We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as it gets!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chef Daniel's Gastro Bar Phuket - CLOSED

Chef Daniel's Gastro Bar Phuket
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: American, Italian, French, Mediterranean, European, Fusion, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The First and only Gastro Bar in Phuket with awarded Chef Daniel Isberg and his Creative Cuisine with flavours that is exploding in your mouth. Only the best and the freshest products are used. Fun and different dining with an open kitchen. Every Tuesday - Chef Dinner Tuesday's with 4 courses Set Menu - 950 Baht The Signature drink list is great with premium Spirits, Fresh Herbs and Spices Also a Good selection of Wines from all over the world
Patong, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As good as it gets!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Excellent food, drinks and service! Top notch menu with a lot of Scandinavian Food. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 378TObias_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    4
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious food, tasty ice-cream and awesome drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I went to the opening, where the canapes were a myriad of wonderfully-combined tastes. I've eaten two further meals there since the opening just a month or so ago and find the menu really quite special! Chef Daniel and Thomas (his trusty side-kick and drinks guru) have created a restaurant with style and flair. If this was not in a car-park and rather on the beach, it would be comparable to the best cuisine experience on the island.

Service needs a bit of work and the situation is not 100%-glitz, but its a bit like going to a car-park bistro in the US and finding an icon of style and taste (I am talking food and design) in the space.

Much of the internal decor is by the famed Phuket-based artist John Underwood, who has fitted-out many a five-star resort around the world, including Indigo Pearl. The music was hip-cool, and the open kitchen was fun - glad I am not a chef!

I loved the Nori & Sesame Wrapped Salmon with Teriyaki Sauce, Tempura veg, Jasmin Rice Cake and Wasabi Aioli, the Rum Cured Beef Carpaccio with Artichokes, Rockets, Chimi Churri and Parmesan was drizzled perfecly in Lemon (I did the drizzling!). I downed a few LIIT's (long island iced teas for the uninitiated) and had a scoop each of the Caramel/Sea Salt icea cream and the Olive Oil ice-cream!

I found the pricing comparible with the excellent food, but a little higher than what one would expect considering the situation of the restaurant - put it on a beach and double the charge 'tis all!! Overall an excellent place to eat, a bit of funk and lots of taste...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phuket
Level Contributor
129 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Defiantly Number One”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Its very name and modest premises seem to defiantly challenge you to judge it solely by the excellence of its cooking and nothing else. On that score alone this restaurant is unquestionably Number One in Cherngtalay/Bangtao and one of the best in Phuket.

The salmon - Nori wrapped round pieces- served with teriyaki sauce and light tempura was superb. So was the seabass served on top of mashed potatoes, young asparagus and spinach. The special style of brownie with berries and melted chocolate was delightful.

The Woolshed Sauvignon blanc was good and the service supervisded by Khun Aw was pleasant and professional. Overall, an unpretentious place with a friendly ambience and great food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hari b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Perfect ; food is good , tasty prepared by Chef Daniel and always presented by himself ! The drinks & cocktails are delicious too ! Restaurant has a nice furniture ....... Try the Wagyu Beef Burger with Duck Liver !!!!!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sami G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalang District, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Am I really in Phuket?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Thank you Tripadvisor for letting me know this restaurant just opened. I have been living here for a year now and getting a bit bored with the food choices especially during low season when a lot of places are closed for months. First off the place looks cool, there is plenty if parking, the service was pretty good, food selection is very unique and ranges from nachos to foie gras tacos. The cocktails were also very unique and very tasty. We had the scallop carpaccio, beef carpaccio, crab cakes, 10 hour slow roasted pork belly and the pasta diablo. Too much food but we wanted to try a lot of things. Every dish was excellent.

My only suggestion is make sure you bring your reading glasses because the menu font size is microscopic. Also the wine list needs to expand especially wines by the glass.

I will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JimboH_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Daniel's Gastro Bar Phuket also viewed

Bang Tao Beach, Choeng Thale
Bang Tao Beach, Choeng Thale
 
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Bang Tao Beach, Choeng Thale
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing