We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm family-run hotel with nice rooms, great pool and the best service possible”
Review of Pen Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pen Villa Hotel
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Calm family-run hotel with nice rooms, great pool and the best service possible”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days and regret we didn't stay longer. We didn't even want to go to the beach because we enjoyed the hotel so much. The atmosphere is calm and nice, perfect for couples and families who want to spend a relaxing holiday. (those who look for party might not like it so much).

The pool is big and perfect for swimming. The rooms have big and comfortable beds.

There is no safe in the room, and although this is normally an important point for us, the resort feels so safe that we didn't care (it's a small, family-run hotel and there is little chance for somebody to get in from outside). WiFi works okay.

The welcome and service was one of the best we have experienced so far. The people working in the hotel are always friendly, smiling and do their best to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We had read the good reviews before booking and we were not disappointed.

100% recommended! Only if you are looking for a big resort with parties and lots of (young) people, you might look for something else.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 34CarinaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    51
    2
    5
    0
See reviews for
73
127
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

First day here after flight from hell with etihad at Abu Dhabi, bunch of cowboys who should not be in business. Anyway will up load YouTube video so you can see what I am talking about.

Walking into hotel was like walking into a friends front room. People smiling and and happy atmosphere. Current in deluxe room over lookin pool, again picturessk view.

Was starving, had three meals between two of us, 3 breezers and a coke along with two lots of ice cream. Food awesome and all for less than 20 pounds. Hope they don't read review until I have gone as they might just but prices up.

As for photos that show rooms to be small, utter rubbish, I am 6'2 and fit easily under the doors. The room itself is a deluxe room over looking pool. It is clean , spacious and more than adequate for our needs with free wi-fi hence my first night review.



Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank unclepiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Pen Villa is a lovely small hotel, just a ten minute stroll from Surin Beach. It is a great place to stay, and my wife and I had a wonderful time there in late January. Peter and Winnie are the most gracious hosts, and every one of their staff is friendly and accommodating. The hotel is spotless, with large rooms, beautiful grounds and a lovely clean pool.
Nothing seems too much trouble for Winnie and Peter. Winnie is an amazing chef and every nights meal brought another delicious surprise. We had several “foodie” chats and Winnie happily shared her recipes for our favourite dishes. She also goes out of her way to prepare meals that the guests request, even if the requested meal is a far cry from Thai cuisine. ( borsht, and goulash come to mind.) And let’s not forget the amazing banana pancakes for breakfast!
Peter is a quiet, calm, unassuming host, quick to laugh and share a joke while opening the coldest Changs anywhere in Thailand. Ordering taxis, organizing trips, arranging transport all taken care of cheerfully and efficiently.
An easy walk takes you to the beach but the location of Pen Villa just off the main road is ideal for a quiet, restful visit and a good night’s sleep.
A shout out to Jean, front of house staff, for her beautiful smile, gentle manner and genuine warmth.
A big thank you to our wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Never too late to comment! We traveled in Feb. 2013 to Asia. Coming from Canada, it was meant to be our trip of a lifetime. After researching Tripadvisor comments, we decided on Pen Villa. This was to be the relaxing part of trip, spent at the beach and touring (after Singapore and Bangkok). The comments online were all very positive and I must admit that my wife and I were not disappointed. Peter and Winnie were wonderful hosts. The staff goes out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Everyone was so friendly and took the time to chat and help when we had questions. Winnie's cooking is by far the best experience that we had, from a culinary point of view throughout our Asian trip. Peter was always cheerful and you can see the pride that he takes in his work and ownership. The Villa is within an easy walk to 2 beautiful beaches and all of the amenities that you will need (restaurants, ATMs, 7-Eleven, scooter rentals, etc.). You may not be directly on the beach, but if you are looking for a relaxing, peacefull, friendly, caring, atmosphere, you will not make a mistake by choosing Pen Villa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I was reluctant to write this review as when you find a hotel this good, you want to keep it to yourself. My conscience got the better of me.

A truly charming hotel with staff that make you feel you are part of a large family rather than just a guest. Excellent food in the restaurant and they will make you pretty much anything to order given time. A large and deep well kept pool and beautiful gardens. Comfortable rooms with good AC in all of them but the option to open windows and doors with mosquito screens and some rooms with fans in them in addition (which personally I prefer to use instead of the AC).

They were very helpful in ordering taxis, hire scooters/cars etc. and giving advice generally.

A short walk to the beautiful Surin Beach and nearby restaurants but unusually for me I didn't feel like leaving the hotel a great deal as the garden and pool are so gorgeous and over supplied with sun loungers so no early morning towel hogging by guests.

A bit of a gem. I'll be back if it is not fully booked!

Room Tip: All rooms look good but superior marginally nicer and have option of fan if you don't wish to us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GilesAndrews2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege Province, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We spent 4 days at Pen Villa (our second visit) at the end of January. Winnie and Peter are excellent hosts and provided us with lovely home cooked fresh food and beverages' on demand, whether you want spicy food or not, early or late she and her staff always manages to do something delicious. Winnie's culinary skills gave us the best thai food we had in Thailand.
Peter, calm cool and smiling as always makes Thailands best Mango smoothie(and other excellent cocktails) in addition to providing sound advice about things to see and do in the area.The staff, indoors and outdoors, contribute to make your stay delightful We both felt very 'at home' It was a real pleasure to the villa and see them again.
The large swimming pool and its surroundings provide a haven of clean quiet peace and the nearby beaches give you either populous fun or beautiful peaceful solitude depending which one you choose!.
Accomodation is functional very clean and comfortable (thai beds are always firmish by european standards) and the daily household chores seem to get done by majic by the domestic staff.
We are already looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed for 8 nights in Jan/feb 2014 , it was my wifes 1st visit to Thailand and she fell in love with the place, the management and staff are very friendly and laid back, the property is very quiet and peaceful (even though it is only 300 mtrs or so to the main road) the pool and grounds are beautifully maintained , I do not understand a previous post moaning about the food, my wife has a food allergy and the chef spent a lot of time with her to make sure her meal was exactly how she wanted it and it was perfect, I time mine " Thai spicy" and again it was perfect, We were in room P1 which affords a little more privacy as you can sit on the balcony around a corner in your underwear should the mood take you, Surin beach itself was clean and not too crowded, and Patong Beach is a 500 BAHT Tuk Tuk ride away if you are pining for the bright lights, we will 100% be returning

Room Tip: end rooms give more privacy as you can sit outside with no one walking past
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kopite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Choeng Thale hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#13 of 34 in Choeng Thale
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surintra
Surintra
#14 of 34 in Choeng Thale
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Bangtao Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa
Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa
#7 of 34 in Choeng Thale
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Villa Hotel

Property: Pen Villa Hotel
Address: 9/1, Soi Haad Surin 4, Srisoontorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Best Value Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pen Villa is a family run hotel set among the hills of Surin. The hotel is located away from the main road, its surroundings are serene and private, and Surin Beach is an easy 10 min walk away. The hotel offers some of the best value hotel accommodation in Phuket.Our rooms are spacious and perfectly suited for long-stay guests. All rooms overlook our large swimming pool and tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pen Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen Villa Hotel Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing