We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A tranquil Thai Retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pen Villa Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Pen Villa Hotel
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A tranquil Thai Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a perfect little hotel to get away from the crowds at the end of the day. The hotel surroundings are lush and the deep pool refreshing. A cold drink from the bar and a delicious meal from the kitchen in the open air lounge is the mango on the sticky rice. The rooms and bath were large and decorated in tropic rattan. The hosts were delightful and helpful. The beach is a short walk, a perfect size, with good beach chairs and chair side shopping, food and drinks. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    50
    2
    5
    0
See reviews for
71
126
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bradford
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were greeted on arrival by Peter, immediately shown to our lovely room overlooking the pool. Pete and Winnie arranged a superb anniversary meal for us, which was really appreciated and delicious. We can honestly say that the food in the hotel was as good as any other we had out and about in the resort and was very fairly priced. Thankyou Winnie for your hospitality and lovely calm and serene manner. We were so relaxed. and felt part of the family.
Rooms lovely and large, super sunsets out of our window. Lovely grounds and swimming pool. All staff did their utmost to have an enjoyable stay. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Thankyou to you all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gezb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I loved this place right from the moment I walked into the lobby and was greeted by the owners Peter and Winnie. What a restful, quiet and easy going hotel. My friends were staying at the much higher end Twin Palms down the road and even they said that next time we should all rent rooms beside each other at the Pen Villa.
I loved my spacious room, the bed and the breakfasts which were offered in the morning. The pool was a great place to hang out and cool off. Both Peter and Winnie were personable and able to figure out whether I wanted to hang out or be alone.
This is an excellent alternative to the very expensive hotels around the corner.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pacobeau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I travelled to Phuket for the first time in December 2010, we were originally booked into a small guest house on the main road, however having experienced the luxury of the Traders Hotel in Kuala Lumpar I didn't think it was going to work... We were staying in Surin for 10 days and I wanted something a little nicer!

Walking around to do a recce we walked into the Pen Villa and were greeted by Pete - and we knew we'd found the place to stay!

I can't say nice enough things about this place, from the actual accommodation, which is perfect to the wonderful hospitality of Win and Pete, our Christmas and New Year in Thailand were simply a joy!

A short walk to the beach - 5/10 mins depending on how fast you are and the heat! And some of the best street food I've ever tasted is literally just around the corner.

We've been back to Surin since and stayed with friends, but we popped in to say hello to Win and Pete - and I think as long as they are there we always will!

Room Tip: Any room is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheRedsSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresnillo, Zacatecas, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This place is beautiful! You feel like you're in a real hotel, not a hostel (which we'd stayed in a lot on this trip), beautiful rooms, pool, grounds. Everything is clean and safe, and service is amazing! It is about an EASY and DIRECT 10 minute walk to the beach, but you save a TON being a little farther from the beach, it doesn't have the touristy feel that the hotels on the beach had, and you get to interact with locals, culture and just experience normal life in Phuket, which was a plus for me. All in all a really wonderful, restful experience! Couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mexicogirl274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Owners Peter and Winnie can not do enough to ensure a pleasant stay for all their guests. The pool is passionately maintained by Peter and is so inviting, no problem fighting for a lounge here, plenty for all guests. Sitting on the large open balcony taking in the sea breeze is so much nicer then the resorts which usually have confined balconies. Winnie was kind enough to arrange a Thai massage at Carnation massage about 10 minutes drive away, and also drove me there, service a +++. Lots of places to eat right on the beach and just a short walk away. Any tours or transport is not a problem they will arrange. Free wi fi .......Very clean accomodation, nice beds, nice linen and fluffy towels....So if your wanting somewhere away from the hustle bustle of the touristy places then this is the place to stay, short tuk tuk ride away if you have the need. to go to patong or phuket....

Room Tip: Any room suited to your needs would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank witchypooMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Pen Villa near Surin Beach in Phucket has a great location walking distance to the beach, is extremely well maintained, and is very quiet. Pete and Winnie make guests feel like old friends. If you are looking for a quiet friendly place to relax near a beautiful beach this is it. I'd also recommend renting a motorbike and riding around the island and taking the Phang Nga Bay tour. I had a great stay even though it was rainy season. Still very beautiful and things to do.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jda1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
0.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
14.6 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
10.4 mi away
CC's Hideaway
CC's Hideaway
#5 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#15 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.2 mi away
Surintra
Surintra
#11 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Villa Hotel

Property: Pen Villa Hotel
Address: 9/1, Soi Haad Surin 4, Srisoontorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Best Value Hotel in Choeng Thale
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pen Villa is a family run hotel set among the hills of Surin. The hotel is located away from the main road, its surroundings are serene and private, and Surin Beach is an easy 10 min walk away. The hotel offers some of the best value hotel accommodation in Phuket.Our rooms are spacious and perfectly suited for long-stay guests. All rooms overlook our large swimming pool and tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pen Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen Villa Hotel Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing