and friendly staff. The beach itself is very busy as you would expect, but the clubs do give some exclusivity which is nice.

Gardens- the gardens in the hotel are very well maintained with lots of water features. All very charming.

General:

The area is ok, doesn't strike me that there is that much to do around Surin beach. Just the small shops and restaurants on the front.

The hotel has some very nice touches to it, but I would say it could be "luxed up" a bit more. Then again, couldn't most places.

Views are probably very good from the villas at the top of the hill. The lower you go, the more average they are. Power cables, floodlights, the road... Our view was very pleasant but not gob smacking by any stretch.

Overall:

We paid about £160 per night for B&B which I think is about right. I am sure there are deals out there for slightly better places at this rate on Phuket, but equally I am sure there are a lot worse. We had a very relaxing 6 night stay and really enjoyed it. I am not sure I would want to pay much more for the overall experience.

I have stayed at the Surin Beach before which was very good and has a private beach. It was fully booked this time but the rate was about £200 per night. I think it is worth the extra £40 per day so I would stay there given the option. But we enjoyed Ayara and it did the trick as a week away from work, near the beach, in the sun and with excellent service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anon152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

PROs: spa-the ladies were great and the rooms were clean so you can really relax, spacious suites and very clean, staff were attentive, helpful and very polite, we had dinner on NYE at the Resto and it was amazing food! One thing I really like about the resort is knowing that they had an internship program which is a really good sign for any company as it shows they are willing to train/invest on young talent but also learn from them to improve their operations. Keep it up!
CONs: some of the staff weren't good with English

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jezzazworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed here between Christmas and new year for 4 nights, its truly romantic, take it easy, wind down and lovely couples resort. I stayed in the Deluxe suite which is one below the top grade, I can strongly recommend this if it falls with in your budget. We stayed in room 813 which is the last villa and the views of 270 degrees from the balcony and the large patio doors and see through mirrors from the lounge and the bedrooms are exceptional. The bathrooms and facilities are luxurious and will definitely put you into romantic mood! :)
Didnt get to use the Resort pool but it looked nice and great... the hotel restaurant is ok and with amount of choice you have in the beach front... may be you can skip this!
My only downside is with this kind of cost they should have a pickup and drop service to airport complimentary but they charged lot extra for this service. Otherwise every thing else is great!
Breakfast choice is great and every day we had something different to eat!

Room Tip: The higher on the hill you are the better room you will get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayAddict_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was the best place we stayed at during our recent holiday in the area, to an itinerary custom designed by my wife and a guy called Jan from a travel company called Andaman Sky Adventures. We moved here after a dreadful stay at the chicken coop-like Renaissance, which we booked on agoda, ignoring our travel agent’s advice to go stay at the Ayara Hilltops. So we ended up at the Ayara after all. We had originally wanted to book a hotel on the beach, but we visited some of the beaches and found them too crowded for our liking, it was great to be up on a headland at the Ayara, the only thing we didn’t like was the fake grass. We did like the private pool we had, not big enough for laps, but big enough for fun and games.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlhappy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
0.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
12.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#3 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Twinpalms Phuket
Twinpalms Phuket
#8 of 95 in Thalang District
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa

Property: Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa
Address: 125 Moo 3 , Srisoonthorn Road | Surin Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
#11 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The days are yours to create, ours to fulfill. Caters to ADULTS only (No Children)(No extra beds). An enclave of 48 LUXURY SUITES set in 23 Villas amidst sloping exotic gardens, taking advantage of the arresting views offered by the emerald green Andaman Sea.Facilities and service are inspired by the single goal of helping each guest create their own journey of respite from the rigors of civilization.Whether you venture only as far as the boundaries of the resort or go further afield, the days are yours to create and ours to fulfill.Welcome to the private world of Ayara Hilltops! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayara Hilltops Hotel Thalang
Hotel Ayara Hilltops
Ayara Hilltops Resort And Spa Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing