We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place and luxury resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed here between Christmas and new year for 4 nights, its truly romantic, take it easy, wind down and lovely couples resort. I stayed in the Deluxe suite which is one below the top grade, I can strongly recommend this if it falls with in your budget. We stayed in room 813 which is the last villa and the views of 270 degrees from the balcony and the large patio doors and see through mirrors from the lounge and the bedrooms are exceptional. The bathrooms and facilities are luxurious and will definitely put you into romantic mood! :)
Didnt get to use the Resort pool but it looked nice and great... the hotel restaurant is ok and with amount of choice you have in the beach front... may be you can skip this!
My only downside is with this kind of cost they should have a pickup and drop service to airport complimentary but they charged lot extra for this service. Otherwise every thing else is great!
Breakfast choice is great and every day we had something different to eat!

Room Tip: The higher on the hill you are the better room you will get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayAddict_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 827 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was the best place we stayed at during our recent holiday in the area, to an itinerary custom designed by my wife and a guy called Jan from a travel company called Andaman Sky Adventures. We moved here after a dreadful stay at the chicken coop-like Renaissance, which we booked on agoda, ignoring our travel agent’s advice to go stay at the Ayara Hilltops. So we ended up at the Ayara after all. We had originally wanted to book a hotel on the beach, but we visited some of the beaches and found them too crowded for our liking, it was great to be up on a headland at the Ayara, the only thing we didn’t like was the fake grass. We did like the private pool we had, not big enough for laps, but big enough for fun and games.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlhappy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

ARRIVAL - Flawless!
We were immediately greeted by very pleasant staff who gave us a refreshing towel and a tasty fruit drink. The check in was very quick and we felt immediately like we were in an oasis of relaxation. We were given a personal tour of the spa and work out facilities, before being escorted then to our bungalow.

LOCATION OF HOTEL/ROOM - Perfect!
Our bungalow was located near the road, but I have to say, we did not notice any of the noise that people mention on their comments. The hotel is just a 5-10 minutes walk from to the Surin beach.

ROOM - "Exceeded all expectations!!"
The bungalow was a true dream. We booked a Deluxe Sea View Suite (Room 804). It was perfect in all aspects. Suspended on the side of the mountain with perfect views of the sea and sunsets. There was fresh ice every day in our suite with a nice selection in the mini bar. Bed was huge! Balcony was perfect for relaxing and watching the sunset before dinner. The bathroom was spacious and simply perfect in all aspects. Entire suite had amazing hard wood floors which made you really feel at home. Whirlpool was beautiful... we so much wanted to use, but just did not have the time, as we spent most of it at the beach.

BEACH (Surin beach) - Amazing!
Water was clear, blue... simply Amazing! Sand also super white, fine... perfect! And now comes the best part..... we received free access to the beach clubs Catch and BIMI during our entire stay. We chose to visit BIMI Beach Club (http://bimibeachclub.com) every day, which included free access to the amazing beach beds (which are literally beds with huge pillows on them – value of THB 2,000 per day if you are not a hotel guest). We typically arrived there in the morning around 10:30am… and we had free selection of beach beds. Also, BIMI has the only sand volleyball court on the beach, so it was convenient for playing. Bimi also had a live DJ going all day long and if you want cool cocktails you only need to walk over 10 meters to the Bongo bar, for some reggae music and island feeling. Water… amazing… crystal clear… and temperature like a nice bath… just incredible….

POOL - Wow!
The pool is absolutely a dream and soooooo inviting. Decorated in style! Unfortunately, we enjoyed the beach so much that we could not resist to leave the facilities during the day. Had we stayed longer, we definitely would have, as it is a great alternative to the "club" scene at the beach.

FOOD - Delicious!!
Breakfast was amazing, best we had during our entire 2 week trip (which also included stay at the 5-star Sheraton Grande Bangkok). Fresh mangos, thai food, western food, everything!
New Years Dinner – although not cheap, it was a dinner we will not forget – Lobster, foies gras, sashimi tuna…. Amazing!
Room Service – amazingly enough the price of room service was cheaper than some restaurants nearby and quality of food was equally as good if not better.

SPA - "A bit overpriced for our taste"
The SPA looks amazing. However, for us, just too expensive. We know amazing Salons in Bangkok which charge half and provide an equally amazing atmosphere. Nevertheless, compared to the beachfront massages, maybe this is nevertheless a good alternative if you are looking to get some treatment.

SUMMARY:
If we ever come back to Phuket, we will definitely be staying here. It was a wonderful hotel and we cannot say enough good about it. It is truly a gem in the middle of all the many resorts and were very happy to have found it! Thank you Ayara for making our honeymoon memorable!

Room Tip: We had room 804 - highly recommend as it is not far to walk when you go to breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheeseheadInGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Jan from a travel company called Andaman Sky Adventures. We had originally thought to book a hotel on the beach, but after discussing this with the agent we did some research and changed our minds, which we ended up pleased about, as we visited some of the beaches and found them too crowded for our liking, it was great to be up on a headland at the Ayara, the only thing we didn’t like was the fake grass. We did like the private pool we had, not big enough for laps, but big enough for fun and games.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robmarshonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My Fiance and I traveled to Thailand starting first in Chiang Mai and then coming to this resort in Phuket and found it a fantastic relaxing break from what can be an otherwise hectic area in a beautiful hotel. We had a HILLTOPS POOL VILLA KING #848, which is the room with one bedroom, a living room, and a private plunge pool. The plunge pool was obviously a highlight although the resort pool was also very nicely appointed and we would have been happy using it as well. Our room was near the top of the resort but a short ride from the hotel lobby in the hotel provided trucks, also called Buggies. Above the resort portion, there are condos in the same style so you are not at the absolute top of the cliff while at the resort but this didn't matter to us just something to note if you are looking at photos. We spoke to a family attending a wedding and the couple was going to have a beautiful outlook point higher up for their vows. From the rooms and private pools, you don't notice the above rooms so its not a problem at all - you feel very secluded in that sense.

You are able to look down at the pathways where guests and staff walk to lower rooms and across at maybe 1-2 other rooms from the front of the plunge pool but they do a good job of placing dividing walls such that they are not intrusive but do the trick to keep your villa feeling private!

The resort staff were extremely friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. We prefer a softer mattress so we inquired as it was a bit hard when we arrived and they immediately sent someone up to add a soft layer under the sheets. The woman who spoke with us about the request said to please call to confirm it was satisfactory once we headed back up or if we required another layer but we forget to check right away and she called our room a bit later to be sure it was fixed and we were happy so we didn't forget before bedtime!

The location is certainly a bit remote from the further south downtown areas but the resort offers a limited shuttle schedule or book in advance (a few hours) car service which we found perfect to go down in the evenings when we wanted to try dinner places and see the main town. The guide books all warn the tuk-tuks can charge whatever they want and often prices are 3x+ that in Bangkok or Chiang Mai but we found the car service reasonable and reliable through the hotel. They knew exactly what I was wearing when they dropped us off so they could locate us again to pick us up and since we were the only guests in the shuttle one evening to dinner, dropped us right at the restaurant on the way. As I said, very accommodating!

Also, IMPORTANT TO NOTE, there is a beautiful beach club with chairs, umbrellas, towels included and food/drinks for sale that guests have access to. You take a Buggy across the street to the park and beach area (the hotel IS NOT on the beach but we didn't care), its fast and well worth it... you get the amenities without staying at a large chaotic hotel that focuses on just the beach. Definitely worth setting aside time to head to the beach - we wish we had more than the half day we did.

We also visited the spa which was fairly nice with lovely tea we really enjoyed to relax. The "steam" portion of the package we selected was a weak addition where you sit in a shower stall with steam for what seems like a very long time and I wouldn't necessarily recommend that treatment unless that is your favorite normally. In the U.S. gentlemen take off boxers to allow for leg and hip massage but we believe the female technician may have been a bit surprised as the two ladies switched between myself (female) and my Fiance (male) just after we laid down. It was a bit confusing and odd as they didn't say anything in english to us about it, but otherwise the massage was fairly good from one technician but just so so from the other.

Breakfast had a decent amount of choices - all pretty standard fair. Breads, muffins, etc, eggs made to order, cereals, juices, hot buffet dishes, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upt0wn112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I agree with other reviews on this hotel...it is amazing!!! The rooms are lovely, the view great and surin beach was amazing. This is a great hotel for couples looking for a romantic get away. I would love to return someday.
one word of warning though, ensure you have mosquito repellant as we seem to have gotten eaten alive! Also, should you choose to use the outside shower make sure that you check around first. I came outside one morning just to have a look and there was a man standing and trimming the shrubs outside my room. had I chosen to use the outside shower I would have been in full view of this man!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtsIsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Reflecting upon our 2nd stay in consecutive years at this amazing boutique resort, many words come to mind, paradise, peacefulness, luxury, pampering, relaxing, charming, ideally located, superb views, amazing food, but probably above all of these, the thing that stands out the most is the staff, all of which are welcoming, friendly and only to happy to attend to any needs to make your stay perfect. It definitely felt like coming home when we arrived and our stay again lived up and surpassed our expectations, so much so, that we've already booked to return same time in 2014.
Ayara Hilltops is the most idyllic resort to re-charge the batteries with a little R & R. You will be spoilt by the beautiful coastal views, the amazing spacious Thai inspired villas (the higher up the better the view), the relaxed atmosphere, the friendliness of all the staff (always) and an extra special thank-you to Napapach and Jon Pierre for your hospitality, the fantastic restaurant (we ate almost all of our meals here, excellent, reasonable priced menu & seafood buffet a must on a Monday night), the crystal clear pool and surrounding outdoor areas (many days were spent relaxing here), Spa Sereniti ( a great place to be pampered), the beautiful Surin Beach and Catch Beach Club (relaxing on the day bed became a daily morning ritual).
Ayara Hilltops is the perfect place to unwind, relax and enjoy life with that someone special.

Room Tip: The higher up the hill the better the view and the courtyard villas offer extra space with a private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyandKim2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
3.7 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#3 of 36 in Choeng Thale
767 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
12.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Twinpalms Phuket
Twinpalms Phuket
#8 of 97 in Thalang District
1,957 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#2 of 36 in Choeng Thale
513 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa

Address: 125 Moo 3 , Srisoonthorn Road | Surin Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#7 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
#12 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range: $148 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The days are yours to create, ours to fulfill. Caters to ADULTS only (No Children)(No extra beds). An enclave of 48 LUXURY SUITES set in 23 Villas amidst sloping exotic gardens, taking advantage of the arresting views offered by the emerald green Andaman Sea.Facilities and service are inspired by the single goal of helping each guest create their own journey of respite from the rigors of civilization.Whether you venture only as far as the boundaries of the resort or go further afield, the days are yours to create and ours to fulfill.Welcome to the private world of Ayara Hilltops! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayara Hilltops Hotel Thalang
Hotel Ayara Hilltops
Ayara Hilltops Resort And Spa Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing