We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We've traveled around the world but THE best and the most romantic villa ever...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“We've traveled around the world but THE best and the most romantic villa ever...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

I had a coupon so I ended up paying $175/night for the courtyard suite and stayed for 2 nights. Upon check in we were upgraded to a room with better view and stayed at suite #825 which directly faces Surin beach and the bay. I have to say, I have stayed at my share of hotels but this was by far the most romantic location and view, ever, in my life.

Location: Surin beach is on northern part of Phuket, its not as developed and touristy as Patong beach which is 15-20 mins ride. This is where the locals live but you still have one small downtown area 10 mins north of the resort. The private beach is nice with enough bars and shops to keep you entertained. This is DEFINITELY not where all the action is, this would be ideal for honeymooners or couples wanting to get away and be secluded but still have easy access to all the action in Patong beach. The resort is literally on a hilltop overlooking the beach so the main street isn't the easiest to navigate if driving or on a scooter. But its a quick 10 mins walk to the beach from the lobby or you can take the buggy from the resort which is available. ***TIP: There is a phone available at the buggy stop outside your villa. I did not hear ANY noise at all even though I had a full view of the main street, I guess due to our suite being pretty high up. In fact, I didn't hear anything, at all.

Resort: I've noticed Phuket is rather small and the resorts aren't as mega-structured. Ayara especially is a rather traditional beauty than a chain brand with lavish ammenities. But it has a gorgeous pool, bar, a restaurant, GORGEOUS spa (GO TO THE SPA, ITS SO CHEAP TOO!), a gym, a tiny gift shop, and a beautiful ground you can just explore.

Inclusive breakfast: Nothing to complain about. Spacious dining, juicer to juice your own fresh juice, tons of western and Thai choices. I believe an omelette station as well.

Service was immaculate, no complaints whatsoever. ***TIP: If you want a turn down service or to have the dishes picked up you need to display the sign on the main door. If you order a room service they ring the bell on the side of the villa so 90% of your villa is private.

Order the room service, yes its not the cheapest but its also reasonable. Order a dinner and just lounge on the patio overlooking the view none like any in the world. Honestly it was pretty cheap in fact.

ROOM/VILLA: Villa would be more appropriate, its really your own private villa. Our suite we hiked down a few steps to an overhang, then turned into a private seclusion into the patio. You first jump over a mini lotus pond (w/tadpoles!) then to the livingroom. Then to outside the courtyard w/hot water balinese shower and water feature. Then to the bedroom which connects to the bathroom suite with a soaking tub and a shower. Then a cold jetted tub outside the bedroom by the patio with 180 view of the beach, lush greens, main street, and the bay. USE all the ammenities, take 5 showers a day if you must, so worth it. Our favorite part of Phuket was our suite, because it just felt so exotic and serene. So you basically have 2 tubs and 2 showers and all the rooms are connected by sliding doors and ULTRA private at least our villa, you really feel like you have submerged yourself somewhere hidden.

***TIP: Rent a scooter for 400 bht which is like $10/day and instead of taking it to Patong beach, drive up north past the resort's beach to where the locals live. You'll see Phuket the real way, accidentally stumble upon long tail boats and private homes and just drive through the park.

If you MUST, cab it to Patong beach or a tuk tuk, rates are reasonable. I found Patong beach to be very similar to Hawaii but, dirtier and not as pretty IMO.

***We flew from Bangkok to Phuket and then back for $100 roundtrip for the both of us including 1st seating meaning we sat on the first row of the small plane via Air Asia

Room Tip: Ask, and ask again, and then ask some more. And since it was a big package you can apply some coupon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cheaptravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    151
    41
    9
    12
See reviews for
49
608
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights in the Deluxe Sea View Suite. The hotel rooms (villas) are situated on a slope facing the beautiful Surin Beach. We enjoyed the magnificient sea view in all parts of the suite, including the sitting room, bedroom and the private whirlpool and deck chairs. Just imagine how nice it is watching sunset at your private whirlpool or deck chair.

In case you wish to have a real feel of the Surin Beach, just walk a few minutes, or if you are lazy enough, call the free buggy service.

The room is clean with luxurious layout and furnishing. After sweating through exercises, it is a wonderful experience to refresh yourself bubble bath in the luxurious bath tub, or enjoy the lovely breezes while bathing under the private outdoor shower.

You would always be welcomed by all staff with warm smiles and excellent services, whether you approach the reception, tour desk, room make-up, buggy service or the restaurant. In particular teh reception desk and tour desk provided very helpful touring information and transport arrangements. Free buggy service is always ready to connect you between your room, hotel facilities and the surnin Beach.

All-in-all, it is a hotel hotel excellent in all rounds. In particular I love most to enjoy the grand sea view lying in the deck chair in the private terrace in the morning as well as relaxing in the private massaging whirlpool during the evening.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripmaker_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Me and my wife stayed in the resort for 3 nights. We have chosen the super deluxe courtyard seaview suite. The view from the suite was magnificent. Great suite layout and very clean facilities.
Hotel staffs are very professional and helpful. They are really well trained to handle requests.
One of the best hotels we ever stayed!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KP117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed here for last leg of honeymoon. The pool suite was amazing had views over the beach very well maintained property. The staff were very professional and will go out of their way to please guests. One of the best places great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mentat333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

I stayed at Ayara for 3 nights for a much needed vacation, I was specifically looking for a great boutique hotel for full relaxation and rejuvenation.

Upon arriving at Ayara, I was greeted by the friendliest and most helpful front desk you can find! Knowing I was tired, the registration was quick, and in the blink of an eye I was on a buggy to my room.

As I was ushered into my room, the first thing I noticed was the spectacular view looking into the beach! And then I noticed the jacuzzi perfectly positioned to relax whilst sipping champaign and watching the day go by.

I knew at this point I had made the right decision!

The 3 nights went way too quickly! After getting used to being treated like a king and watching breath taking views from your room, now I am back home I feel slightly depressed!

Ayara is definitely one of the best boutiques I have been to, and my recommendation if you ate going to Phuket to relax, or have a bit of romance!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Molomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We have spent a week in Ayara Hilltops- our Honeymoon- and it was excellent from a moment hotel limo picked us up from the airport.

We have booked a deluxe room with a seaview. The room and the bathroom were very spacious and very clean. The jacuzzi tub was cold and therefore we really hardly used it but it might be due to the fact that the weather was really bad during our stay.

The staff offered outstanding service and the food in the hotel restaurant was very good.

Spa was great - we have enjoyed treatments & massages very much.

Fitness room was small and not really clean.

Absolutely great hotel with an excellent service- surely recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karolina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

4 night stay in late May, midway between our first destiation of Bangkok and our final destination Kuala Lumpur.

I arrange the resort limo to pick us up at Phuket Airport which it did without any problems. 30 minute drive to hotel and we were at the check in desk.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the service was outstanding from every member of staff.

The room itself was a super deluxe seaview which had fantastic views from the terrace. Very spacious bedroom, lounge and bathroom. Terrace also very large. The 'hot tub' was more of a cool plunge pool and ideal for cooling down in.

The resort was very quite due it being low season which meant almost exclusive use of the pool most days.

Had a couple of massage treaments in the spa which were excellent - highly recommended.

Surin Beach is a lovely spot, only a few minutes walk from resort with some really nice bars and restaurants. All in all a great little resort to chill out in away from the vulgarity of Patong Beach!!!

Great resort, 5 stars all round.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLASGOWCHILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
0.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
12.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#3 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Twinpalms Phuket
Twinpalms Phuket
#8 of 95 in Thalang District
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa

Property: Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa
Address: 125 Moo 3 , Srisoonthorn Road | Surin Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
#11 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The days are yours to create, ours to fulfill. Caters to ADULTS only (No Children)(No extra beds). An enclave of 48 LUXURY SUITES set in 23 Villas amidst sloping exotic gardens, taking advantage of the arresting views offered by the emerald green Andaman Sea.Facilities and service are inspired by the single goal of helping each guest create their own journey of respite from the rigors of civilization.Whether you venture only as far as the boundaries of the resort or go further afield, the days are yours to create and ours to fulfill.Welcome to the private world of Ayara Hilltops! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayara Hilltops Hotel Thalang
Hotel Ayara Hilltops
Ayara Hilltops Resort And Spa Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing