We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa Surin Beach
Nearby Hotels
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
$99
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
$265
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
$93
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Angsana Laguna Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
$140
$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MANATHAI Surin Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
$62
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
$240
$148
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Surin Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
$381
$368
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Andaman Seaside Resort(Bang Tao Beach)
$73
$33
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pavilions Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
$168
$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chava Resort(Choeng Thale)
$357
$323
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (860)
Filter reviews
860 results
Traveler rating
630
165
44
9
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
630
165
44
9
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuggy serviceoutdoor showercourtyard suiteroad noisespice restaurantjean pierreour honeymoonwater featuresbuggy driverslarge bathroompoolside restaurantandaman seaturn down servicelate checkrelaxing staydvd playerdeck chairs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 860 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Jan from a travel company called Andaman Sky Adventures. We had originally thought to book a hotel on the beach, but after discussing this with the agent we did some research and changed our minds, which we ended up pleased about, as we visited some of the beaches and found them too crowded for our liking, it was great to be up on a headland at the Ayara, the only thing we didn’t like was the fake grass. We did like the private pool we had, not big enough for laps, but big enough for fun and games.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robmarshonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My Fiance and I traveled to Thailand starting first in Chiang Mai and then coming to this resort in Phuket and found it a fantastic relaxing break from what can be an otherwise hectic area in a beautiful hotel. We had a HILLTOPS POOL VILLA KING #848, which is the room with one bedroom, a living room, and a private plunge pool. The plunge pool was obviously a highlight although the resort pool was also very nicely appointed and we would have been happy using it as well. Our room was near the top of the resort but a short ride from the hotel lobby in the hotel provided trucks, also called Buggies. Above the resort portion, there are condos in the same style so you are not at the absolute top of the cliff while at the resort but this didn't matter to us just something to note if you are looking at photos. We spoke to a family attending a wedding and the couple was going to have a beautiful outlook point higher up for their vows. From the rooms and private pools, you don't notice the above rooms so its not a problem at all - you feel very secluded in that sense.

You are able to look down at the pathways where guests and staff walk to lower rooms and across at maybe 1-2 other rooms from the front of the plunge pool but they do a good job of placing dividing walls such that they are not intrusive but do the trick to keep your villa feeling private!

The resort staff were extremely friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. We prefer a softer mattress so we inquired as it was a bit hard when we arrived and they immediately sent someone up to add a soft layer under the sheets. The woman who spoke with us about the request said to please call to confirm it was satisfactory once we headed back up or if we required another layer but we forget to check right away and she called our room a bit later to be sure it was fixed and we were happy so we didn't forget before bedtime!

The location is certainly a bit remote from the further south downtown areas but the resort offers a limited shuttle schedule or book in advance (a few hours) car service which we found perfect to go down in the evenings when we wanted to try dinner places and see the main town. The guide books all warn the tuk-tuks can charge whatever they want and often prices are 3x+ that in Bangkok or Chiang Mai but we found the car service reasonable and reliable through the hotel. They knew exactly what I was wearing when they dropped us off so they could locate us again to pick us up and since we were the only guests in the shuttle one evening to dinner, dropped us right at the restaurant on the way. As I said, very accommodating!

Also, IMPORTANT TO NOTE, there is a beautiful beach club with chairs, umbrellas, towels included and food/drinks for sale that guests have access to. You take a Buggy across the street to the park and beach area (the hotel IS NOT on the beach but we didn't care), its fast and well worth it... you get the amenities without staying at a large chaotic hotel that focuses on just the beach. Definitely worth setting aside time to head to the beach - we wish we had more than the half day we did.

We also visited the spa which was fairly nice with lovely tea we really enjoyed to relax. The "steam" portion of the package we selected was a weak addition where you sit in a shower stall with steam for what seems like a very long time and I wouldn't necessarily recommend that treatment unless that is your favorite normally. In the U.S. gentlemen take off boxers to allow for leg and hip massage but we believe the female technician may have been a bit surprised as the two ladies switched between myself (female) and my Fiance (male) just after we laid down. It was a bit confusing and odd as they didn't say anything in english to us about it, but otherwise the massage was fairly good from one technician but just so so from the other.

Breakfast had a decent amount of choices - all pretty standard fair. Breads, muffins, etc, eggs made to order, cereals, juices, hot buffet dishes, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upt0wn112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I agree with other reviews on this hotel...it is amazing!!! The rooms are lovely, the view great and surin beach was amazing. This is a great hotel for couples looking for a romantic get away. I would love to return someday.
one word of warning though, ensure you have mosquito repellant as we seem to have gotten eaten alive! Also, should you choose to use the outside shower make sure that you check around first. I came outside one morning just to have a look and there was a man standing and trimming the shrubs outside my room. had I chosen to use the outside shower I would have been in full view of this man!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtsIsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Reflecting upon our 2nd stay in consecutive years at this amazing boutique resort, many words come to mind, paradise, peacefulness, luxury, pampering, relaxing, charming, ideally located, superb views, amazing food, but probably above all of these, the thing that stands out the most is the staff, all of which are welcoming, friendly and only to happy to attend to any needs to make your stay perfect. It definitely felt like coming home when we arrived and our stay again lived up and surpassed our expectations, so much so, that we've already booked to return same time in 2014.
Ayara Hilltops is the most idyllic resort to re-charge the batteries with a little R & R. You will be spoilt by the beautiful coastal views, the amazing spacious Thai inspired villas (the higher up the better the view), the relaxed atmosphere, the friendliness of all the staff (always) and an extra special thank-you to Napapach and Jon Pierre for your hospitality, the fantastic restaurant (we ate almost all of our meals here, excellent, reasonable priced menu & seafood buffet a must on a Monday night), the crystal clear pool and surrounding outdoor areas (many days were spent relaxing here), Spa Sereniti ( a great place to be pampered), the beautiful Surin Beach and Catch Beach Club (relaxing on the day bed became a daily morning ritual).
Ayara Hilltops is the perfect place to unwind, relax and enjoy life with that someone special.

Room Tip: The higher up the hill the better the view and the courtyard villas offer extra space with a private garden & outdoor shower.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyandKim2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed at this boutique hotel for a week over Christmas and cannot fault it. The staff are very
friendly and efficient and nothing was too much trouble. My daughter and son-in-law were on their honeymoon and we were upgraded to two wonderful suits. The room has everything you could want and was beautifully clean. The French hotel manager was charming and was visible a great deal. Not often found in some hotels. We were just sad we had to move hotels over the New Year as they were fully booked. Thank you Ayara for a wonderful holiday we will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews